P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

for bbc micro/electron hardware, peripherals & programming issues (NOT emulators!)
User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3137
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by Elminster » Thu Apr 12, 2018 6:49 pm

1024MAK wrote:
Elminster wrote:I want mine in rainbow strips.

:D
Err, this is an Acorn forum, not a Spectrum forum :shock: [-X [-( :lol:

Mark
I actually had the Amiga Boot screen ranbow tick in mind.

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by daveejhitchins » Thu Apr 12, 2018 6:51 pm

1024MAK wrote:I'm perfectly happy to have a kit with case instead.
Kit it is . . .

Dave H :D
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ARA III, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

User avatar
-B-
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:54 am
Location: Zuid Holland / Durham UK
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by -B- » Fri Apr 13, 2018 12:57 pm

Hi Dave,
I was just saying to someone the other day that I was sure I asked you about a New AP5 and I should get on StarDot more often.

Well here I am and I see my name is on the list at the beginning of this thread (#18).

I am still very interested in buying one, either built or kit, its up to you, plus a case.
I can collect next time I'm over (end of May '18) or you can post it, but beware, I have moved since I got the AP6.

Right, I have several months of forum posts to get through.

Neil.
BBC Model A, BBC Model B, Electron(s) MRB AP3/4 AP5 AP6 BeebSCSI MGC EUP, PC128S, A3000.

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 7991
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by 1024MAK » Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:08 pm

daveejhitchins wrote:
1024MAK wrote:I'm perfectly happy to have a kit with case instead.
Kit it is . . .

Dave H :D
Mine arrived today :D
See the Today I Received thread...

Thanks Dave =D>

Mark

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3137
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by Elminster » Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:10 pm

1024MAK wrote:
daveejhitchins wrote:
1024MAK wrote:I'm perfectly happy to have a kit with case instead.
Kit it is . . .

Dave H :D
Mine arrived today :D
See the Today I Received thread...

Thanks Dave =D>

Mark
Ditto. Minus my rainbow stripe.

User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2051
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by jms2 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:25 pm

Mine too - I have just put it together and it looks great! The extra solidity really brings puts the finishing touch to the AP5. As Dave says, it was worth it.

One thing to look out for though - one of the M3 nuts wasn't an M3 nut! It was slightly taller than the others, and didn't fit. 1/8" BSW perhaps?

fatbob_gb
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:25 pm
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by fatbob_gb » Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:14 am

My kit also arrived safely - The case looks very nice indeed.

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by daveejhitchins » Wed Apr 18, 2018 12:12 pm

jms2 wrote:One thing to look out for though - one of the M3 nuts wasn't an M3 nut! It was slightly taller than the others, and didn't fit. 1/8" BSW perhaps?
Hmmm! Sorry about that - They were taken from a new bag of M3 nuts from Rapid!

Dave H :D
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ARA III, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

Budgie
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:14 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by Budgie » Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:51 pm

Hi Dave

Do you have any AP5s and cases still available please ? I’ve sent you a PM,.

Thanks

Andy

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by daveejhitchins » Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:33 am

Budgie wrote:Do you have any AP5s and cases still available please ? I’ve sent you a PM,.
PM sent . . .
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ARA III, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3137
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by Elminster » Wed Jul 04, 2018 3:16 pm

jms2 wrote:
Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:26 pm
aerworuld wrote:I have tested the Beeb compatible user port with my AMX mouse and the hacked version of AMX Art that the genius that is Mr Barr did for me a few years back and that works fine too.
I've now got to this point as well, and have copied the contents of the Elk AMX Art disc onto the BeebSCSI HD along with the rom which I believe Stuart is referring to above. This came from here, and reports "AMX Mouse for Elk" in response to *ROMS.

However, something is still not right. The disc software runs, and so does the ROM, to the extent that I can get a pointer to appear on the screen. However, moving the mouse doesn't make the pointer move. It must be generating some interrupts though, because any movement of the mouse causes the machine to freeze, necessitating a press of break to get things going again.

EDIT: Oh hang on, this is exactly the same problem that I found back in this thread, when I was using the EUP board instead of the AP5. I've fallen into the same trap of using the "AMX Art for Elk" rom rather than the V2.1 version which was later shown to be better; but the real problem appeared to be an "evil Plus 1" symptom, for which there is no known cure...

I'll try the correct rom image first, but what really solved the problem last time was putting the ROM into an ABR board rather than EUP. I have absolutely no idea why this helped, except perhaps shorter traces affecting a marginal timing situation perhaps? This time I'm using sideways ram in the AP6, but several other options exist, which I'll explore.
Sorry for the long quote but has everything in it and a little way up the thread.

So When I do this I get the error 'AMX ROM not found at line 50'. I.e. when the run-art program runs the last thing it does is E-ART.

I am using the ART package mentioned above. 'Elk AMX Art' but using the v2.1 ROM later down the thread. Have I misunderstood this. And using the wrong package etc?

User avatar
MartinB
Posts: 4979
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:04 pm
Location: Obscurity
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by MartinB » Wed Jul 04, 2018 7:50 pm

Right Duncan, I’ve just re-read this thread myself (which is hard work coz that MartinB bloke doesn’t half waffle on 🙄) and the rom you have downloaded is the correct one that I patched and it DOES work with the Elk, BUT, many of the disc-based art applications DON’T work with the Elk in conjunction with this rom which is what I think you’re experiencing. Why don’t you drop a PM to Stuart and ask what packages he successfully uses?


.
Last edited by MartinB on Wed Jul 04, 2018 7:52 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3137
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by Elminster » Wed Jul 04, 2018 7:59 pm

Hmm. Okay I thought I followed the link to the one he used but maybe I didnt.

Also I might test the mouse interface on the Master first as it hasnt been used, so that maybe that is the issue.

Also I think jms reported an issue if he loads the ROM into cart SRAM/EPROM, perhaps I will try it in an EEPROM on AP6.

User avatar
MartinB
Posts: 4979
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:04 pm
Location: Obscurity
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by MartinB » Wed Jul 04, 2018 8:22 pm

No, I’m saying you do have the correct rom and it should work, just not with all the disc-based packages.

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3137
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by Elminster » Wed Jul 04, 2018 8:39 pm

MartinB wrote:
Wed Jul 04, 2018 8:22 pm
No, I’m saying you do have the correct rom and it should work, just not with all the disc-based packages.
Yes. There is a link above that goes to a software package. It implied that was the package used but with the 2.1 ROM. Clearly not.

Switched to another mouse interface I have that I know was working and moved ROM off SRAM on cart to EEPROF on AP6 but no effect. So only two things left are wrong package or user port not happy. Probably the former.

User avatar
MartinB
Posts: 4979
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:04 pm
Location: Obscurity
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by MartinB » Wed Jul 04, 2018 9:07 pm

If you go to the small type-in I posted here, you should be able to carry out a basic mouse test. I’m assuming of course that an AP5 is providing the same configuration as does EUP but I think that’s a safe assumption....🤓

Ignore the references to bare wires and touching them to supplies, the ditty works with a mouse connected normally to the User Port as Mark K testified a few posts further down.



.
Last edited by MartinB on Wed Jul 04, 2018 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3137
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by Elminster » Wed Jul 04, 2018 9:25 pm

I have 2 user port to USB adaptors. the untested smallymouse2 and the hacked (by me) BBC to Amiaga to USB adaptor. Both work in user port1 on AP5. By work I means I get stars if i move in any of the 4 cardinal points.

So that sounds very promising then.

That is very helpful thanks.

User avatar
MartinB
Posts: 4979
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:04 pm
Location: Obscurity
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by MartinB » Wed Jul 04, 2018 9:50 pm

No worries, I’m pleased it works... 8)

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 4457
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: P.R.E.S. AP5 - Original and Re-Design

Post by daveejhitchins » Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:28 am

DaveB (Hoglet) has found an Error with the AP5 design! See this thread.

So far it doesn't look as if it's very serious - e.g. Just remove it for now, if you experience any issues with the 1MHz Bus operation (none reported, so far!) or any issues with > See above link.

Any updates on this issue will be posted in this thread.

Dave H :D
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ARA III, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

Post Reply