Repton 2

reminisce about classic bbc micro and acorn electron games here
Related forum: adventures


Post Reply
Moist_Mog
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 7:46 am
Contact:

Repton 2

Post by Moist_Mog » Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:36 am

Did anyone ever actually finish this without cheating/ using a hint sheet?

I gave it a whirl a few weeks ago, which reminded me why I eventually gave up - there were a few screens I just couldn't get past...

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 7049
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Post by CMcDougall » Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:15 am

nor me m8, i gave up too! did finish Rep1 and the Rep3's! :)
ImageImageImage

Moist_Mog
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 7:46 am
Contact:

Post by Moist_Mog » Tue Apr 25, 2006 12:26 pm

I still haven't managed to play Repton 1 all the way through (i.e. without using passwords) - although it's one of the easiest BBC games ever.

I'd love to finish R2 one day. I didn't finish all the R3s either - didn't get very far with the themed versions...

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 7049
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Post by CMcDougall » Tue Apr 25, 2006 12:44 pm

Moist_Mog wrote:didn't get very far with the themed versions...
have a look in this forum section under Repton3+, u can change the 'themes' to normal chars, thats how i finished them all :D
ImageImageImage

User avatar
melchett
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 9:52 am
Contact:

Post by melchett » Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:14 pm

Did anyone ever actually finish this without cheating/ using a hint sheet?
I seem to remember that some of the early versions of the game had a bug in it that stopped you from being able to complete it? That's as bad as saying "bloke down that pub said" though. Not sure where I read that, maybe it was on this forum somewhere...

I never completed it although I did try and did get close. The meteors were my bane...

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 7049
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Post by CMcDougall » Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:21 pm

it was Repton3 early version that had the bug, it was the Fungus growing to fast :x .
ImageImageImage

Moist_Mog
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 7:46 am
Contact:

...

Post by Moist_Mog » Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:59 pm

I had a Windows version of R3 and the fungus grew way too fast, making most of the later screens impossible. That's when I downloaded BeebEm and starting using that instead...

I also remember sending back my copy of Around the World as one of the oriental screens was impossible due to an extra block of wall where there should have been a gap... and being sent a replacement copy and a letter of apology...!

AJH
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 11:47 am
Contact:

Post by AJH » Sat Apr 29, 2006 9:29 pm

REPTON2
The original Tape release of Repton2 had a diamond missing so you
couldn't finish it.
My inability to complete it (not knowing it was faulty) caused me to
write a map extract program over 10 years after playing the game
(I had a lot of spare time about then!).
I supplied Repton maps to TSTH and the missing diamond is in the
bottom left of Repton 2, Screen G.

After reading a walkthrough from Richard Hanson I finally completed the
game in about 2 hours (Several times as I was so chuffed!).
Richards transporter order (converted to my map numbering) is:
{rB, sB},
{oE, kE, nE, lE},
cC, fC, iK, mG,
{vH, pH, qH},
eF, tD, hJ, dI, uA, gL, jM, bL, aN
.
The transporters in braces have to be completed in that order.

I seem to remember when I completed the game the "Repton 2 has ended"
screen was corrupted with the screen divided into 4 quarters which were
swapped diagonally (ie A,B/C,D came out as D,C/B,A). Was this a corrupt
program generally or just mine? The truth is out there!

Technical note1:
The only Screen that is "remembered" when you transport to another screen
is the starting screen. All other screens are thrown away. If you
transport back into a screen it is set to its starting state, so on some
screens you can see diamonds and earth that you have previously "eaten".

Technical note2:
The colour extraction is not simple and I made a mistake with the
Screen P map I sent to TSTH. The BBC version of Repton2 Screen P has
two colours mapped to Cyan and is the only '3 colour' map
(one is Blue in my map - Ill have to submit a fix to TSTH!).

REPTON3
My BBC disk version of Repton3 had a problem with Fungus growth.
In TOCCATA level E it is playable as an individual screen, but if you
play level D and progress to level E the fungus grows too fast and you
become trapped at the beginning. I had an email from Richard Hanson years
later saying he was unaware of this but it was probably the 'Fungus
start delay' not being reset correctly. I presume once the fungus
started growing it grew normally, at least it didn't seem too unfair!

PLEASE CHECK THIS
Not sure if my ATWIFS ORIENTAL had the extra wall segment you mentioned.
Could you check out my Map and let me know?

THEMES
Once I had removed the Repton3 protection I put all Repton3 map sets
onto one floppy disk and changed the loader so that pressing SHIFT
while selecting the levels loaded the original graphics as well
(I still think Original is best).

I did something similar (?!) to my Frak! disk. I submitted a BBC Frak!
to TSTH with Electron screens (including this 'Mod' as an Easter egg).

User avatar
Kecske Bak
Posts: 709
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:03 am
Location: Treddle's Wharf, Chigley
Contact:

Post by Kecske Bak » Sun Apr 30, 2006 9:12 am

AJH wrote:REPTON3
My BBC disk version of Repton3 had a problem with Fungus growth.
In TOCCATA level E it is playable as an individual screen, but if you
play level D and progress to level E the fungus grows too fast and you
become trapped at the beginning. I had an email from Richard Hanson years
later saying he was unaware of this but it was probably the 'Fungus
start delay' not being reset correctly.
I'm surprised that Richard Hanson was unaware of this, as this was covered in "The Micro User" at the time, and a fixed version available to any user who wanted to exchange their disc or cassette.

ISTR the problem was that the fungus started to grow before you actually got onto the screen itself. It would be worth looking through 1987 editions of "The Micro User" as it's covered in there somewhere.

There was later a problem with the ORIENT set of screens on "Around the World". One screen was impossible to complete on the original release and a poke was released that would correct the screen and make it completable. I think this fix was given in "The Micro User" too. Worth looking through the back issues.

Finally, there was an issue with Repton Infinity, with the Rep3B set of screens impossible to complete and competition entry cards missed out of the original release too. I wrote to Superior about this and heard nothing, the one and only time I ever got bad customer service from Superior - they were and are usually exemplary.

Incidentally, there was a change to the way the spirits moved between "Repton 3" and "Repton Thru Time". Try loading the "Prehistoric" screen into the original issue of "Repton 3" and the spirits start off stunned. Anyone know more about what was changed and why?

Finally, I would recommend the PC versions of Reptons 1, 2 and 3 to anyone. They are absolutely brilliant and if you haven't bought them you should do so immediately.

User avatar
Kecske Bak
Posts: 709
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:03 am
Location: Treddle's Wharf, Chigley
Contact:

Post by Kecske Bak » Sun Apr 30, 2006 10:36 am

melchett wrote:The meteors were my bane...
And mine too. I could complete both the Electron version of Repton 2 and the version released for the Archimedes. It was just the BBC Micro version, because of those damn meteors. On the PC version the meteors are very fair indeed and the game is much more playable as a result. The speed of PC Repton 2 is just right as well.

I'd like to see a set of maps for the Archimedes version of Repton 2 (the maps were extended so that most of them took up the full area for each map). Although, I have this upstairs and I should stop being such a lazy git, get the A3000 down from the loft and map it myself!

I always found the graphics for Repton 2 (with it's mouldy wallls encrusted with yellow stuff) much more atmospheric and nicer to look at than the too nice and clean graphics for Repton 3. The first thing I did upon receiving Repton 3 for Christmas in 1986 was redesigning the Repton 3 graphics to look like those on Repton 2.

I then used to load these Repton 2 graphics onto all the other sets of screens (Around the World, etc.).

User avatar
Arcadian
Site Admin
Posts: 3328
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2000 12:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Arcadian » Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:02 pm

Kecske Bak wrote:I'd like to see a set of maps for the Archimedes version of Repton 2 (the maps were extended so that most of them took up the full area for each map).
Take a look at these ...
http://www.youmustbejoking.demon.co.uk/repton2

User avatar
Kecske Bak
Posts: 709
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:03 am
Location: Treddle's Wharf, Chigley
Contact:

Post by Kecske Bak » Sun Apr 30, 2006 2:08 pm

Interesting, but these are not actually the Archimedes Repton 2 maps as released by Superior - they were extended at the bottom. Take Area K - there was quite a considerable extension on the bottom of the level.

And I got all excited there for a minute... ;)

User avatar
Arcadian
Site Admin
Posts: 3328
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2000 12:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Arcadian » Mon May 01, 2006 6:54 pm

Ah right, so they're just the Arc graphics then?

Sorry for getting your hopes up! :cry:

Moist_Mog
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 7:46 am
Contact:

Ref: 'Orient' map

Post by Moist_Mog » Tue May 02, 2006 8:53 am

Hi AJH/ all,

the problem screen in Around the World is Screen C of the Orient levels - I'll try to describe it...

Looking at the (roughly) central area of the map, there's a U-shaped section of wall with a 'rock' on the left prong and an 'egg' on the right prong. The bottom right block of this shape is there in the map (meaning that you have a shot of the bugged version), but it needs removing to make the screen possible. As I recall, there's a safe in that section you need to get to later and it gets blocked off in the original version.

AJH
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Ref: 'Orient' map

Post by AJH » Sun May 07, 2006 12:31 pm

Moist_Mog wrote:Looking at the (roughly) central area of the map, there's a U-shaped section of wall
with a 'rock' on the left prong and an 'egg' on the right prong. The bottom right block of
this shape is there in the map (meaning that you have a shot of the bugged version),
but it needs removing to make the screen possible. As I recall, there's a safe in that
section you need to get to later and it gets blocked off in the original version.
The problem screen is indeed ORIENT screen C, however your description
is slightly incorrect. It is the bottom LEFT block (under the Rock prong)
that should be a safe.
I have checked my map on TSTH and it looks correct to me.
A Hackman article gives the fix as so:

Code: Select all

*Load ORIENT
?&3736=&B6
*Save ORIENT1 31E0+2620
REPTON2
I have a Screen P map with corrected colours and have been looking at
the labyrinthine colour setup for Repton2 screens.
Each screen explicitly sets only one colour leading to the possibility of a screen
having different colours when you revisit it! However there is code to tweak
the colours removing this possibility. My current understanding in pseudo code is:

Code: Select all

MODE  5  : REM Colour 0=Black, 1=Red, 2=Yellow, 3=White
FOR each transporter jump
  Set Colour 3 to Green
  CASE screen MOD 4 : REM screens are 0 to 15
    WHEN 0 : Set Colour 1 to Purple
    WHEN 1 : Set Colour 1 to Blue
    WHEN 2 : Set Colour 1 to Cyan
    WHEN 3 : Set Colour 3 to Cyan
  END CASE
  REM tweak screen 0,1 colours
  CASE screen
    WHEN 0 : Set Colour 1 to Blue :REM default Repton colours
    WHEN 1 : Set Colour 1 to Red  :REM a bit more variety!
    OTHERWISE : Set Colour 0 to Black : REM do nothing!
  END CASE
NEXT

Moist_Mog
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 7:46 am
Contact:

Post by Moist_Mog » Mon May 08, 2006 8:38 am

Well... I didn't do too badly, given that I haven't replayed ATW for about 10 years... :)

Think I'll have a crack at R2 next with the help of the maps...

Oh, and one more thing! Remember the voice saying 'watch out for speech' while R2's loading? Where does this speech actually happen...? I'd guess it's when you get to the end of the game?

User avatar
sorvad
Posts: 2184
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 1:13 pm
Location: Back of beyond
Contact:

Post by sorvad » Mon May 08, 2006 11:32 am

It doesn't happen does it ?

Wasn't it just advertising the speech software that was about to be launched ? I think is says something like

"Watch out for Speech from superior software our new program coming soon."

Although having not completed the game I guess there could have been some more speech at the end but I think this bit was just advertising.

Moist_Mog
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 7:46 am
Contact:

Post by Moist_Mog » Mon May 08, 2006 6:26 pm

Um, yep, you could be right. For all these years, I'd assumed that there was speech somewhere in R2 and that 'our new program' referred to R2 itself...

but then I never got anywhere near finishing R2 so wondered if there was a speech message at the end saying 'con-grat-u-lations'... :)

Post Reply

Return to “8-bit acorn software: classic games”