Master econet module connector

for bbc micro/electron hardware, peripherals & programming issues (NOT emulators!)
sydney

Master econet module connector

Post by sydney » Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:28 pm

Yet more silly questions from me.

I've been reading with interest the second user port thread and mmbeeb thread. I recently fitted an mmbeeb to my master in such a way that it is now unlikely that I'll use UPURS :( . I too need more user ports!
I've been looking at the master econet connector and wondering if it would be possible to connect a 6522 to it and use the econet socket on the back as a dedicated UPURS socket.
To say I am a novice when it come to electronics would be an understatement so could someone explain in simple terms if this would be possible or if not then why. If it's too much to explain simply a 'NO!' will suffice!
I decided to not post this in the second user port thread as this would be a master only solution and sweh is looking to expand his beeb.

danielj

Re: Master econet module connector

Post by danielj » Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:54 pm

I think so :? It'd be in the &FEC0-&FEDF range, you'd use nADLC as the select for the VIA?

d.

1024MAK

Post by 1024MAK » Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:58 pm

Yes, I think this is possible but I will have a look at the schematic diagram before I say anything else...

Mark
For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk NOW!
BeebWiki‬ - for answers to many questions...

sydney

Post by sydney » Sat Sep 28, 2013 8:36 am

The fact that you have both said it's probably possible has inspired me to have a go at this over the next week. I've been examining the master schematic and just downloaded the 6522 datasheet. I'm going to have a good think about this and hopefully have something you can all point at and laugh offer constructive criticism on by the end of Sunday, maybe Monday.

sydney

Post by sydney » Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:54 am