Circus Games (Tynesoft)

reminisce about bbc micro & electron games like chuckie egg, repton, elite & exileRelated forum: adventures


Post Reply
User avatar
Lion
Posts: 415
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:56 pm
Location: Woodside, California
Contact:

Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by Lion » Sat Sep 19, 2009 7:55 pm

Discovered this game today. (If you want to try it, beware that it's Master only.)

The loading screen has what I'm sure it's the longest piece of sampled music I've ever heard on a beeb.

...unless, of course, you know different!

MatthewThompson
Posts: 1243
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 3:44 pm
Location: Oxford
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by MatthewThompson » Sun Sep 20, 2009 3:55 pm

It's not Master only, I had it on disc for my BBC B, infact i'm pretty sure it was available on the Electron too.

User avatar
thedark
Posts: 369
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: Harderwijk
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by thedark » Sun Sep 20, 2009 4:07 pm

where is the discimmage ?
-------------------------------------------------------------
-=[[ Music 5000 Stil Rulez On The Acorn Scene. ]]=-
-------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
billcarr2005
Posts: 1400
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by billcarr2005 » Sun Sep 20, 2009 4:20 pm

MatthewThompson wrote:It's not Master only, I had it on disc for my BBC B, infact i'm pretty sure it was available on the Electron too.
It's available on disc for the BBC B, but it has a custom file system/protection which means that even when you've extracted the files from the disc, it would still need some alterations to work successfully with a standard DFS!
thedark wrote:where is the discimmage ?
Here!
http://www.stairwaytohell.com/bbc/archi ... es-E00.zip

MatthewThompson
Posts: 1243
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 3:44 pm
Location: Oxford
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by MatthewThompson » Sun Sep 20, 2009 8:09 pm

Ah, I see we're on about the disc-image rather than the original release, that would make sense then.

I've never managed to get it to work on BBC emulation, using 6502em on RISC OS , I get the title page, but no speech just strange noises, then the title page all proper and event selection, but then when you start the 1st event, I just get a blank screen with the Circus games logo above it and it doesn't seem to do anything other than that.

Matthew
Last edited by Samwise on Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed unnecessary quoting

User avatar
thedark
Posts: 369
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: Harderwijk
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by thedark » Sun Sep 20, 2009 9:19 pm

in the emulator it works only on master 128
inc. the sampled music
-------------------------------------------------------------
-=[[ Music 5000 Stil Rulez On The Acorn Scene. ]]=-
-------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
billcarr2005
Posts: 1400
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by billcarr2005 » Sun Sep 20, 2009 11:26 pm

Kept the original !BOOT, which contains all the vector gubbins, and with a little tweaking it now loads fine. :)
Attachments
CircusGamesBBC.zip
Compatible with standard BBC.
Tested on BeebEM and B-Em
(56.82 KiB) Downloaded 246 times

garfield
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:38 am
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by garfield » Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:48 pm

Bill, you keep posting these useful altered discs on various forum threads. (Don't stop!) :)

Might be useful to centralise them somewhere?

User avatar
Rich Talbot-Watkins
Posts: 1555
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 5:20 pm
Location: Palma, Mallorca
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by Rich Talbot-Watkins » Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:18 pm

Never tried this before...

Gary James?

Looks suspiciously like a Partis product to me :wink:

@billcarr2005, is the loading mechanism on your disc image one you wrote yourself, or is it somehow the original loader with the protection stripped?

User avatar
billcarr2005
Posts: 1400
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by billcarr2005 » Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:54 pm

Rich Talbot-Watkins wrote:Never tried this before...

Gary James?

Looks suspiciously like a Partis product to me :wink:

@billcarr2005, is the loading mechanism on your disc image one you wrote yourself, or is it somehow the original loader with the protection stripped?
Yes, I thought of Gary Partis too, for the style of the game, and also the protection!
The loading mechanism is the original loader, but with the files saved as files, rather than being deleted data located on the disc. There was also a trivial checksum of the first two sectors, to check if original.
I like how it displays the Searching/Loading like a cassette system!

User avatar
Rich Talbot-Watkins
Posts: 1555
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 5:20 pm
Location: Palma, Mallorca
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by Rich Talbot-Watkins » Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:07 pm

I'm sure it is Mr Partis - from the slick presentation right down to "Gary OK!" in the high score table! Perhaps a pseudonym to avoid contractual problems or something?

Did the original have the files in the catalog, but written as deleted data? And did it do a proper lookup of the sector address of the file based on the catalog entry? Just interested as I don't think I've seen protection like this before...

User avatar
billcarr2005
Posts: 1400
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by billcarr2005 » Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:13 pm

The original disk just had !BOOT in the catalog.

The catalog is created, decrypted & destroyed during the load process, at &C00. It contains the filename, followed by the Load, Exec, Length and location on disk.

If he had been contracted to Audiogenic at the time, then the pseudonym would be needed for working for Tynesoft.
Like Peter Scott/Dylan for Audiogenic/Superior Software.

User avatar
Kecske Bak
Posts: 706
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Treddle's Wharf, Chigley
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by Kecske Bak » Mon Sep 21, 2009 3:39 pm

He turned up as Tequila on one game didn't he?

User avatar
billcarr2005
Posts: 1400
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by billcarr2005 » Mon Sep 21, 2009 4:19 pm

Tequila rings a bell, with Saigon... uses the same way to compress/display the loading picture too!

Jeremy Grayson
Posts: 472
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 11:34 pm
Location: Sheffield
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by Jeremy Grayson » Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:08 pm

Rich Talbot-Watkins wrote: I'm sure it is Mr Partis - from the slick presentation right down to "Gary OK!" in the high score table! Perhaps a pseudonym to avoid contractual problems or something?
I'd stake the house on it being due to something like that! He is certainly the author - in the 2007 interview with him on this site, he states;

"My last game for a 8bit Micro was Circus Games for the BBC Micro and Apple II. This was around 1989".

and also alludes briefly to his "time with Tynesoft" (my quotes). Didn't Peter Scott say in a posting here once that he and Gary were still contracted to Audiogenic around that time, hence Gary's aliases for Tynesoft games and Peter's use of "Dylan" for his authorship of Spycat and Barbarian?

Jeremy
(graysonscolumn)

User avatar
leenew
Posts: 3982
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:27 pm
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by leenew » Sun Nov 10, 2019 1:53 am

billcarr2005 wrote:
Sun Sep 20, 2009 11:26 pm
Kept the original !BOOT, which contains all the vector gubbins, and with a little tweaking it now loads fine. :)
Hi BillC,
Would it be possible to make a more friendly version of this disc which simply loads files rather than disc sectors?
When stripping it from Mick Brown's DSD onto a standalone SSD using Sweh's automatic slice 'n' dice script, it obviously fails as things get written in the wrong place...

Lee.

User avatar
billcarr2005
Posts: 1400
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by billcarr2005 » Sun Nov 10, 2019 1:24 pm

It's not possible because CORE relocates itself over &E00 and &F00 (this can be seen by manually *RUNning CORE instead of SHIFT-BREAKing)
Rather than rewriting the code used in all four parts of Circus Games, it's far easier to change the locations of the files from within S.CGC

Which is

Code: Select all

LOADER
00 04 00 04 B6 01 01 01
Low byte then high byte
First two bytes = LOAD address, &400
Second two bytes = EXEC address, &400
Third two bytes = LENGTH, &1B6
Sector, &01
Track, &01

Or simply use the disk image from above

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=2588&p=253083#p19778

and add the additional files afterwards

User avatar
leenew
Posts: 3982
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:27 pm
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by leenew » Sun Nov 10, 2019 5:19 pm

Thanks BillC,
Your version, and one created today by Mick Brown, both work when played in BeebEm, but when uploaded to bbcmicro.co.uk both fail.
Anyone know why?
http://www.bbcmicro.co.uk/game.php?id=1177

Lee.

User avatar
lurkio
Posts: 2187
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:30 pm
Location: Doomawangara
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by lurkio » Sun Nov 10, 2019 5:37 pm

leenew wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 5:19 pm
Thanks BillC, Your version, and one created today by Mick Brown, both work when played in BeebEm, but when uploaded to bbcmicro.co.uk both fail. Anyone know why? http://www.bbcmicro.co.uk/game.php?id=1177
Seems to need the latest version of JSBeeb:
:idea:

EDIT: There's a workaround that uses Master mode in the existing version of JSBeeb on bbcmicro.co.uk -- the main game seems to work but the loader tune is corrupted:

User avatar
leenew
Posts: 3982
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:27 pm
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by leenew » Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:05 pm

Thanks Chet,
What's the deal with getting the latest version of JSBeeb live on bbcmicro.co.uk?

Lee.

User avatar
lurkio
Posts: 2187
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:30 pm
Location: Doomawangara
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by lurkio » Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:13 pm

leenew wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:05 pm
What's the deal with getting the latest version of JSBeeb live on bbcmicro.co.uk?
The last I heard about the issue was when I posted about it in another thread.

But because of the way that thread developed, I thought it would be best if I withdrew from any further discussion on the topic (of installing the newest version of JSBeeb on bbcmicro.co.uk) and from most related discussions, and, as a result, I haven't been involved in any conversations about bbcmicro.co.uk at all (but I have continued to make minor updates to the content of the site).

:idea:

User avatar
leenew
Posts: 3982
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:27 pm
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Circus Games (Tynesoft)

Post by leenew » Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:40 pm

Ah yes...
That seemed so long ago!
OK Chet I understand.
It does seem a shame we have this version of JSBeeb that has had some fantastic recent work done to it, and we can't use it!

Long-time-no-speak by the way....

Lee

Post Reply