ROM/RAM Expansion Boards for the BBC Micro

for bbc micro/electron hardware, peripherals & programming issues (NOT emulators!)
Greybeard

ROM/RAM Expansion Boards for the BBC Micro

Post by Greybeard » Sat May 09, 2009 10:28 pm

I have been playing with a Peartree MR-4300 32K RAM/ROM Board in a BBC Micro, and was having great fun ... until, that is, I managed to corrupt the 5.25" Utilities Disk that comes with it!

Now I just can't read the darned disk at all, and all I get is the unwelcome message:-

Disk fault 08 at 00/00

Of course (like an idjit), I did not make a back-up of the disk before I started playing. A dumb mistake, and another lesson relearned. Mea maxima culpa!

But the really bad news is without the programs on that disk, the RAM side of things on the board are just useless, as the SRAM Utilities get loaded up into half of the RAM from the disk, and only then can *SRAM be issued to call the menu and continue having fun. Darn it!

So, does anyone know where a copy of that disk may be found?
Last edited by Greybeard on Sun May 10, 2009 11:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

MartinB

Re: Peartree Utilities Disk

Post by MartinB » Sat May 09, 2009 11:33 pm

Peartree info seems to be quite thin on the ground but generally, Sideways Ram on the Beeb has (is forced to have) a pretty common generic design in that it just follows the Sideways Rom protocol but adds a write capability.

Therefore, have you tried using 'someone else's' sideways ram utilities such as the SRAM commands in Acorn's 1770 DFS's - e.g. the last and best v2.26? If those work, it's likely that other third-party utilities will work too and in which case I'm sure we can find a decent set to match the Peartree stuff.

Martin :)

Greybeard

Post by Greybeard » Sun May 10, 2009 8:26 am

Thanks for your quick and helpful response, Martin.