Acorn Electron Capacitors

discuss both original and modern hardware for the bbc micro/electron
Post Reply
BrettRogersUK
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:58 pm
Contact:

Acorn Electron Capacitors

Post by BrettRogersUK » Mon Jul 13, 2020 5:23 pm

Hi,

I've got an Acorn Electron that hasn't been powered up for years. I know there are capacitor replacement kits available for other computers including the good ol' Beeb. I know it runs off a wal-wart but is there any caps inside the Electron that could do with changing?

Are there any capacitors in the electron that would be possibly due for replacement so it'll run for another 30 odd years.

Regards,

Brett

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 10102
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Acorn Electron Capacitors

Post by 1024MAK » Mon Jul 13, 2020 5:31 pm

There are no critical capacitors that need to be changed proactively. So there normally is no problem with powering it up to see if it works. If it does work, then there is no need to worry.

If it does not work, then report the symptoms and we can go from there.

Mark

BrettRogersUK
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn Electron Capacitors

Post by BrettRogersUK » Tue Jul 14, 2020 12:49 am

Thanks Mark!

Will report back when I have plugged it in.

Regards,

Brett

Post Reply

Return to “8-bit acorn hardware”