RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

discuss the archimedes & risc pc, peripherals and risc os/risc os on pi
User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:40 am

I've purchased a Gotek Floppy Emulator, which has been flashed with FlashFloppy v2.14 and has an OLED display & Rotary switch fitted.

I've installed the drive into my RiscPC.

I've put some .adf files onto a 16GB FAT32 formatted USB stick.

Put stick in Gotek drive and it doesn't seem to be reading from it. Display shows (FlashFloppy v2.14).

Anyone know what I need to do to get this drive working with my RiscPC ?
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8169
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by danielj » Tue Jun 30, 2020 6:59 am

If you paid more than £20 for it, and it was sold as a finished working unit, you should definitely be hassling the seller for support.

I've not tried it in a riscpc, but there's no reason why it shouldn't work. Have you checked the wiki for the configuration options?
https://github.com/keirf/FlashFloppy/wiki

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:45 am

I have messaged the seller on eBay. Waiting for a reply.

Seller did advertise it as compatible with Acorn Archimedes and I did originally message h8m before purchase and he said give it a go and see if it works.

I've read wiki but I'm not sure if I'm doing it right.

When I did FF.cfg file, I placed it in root of usb stick but it made no difference. Does it need to be in root or in a folder named FF?

Also, can't work out what jumpers are set as there are also zone wires connected to the some of the pins.
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8169
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by danielj » Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:01 am

Daveo wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:45 am
I've read wiki but I'm not sure if I'm doing it right.

When I did FF.cfg file, I placed it in root of usb stick but it made no difference. Does it need to be in root or in a folder named FF?

Also, can't work out what jumpers are set as there are also zone wires connected to the some of the pins.
ff.cfg goes in the root of the memory stick, or in a FF subdirectory if one exists. As the wiki says, if the FF folder exists then it won't check for it in root.

Wiring mess is definitely something for the vendor to work out, but the hardware mods page of the wiki shows what all the pins are and what should be connected to what. https://github.com/keirf/FlashFloppy/wiki/Hardware-Mods

It does work fine with the acorn settings on my A5000 which has the same I/O controller as the RiscPC.

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:35 am

Ok, so the wires look to be the speaker and rotary encoder (dial type).

Would you be able to share your FF.cfg file so I can give that a go.
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8169
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by danielj » Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:47 am

Just what's on the wiki:
https://github.com/keirf/FlashFloppy/wi ... -Platforms

host = acorn
index-suppression = no

I believe I've got the jumpers set for IBM-PC as the interface.

philpem
Posts: 355
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by philpem » Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:08 am

Daveo wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:40 am
I've purchased a Gotek Floppy Emulator, which has been flashed with FlashFloppy v2.14 and has an OLED display & Rotary switch fitted.

I've installed the drive into my RiscPC.

I've put some .adf files onto a 16GB FAT32 formatted USB stick.

Put stick in Gotek drive and it doesn't seem to be reading from it. Display shows (FlashFloppy v2.14).

Anyone know what I need to do to get this drive working with my RiscPC ?
The "Flashfloppy 2.14" display is usually (in my experience) displayed when it doesn't recognise the USB stick, or there are no disc images on it. As you've put some ADF files on there, that can't be it.

For Flashfloppy, there are two possible interpretations of ADF files -- you need to set it to the "Acorn" one explicitly, or it'll assume Amiga.

There are two drive types used on Acorn machines. Later machines with PC style I/O use PC floppy drives jumpered for DS1. Earlier machines with 1772 floppy controllers use Shugart drives jumpered for DS0 (like the BBC). "PC Style Floppy Drive" is usually the default.

RISC PCs do an "autodetection" run on startup to work out how many drives are connected. Series 1 motherboards only support one drive (and I can't remember if it's DS0 or DS1!). Series 3 motherboards will accept any old PC floppy drive and detect its select-ID "automagically".

philpem
Posts: 355
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by philpem » Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:15 am

danielj wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:47 am
Just what's on the wiki:
https://github.com/keirf/FlashFloppy/wi ... -Platforms

host = acorn
index-suppression = no

I believe I've got the jumpers set for IBM-PC as the interface.
Can you take a quick photo of the jumpers?

You need the settings to be as shown in the "Later Models" part of the page you linked. Drive select 1, and the following in your ff.cfg:

Code: Select all

interface = ibmpc
host = acorn
index-suppression = no
Practically speaking, if it isn't getting to the point of showing you a scrollable list of disc images, there's probably something up with your USB stick or how it's formatted. Do you have another USB stick to try?

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8169
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by danielj » Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:37 am

philpem wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:15 am
Can you take a quick photo of the jumpers?
Nope! As it's buried in an A5000 and not easy to get at. Mine works fine - I don't have any issues :)

d.

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:01 am

I don't have a spare usb stick.

I could remove the files off the stick and reformat it to fat32 and test again with FF.cfg in root and in FF folder, so it should see one of the FF.cfg files.
23D0F7C0-504D-42BD-83C5-D4032F36700F.jpeg
FAB8F5D5-531E-4BB8-9A85-A36674BEB466.jpeg
49BCB031-A3A1-4572-ABCB-87FB8239EF22.jpeg
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

philpem
Posts: 355
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by philpem » Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:38 am

Daveo wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:01 am
I don't have a spare usb stick.

I could remove the files off the stick and reformat it to fat32 and test again with FF.cfg in root and in FF folder, so it should see one of the FF.cfg files.
First that's jumpered for drive select 0 -- move the jumper from "S0" to "S1".

I'd copy the files off the stick and reformat it if you don't have another.

You want "FF.CFG" in the root. Your disk images can be in the root or in subdirectories under it.

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:52 pm

Just done jumper change from S0 to S1.
157999C8-47E2-49A1-AB3E-8D276D0C1E43.jpeg
Will reformat USB, add .adf files and FF.cfg as posted earlier in topic.

The USB stick is a SanDisk Cruzer 16GB USB2.
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:17 pm

Done all this and still no joy.

Display still shows 'Flashfloppy v2.14' and nothing happens when I rotate rotary encoder or push either of the two buttons.

Clicking drive :0 on icon bar generates a disc drive empty error.
Last edited by Daveo on Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2565
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by jms2 » Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:27 pm

The symptom that you are seeing suggests that the .ADF files are not being detected. It's equivalent to the stick being blank or not present.

Unfortunately I can't explain why this is happening, because I have never had this problem before. As far as I know, a FAT32 stick should be OK (I have never bothered to check what mine are formatted to, they just work).

Does anything change when you insert/remove the stick?

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:47 pm

No, nothing changes on insert/removal of USB stick.

Currently trying a 4GB FAT16 formatted single partition on stick to see if that works.
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Tue Jun 30, 2020 2:02 pm

A 4GB single partition didn't work either.

Starting to think of three possible issues...

1. Gotek/Flashfloppy doesn't like my SanDisk Cruszer USB stick
2. Faulty Gotek drive
3. Faulty Flashfloppy flash
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8169
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by danielj » Tue Jun 30, 2020 2:40 pm

FAT32 should be fine.

I use sandisk Ultra-Fits with no problem (without having needed to reformat them).

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Tue Jun 30, 2020 2:54 pm

Where do I get those types of USB sticks from ?
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8169
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by danielj » Tue Jun 30, 2020 2:59 pm

Amazon? Most should work fine though. I've just tried a couple of no-names.

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:03 pm

OK. Found this one on Amazon. SanDisk Ultra-Fit 16GB USB 3.1...

https://www.amazon.co.uk/SanDisk-Ultra- ... 450&sr=8-7

Would this one be OK ?
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8169
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by danielj » Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:17 pm

Hang fire. I have a sandisk cruiser arriving today as it was a 16gb card that could be delivered on one day delivery. I'll see if that works (I'm fairly confident it will). I honestly would chase with the seller though in the meantime :/

Just out of interest, the adf files you're sticking on the card... What size are they? Are you sure they're 800k/1.6mb and not truncated?

d.

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:30 pm

The adf files are 800k/1.6m and downloaded from Wocki's Acorn Site.

From here.

eBay Seller is sending me a known working usb stick to test with, but said it send it as soon as possible.
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

philpem
Posts: 355
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by philpem » Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:45 pm

I got a Retroclinic-modded Gotek here. The stock USB stick was a Sandisk Cruzer Blade 16GB.

The only Sandisk sticks which might give you grief are the knockoffs (they're widely counterfeited) and the old Cruzer U3 which emulate a CD-ROM drive alongside the mass-storage (Flash) device.

If a legitimate Cruzer Blade (on Amazon - look out for "dispatched from and sold by Amazon") -- correctly partitioned and formatted -- fails to work, then I'd be suspecting a faulty Gotek.

Cheers
Phil.

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:54 pm

The SanDisk Cruzer 16GB USB Stick is an official SanDisk one, as I purchased it from ASDA as a pack of three ages ago.

The other two sticks have my backup program's boot on in case of emergencies. One per PC.
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

philpem
Posts: 355
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by philpem » Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:18 pm

How are you formatting the USB stick to FAT32?

There are two partitioning schemes -- newer OSes may use GPT, older ones use a standard DOS "MBR" partition table. (The drive has to have a partition table even if it only has one partition)

The Flashfloppy may not support GPT.

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:39 pm

I'm formatting it via Windows. Right click drive, select Format, check it's on FAT32 and default allocation size, then click Format.

As far as I can see the partition is MBR not GPT.
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

philpem
Posts: 355
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by philpem » Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:39 pm

Sounds like your best bet is to wait on the test USB stick from the ebay seller and see how you get on.

I've honestly run out of things to suggest, other than trying another Gotek!

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:01 am

Am I right in assuming that if the data cable is round the wrong way, the LED light would be constantly on?

LED light comes on briefly when RiscPC is powered on and then only briefly when clicking the floppy drive icon, which gets an ADFS error says drive empty.
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2565
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by jms2 » Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:39 am

I don't know but I can check for you.

When looking at the back of the Gotek, the red wire for pin 1 should be on the left. Or conversely if you're looking in from the front, on the right!

User avatar
Daveo
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 12:15 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscPC & Gotek Floppy Emulator

Post by Daveo » Thu Jul 02, 2020 2:48 pm

The red wire is on right, closest to power cable (from front of RiscPC)
- Dave

RiscPC 700 - StrongARM 233MHz, 96MB RAM, 2MB VRAM, Gotek Floppy Emulator Drive & 20GB Hard Disc. 486 DX4-100 PC Card. RiscOS 4.39.
Raspberry Pi 3B - ARM Cortex-A53 1.2GHz (Quad Core), 1GB RAM & 32GB MicroSD. RiscOS 5.27.

Post Reply

Return to “32-bit acorn hardware”