Logo ROM playing up. Needs replacing?

for bbc micro/electron hardware, peripherals & programming issues (NOT emulators!)
Post Reply
Kazzie
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:10 pm
Location: North Wales
Contact:

Logo ROM playing up. Needs replacing?

Post by Kazzie » Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:49 pm

The (original) Logotron Logo ROM in my Beeb is playing up.
Typing *LOGO doesn't bring up the Logo interface any more. Instead I get:

Code: Select all

>*LOGO
LOGO 2

_
The Beeb has switched language successfully, as when I press break I'm greeted with:

Code: Select all

BBC Computer

Acorn DFS

LOGO 2

Bad command_
A Ctrl-break switches back to BASIC as expected.

At first I suspected a loose connection, as th household toddler had managed to give the Beeb a knock earlier in the week. Reseating the ROM, removing my Sidewise ROM board, and/or removing other ROM chips doesn't change the matter at all.

Am I right in thinking that I'm looking at a dead mask ROM?
BBC Model B 32k issue 7, Sidewise ROM board with 16K RAM
Archimedes 420/1 upgraded to 4MB RAM, ZIDEFS with 512MB CF card
Acorn System 1 home-made replica

User avatar
dv8
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Logo ROM playing up. Needs replacing?

Post by dv8 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:23 pm

That looks more like Acornsoft Logo which was supplied on two ROMs.
The behaviour you are seeing is what happens when ROM 1 is missing or corrupted.

Kazzie
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:10 pm
Location: North Wales
Contact:

Re: Logo ROM playing up. Needs replacing?

Post by Kazzie » Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:16 pm

dv8 wrote:
Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:23 pm
That looks more like Acornsoft Logo which was supplied on two ROMs.
The behaviour you are seeing is what happens when ROM 1 is missing or corrupted.
Hm... I presumed it was Logotron. :roll:

And, come to think of it, there is one unidentified ROM chip on the expansion board (which isn't reported by *HELP).

---

Having reseated that one, *LOGO works again. :D =D>

Other than the number of chips used, what differences are there between the implementations of Logo?
BBC Model B 32k issue 7, Sidewise ROM board with 16K RAM
Archimedes 420/1 upgraded to 4MB RAM, ZIDEFS with 512MB CF card
Acorn System 1 home-made replica

User avatar
dv8
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Logo ROM playing up. Needs replacing?

Post by dv8 » Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:24 am

Kazzie wrote:
Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:16 pm
Other than the number of chips used, what differences are there between the implementations of Logo?
There is a fairly comprehensive article in Acorn User issue 34 (May 1985) comparing the different implementations.

Kazzie
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:10 pm
Location: North Wales
Contact:

Re: Logo ROM playing up. Needs replacing?

Post by Kazzie » Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:52 am

dv8 wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:24 am
Kazzie wrote:
Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:16 pm
Other than the number of chips used, what differences are there between the implementations of Logo?
There is a fairly comprehensive article in Acorn User issue 34 (May 1985) comparing the different implementations.
Perfect, thanks.

This leaves me wondering which version of Logo it was that Gwynedd Council translated into Welsh. (For us, drawing a square meant AILWNEUD 4 [YM 100 DE 90].)
BBC Model B 32k issue 7, Sidewise ROM board with 16K RAM
Archimedes 420/1 upgraded to 4MB RAM, ZIDEFS with 512MB CF card
Acorn System 1 home-made replica

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3696
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Logo ROM playing up. Needs replacing?

Post by flaxcottage » Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:58 am

If I remember correctly it was the Logotron version.

I think I have seen a disc with the ROM image on it somewhere but please don't ask where - I have thousands, literally! I know I have used the program. It was fun working out the commands.
- John

Image

User avatar
dv8
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Logo ROM playing up. Needs replacing?

Post by dv8 » Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:31 am

Yes, it was Logotron.
There is a ROM image in this post.

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3696
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Logo ROM playing up. Needs replacing?

Post by flaxcottage » Thu Apr 18, 2019 12:49 pm

Ha ha! If only my memory were better. :?
- John

Image

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 9109
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Logo ROM playing up. Needs replacing?

Post by 1024MAK » Thu Apr 18, 2019 2:29 pm

flaxcottage wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 12:49 pm
Ha ha! If only my memory were better. :?
You want to get rid of that old DRAM board if you are suffering from memory refresh problems. Maybe get yourself a nice new SRAM system. Chris has some nice SRAM modules.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Mark
Last edited by 1024MAK on Thu Apr 18, 2019 2:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3783
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: Logo ROM playing up. Needs replacing?

Post by Elminster » Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:57 pm

Rather partial to Mercury-filled delay line storage myself, for that true retro experience.

Kazzie
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 7:10 pm
Location: North Wales
Contact:

Re: Logo ROM playing up. Needs replacing?

Post by Kazzie » Thu Apr 18, 2019 6:25 pm

flaxcottage wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:58 am
If I remember correctly it was the Logotron version.

I think I have seen a disc with the ROM image on it somewhere but please don't ask where - I have thousands, literally! I know I have used the program. It was fun working out the commands.
That'd make sense, as they also translated some Archimedes software under the Longman Logotron label, including Nodiant (Notate) and Pennod Plus (Pendown). I've got a copy of the former software, but not the latter.

In fact, I'd be interested in any and all Welsh software that you might recall or happen to stumble across. The title I'm most keen on getting hold of is Pod (Welsh version of Podd), as I'd love to use that with my daughter. But "Pod" is as useful a search term as "logo" is :)
dv8 wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:31 am
Yes, it was Logotron.
There is a ROM image in this post.
Excellent!
It looks like its time for me to dig out my EPROM burner. And contribute to that thread (depending on what commands I recall from two or three decades ago). And take a good look through the archive submissions subforum to see what else is hiding there..
Last edited by Kazzie on Thu Apr 18, 2019 6:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
BBC Model B 32k issue 7, Sidewise ROM board with 16K RAM
Archimedes 420/1 upgraded to 4MB RAM, ZIDEFS with 512MB CF card
Acorn System 1 home-made replica

Post Reply