A3020 IDE Hard disks setup (revisited)

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
Post Reply
RichardP
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 3:42 pm
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

A3020 IDE Hard disks setup (revisited)

Post by RichardP » Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:34 am

Hi All,

Apologies for another Hard disk thread, I just didnt want to hijack someone elses. I replaced the 80MB hard disk in my A3020 with a 80GB one I had spare - formatting it as one of the 'Standard' disks works but when I use !HForm and select 'Other' I get an error.
HFORM failed: Number too big at line 1820
I do read there are patched version but I dont seem to find much information relating to it. Is there a way to format the drive as 512MB ? (Is that the maximum?)

Richard

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3300
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: A3020 IDE Hard disks setup (revisited)

Post by flaxcottage » Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:50 pm

2Gb is the limit for formatting with !HForm on an A3020 and then you will only get about 500Mb.
- John
Image

RichardP
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 3:42 pm
Location: Cambridge
Contact:

Re: A3020 IDE Hard disks setup (revisited)

Post by RichardP » Fri Nov 09, 2018 9:07 am

flaxcottage wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:50 pm
2Gb is the limit for formatting with !HForm on an A3020 and then you will only get about 500Mb.

Is there any way to force !HDForm to use the maximum HEADS/TRACKS/SECTORS it can handle instead of just bailing out?

Richard

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3300
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: A3020 IDE Hard disks setup (revisited)

Post by flaxcottage » Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:02 am

Some report using a Raspberry Pi or RISC-PC to format larger disk sizes and that these work in RISC-OS 3.X. I have never tried this myself.

I believe the 500Mb-ish limit is a function of the ADFS.

If a Wizzo ROM is installed this will allow a 2Gb card to be partitioned into 4 x 500Mb drives. One of my A5000s has this installed. I know you have an A3020 but I believe that the Wizzo ROM can be loaded as a relocatable module.
Last edited by flaxcottage on Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
- John
Image

Ottly
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: A3020 IDE Hard disks setup (revisited)

Post by Ottly » Fri Nov 09, 2018 1:16 pm

If I recall correctly its a basic program so you can modify it. I recall modifying the sectors, heads, etc. for one of the defined hard drives in the program to settings I wanted and it worked.

FYI: You can also load the Wizzo rom on the A3020 which will let you have 4 partitions of 512Mb running on the built in IDE controller.
Last edited by Ottly on Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.

hubersn
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 7:59 pm
Contact:

Re: A3020 IDE Hard disks setup (revisited)

Post by hubersn » Fri Nov 09, 2018 3:23 pm

RichardP wrote:
Fri Nov 09, 2018 9:07 am
flaxcottage wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:50 pm
2Gb is the limit for formatting with !HForm on an A3020 and then you will only get about 500Mb.

Is there any way to force !HDForm to use the maximum HEADS/TRACKS/SECTORS it can handle instead of just bailing out?
Has anyone tried a recent !HForm version on RISC OS 3.1? How is the "LBA" flag handled in the "old" world of RISC OS 3.1? Can RO 3.1 ADFS handle LBA addressing?

hubersn

Post Reply