Viewdata Service

Got a programming project in mind? Tell everyone about it!
Soruk
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:31 am
Location: Basingstoke, Hampshire
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Soruk » Tue Dec 04, 2018 5:12 pm

scruss wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 2:40 am
Please don't go as far as some friends of mine who are recreating the authentic 300 baud BBS experience over VOIP …
:lol: I've not attempted to simulate BT's trade mark, of randomly adding line noise...

User avatar
Richard Russell
Posts: 898
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:35 am
Location: Downham Market, Norfolk
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Richard Russell » Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:45 pm

Soruk wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 5:12 pm
I've not attempted to simulate BT's trade mark, of randomly adding line noise...
I did something similar in order to test the error detection and retry mechanism of my telesoftware code....

colonel32
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 7:59 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by colonel32 » Wed Dec 05, 2018 7:41 pm

I founding holding my thumb over the ESP antenna is a great way to introduce random errors :)

Soruk
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:31 am
Location: Basingstoke, Hampshire
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Soruk » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:37 am

Hi,

Small buglet in your new pre-emption code (where you can start typing before the screen is drawn)...
On the weather map page, the landing page for *290#, if you press # before the page is completely drawn, you're returned to the main menu instead of the location entry screen.

(And a typo, on page 97a you're missing a : after https)
Last edited by Soruk on Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
John_Newcombe
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by John_Newcombe » Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:21 am

Soruk wrote:
Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:37 am
Hi,

Small buglet in your new pre-emption code (where you can start typing before the screen is drawn)...
On the weather map page, the landing page for *290#, if you press # before the page is completely drawn, you're returned to the main menu instead of the location entry screen.

(And a typo, on page 97a you're missing a : after https)
Many thanks, will take a look.

User avatar
John_Newcombe
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by John_Newcombe » Sat Feb 02, 2019 9:12 am

Soruk wrote:
Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:37 am
Small buglet in your new pre-emption code (where you can start typing before the screen is drawn)...
...
(And a typo, on page 97a you're missing a : after https)
The typo is fixed and will get deployed today. The '#' routing issue will take longer. The same problem exists when reading news that has follow on pages that are accessed by pressing '#'. Its a routing error thats always been there but shows up now that the pages are throttled to allow 'type-ahead' to work.

May thanks for letting me know about this.
Last edited by John_Newcombe on Sat Feb 02, 2019 9:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by trixster » Sat Feb 09, 2019 1:18 pm

Hi John,

Has anything changed on your glasstty.com:6502 viewdata service recently that might cause the following problem:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/jzcipg5g98z53 ... 8.MOV?dl=0

It’s almost as if the beeb is stuck in a continual refresh loop. My FreeFi232 board seems to work normally on both my beeb and Master if i access another viewdata service such as fish.ccl4.org, or a bbs like particlesbbs.dyndns.org, so I can only assume something has change wrt glasstty.com
Last edited by trixster on Sat Feb 09, 2019 1:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

User avatar
Richard Russell
Posts: 898
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:35 am
Location: Downham Market, Norfolk
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Richard Russell » Sat Feb 09, 2019 5:37 pm

trixster wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 1:18 pm
I can only assume something has change wrt glasstty.com
It seems to be fine when accessed from my telstar.bbc program (supplied with BBC BASIC for SDL 2.0).

Soruk
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:31 am
Location: Basingstoke, Hampshire
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Soruk » Sat Feb 09, 2019 10:10 pm

Richard Russell wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 5:37 pm
trixster wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 1:18 pm
I can only assume something has change wrt glasstty.com
It seems to be fine when accessed from my telstar.bbc program (supplied with BBC BASIC for SDL 2.0).
Similarly, it appears to be fine when accessed from my telstar program shipped with Matrix Brandy.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by trixster » Sat Feb 09, 2019 10:39 pm

Hmm. Anyone with a freefi232 or a wifimodem able to check to see if it works ok? Maybe it’s an issue with my freefi232? The same problem occurs on both my master and bbc b so I don’t think it’s an issue with my beeb.
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by trixster » Mon Feb 18, 2019 7:30 pm

Bueller?
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32


User avatar
trixster
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by trixster » Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:19 pm

Class? .... Anyone?
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

User avatar
oPless
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:12 am
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by oPless » Sun Feb 24, 2019 11:54 pm

I get a similar thing with the emulator and tcpser.

Just Buffer Off flashing crazily.

Not tried other viewdata services as yet.
BBC Model B ... W.E. Sideways Rom/Ram Board ... GIS Teletext Adapter ... Torch board (non-functional) Gotek Drive.
Currently into Teletext/ViewData stuff...

shifters74
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 9:44 am
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by shifters74 » Mon Mar 18, 2019 2:10 pm

Is the source available for telstar???

I am interested in having a read of the python code!

thanks

shifters

User avatar
John_Newcombe
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by John_Newcombe » Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:47 pm

At some point I will open source the code, I will post here when I get around to it.

User avatar
John_Newcombe
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by John_Newcombe » Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:54 pm

trixster wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 1:18 pm
Hi John,

Has anything changed on your glasstty.com:6502 viewdata service recently that might cause the following problem:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/jzcipg5g98z53 ... 8.MOV?dl=0

It’s almost as if the beeb is stuck in a continual refresh loop. My FreeFi232 board seems to work normally on both my beeb and Master if i access another viewdata service such as fish.ccl4.org, or a bbs like particlesbbs.dyndns.org, so I can only assume something has change wrt glasstty.com
I think that this is because the modem is set to Telnet mode? I don't have one of these modems but from memory I think its ATNET0 to turn it off.

Telstar isn't a Telnet server, although it does have a Telnet parser designed to absorb any Telnet negotiation. I suspect I have a bug in the parser.

Just as a point of interest, Telstar throttles page responses to 1200 baud, however, if a Telnet type client is detected by the parser Telstar runs at full speed.

coxs
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by coxs » Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:25 pm

Just got Telstar working on my Beeb. Absolutely fantastic. Thank you so much for making this service.

User avatar
John_Newcombe
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by John_Newcombe » Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:55 pm

coxs wrote:
Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:25 pm
Just got Telstar working on my Beeb. Absolutely fantastic. Thank you so much for making this service.
No problem, glad you like it.

Full directory of pages can be found here https://glasstty.com/wiki/index.php/TELSTAR_Directory
Last edited by John_Newcombe on Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Soruk
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:31 am
Location: Basingstoke, Hampshire
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Soruk » Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:46 am

Have the news feeds stopped working? They haven't been updated since 18th March.

OneSwitch
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by OneSwitch » Thu Apr 04, 2019 11:44 am

John_Newcombe wrote:
Sun Aug 12, 2018 9:08 pm
Its here, genuine late holiday deals. you know you want it...

Image
:)

Got Telstar working on my Android phone. Surprised at how easy it was to get it working, and I love it. A much less stressful gateway to the internet.

Same issues for the news feeds though, that these seem to be jammed on the 18th of March. Is this because they are manually edited, or an Android related bug?


Thanks for making it. Would love to see a beginners guide to getting it working on a real BBC Micro with step by step instructions too if anyone out there knows of such a thing.
Last edited by OneSwitch on Thu Apr 04, 2019 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Richard Russell
Posts: 898
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:35 am
Location: Downham Market, Norfolk
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Richard Russell » Fri Apr 05, 2019 9:26 pm

John_Newcombe wrote:
Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:54 pm
Just as a point of interest, Telstar throttles page responses to 1200 baud, however, if a Telnet type client is detected by the parser Telstar runs at full speed.
Usually, my 'telstar.bbc' client renders at full speed but this evening it seems to be throttled to 1200 baud. Has something changed your end in respect of the detection of a "telnet type client"? I send IAC DO SUPPRESS-GO-AHEAD initially but that's all.

Soruk
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:31 am
Location: Basingstoke, Hampshire
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Soruk » Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:35 pm

Richard Russell wrote:
Fri Apr 05, 2019 9:26 pm
John_Newcombe wrote:
Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:54 pm
Just as a point of interest, Telstar throttles page responses to 1200 baud, however, if a Telnet type client is detected by the parser Telstar runs at full speed.
Usually, my 'telstar.bbc' client renders at full speed but this evening it seems to be throttled to 1200 baud. Has something changed your end in respect of the detection of a "telnet type client"? I send IAC DO SUPPRESS-GO-AHEAD initially but that's all.
While I've seen this before, I can't replicate this at the moment with either the Matrix Brandy client, nor your telstar.bbc on Android. I send FF FD 03 FF FD 01 in the Matrix Brandy client upon connection.

User avatar
Richard Russell
Posts: 898
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:35 am
Location: Downham Market, Norfolk
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Richard Russell » Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:07 pm

Soruk wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:35 pm
I can't replicate this at the moment with either the Matrix Brandy client, nor your telstar.bbc on Android.
It's back to normal here today. I won't worry about it unless it happens again.
I send FF FD 03 FF FD 01
OK, so you are sending IAC DO ECHO as well. I would not have expected echoing by the server to be useful in this context (couldn't the echoed characters get interleaved with the videotex frame data and upset the rendering?). What's your reason for doing that?

Soruk
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:31 am
Location: Basingstoke, Hampshire
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Soruk » Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:18 pm

Richard Russell wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:07 pm
Soruk wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:35 pm
I can't replicate this at the moment with either the Matrix Brandy client, nor your telstar.bbc on Android.
It's back to normal here today. I won't worry about it unless it happens again.
I send FF FD 03 FF FD 01
OK, so you are sending IAC DO ECHO as well. I would not have expected echoing by the server to be useful in this context (couldn't the echoed characters get interleaved with the videotex frame data and upset the rendering?). What's your reason for doing that?
It's to ensure when something is entered (e.g. location page on Telstar's Weather page) it's echoed back. It's not caused any issues so far, but perhaps it's unnecessary?

User avatar
Richard Russell
Posts: 898
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:35 am
Location: Downham Market, Norfolk
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Richard Russell » Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:13 pm

Soruk wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:18 pm
It's to ensure when something is entered (e.g. location page on Telstar's Weather page) it's echoed back. It's not caused any issues so far, but perhaps it's unnecessary?
I would have expected that kind of 'echoing' to be handled by the service itself (Telstar in this case) not by the telnet server, if any. Only that way can the service control what characters are echoed and where on the screen. For example when entering my password into CCl4 it gets 'echoed' as dashes, not the characters I type as it would if the telnet server were doing the echoing. And when I enter a town name into the Telstar weather page it is echoed as expected, even though I don't send IAC DO ECHO.

As I understand it few, if any, of the current services are behind a 'real' telnet server. If they were I would expect that sending IAC DO ECHO might interfere with correct operation by inserting characters into the received stream 'asynchronously' and outside the control of the service itself.

Soruk
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:31 am
Location: Basingstoke, Hampshire
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Soruk » Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:26 am

Richard Russell wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:13 pm
As I understand it few, if any, of the current services are behind a 'real' telnet server. If they were I would expect that sending IAC DO ECHO might interfere with correct operation by inserting characters into the received stream 'asynchronously' and outside the control of the service itself.
It seems I misinterpreted that functionality then. I've removed that code, so now my client is also only sending IAC DO SUPPRESS-GO-AHEAD - and everything is still working as intended. I've also rebuit my standalone Windows client with this fix and a handful of other optimisations, and a double height glitch fix. I've also removed the slow-down mode as it was rather pointless :D

Soruk
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:31 am
Location: Basingstoke, Hampshire
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Soruk » Wed Jul 31, 2019 5:00 am

Another bug report (sorry!!)

On the weather forecast pages, other than the first page after entering a location, the temperature doesn't make sense.
The celsius numbers are fine, but the Fahrenheit numbers look like you're doing a F-to-C conversion (C=(F-32)*(5/9)), rather than a C-to-F conversion (F=C*(9/5)+32).
Last edited by Soruk on Wed Jul 31, 2019 5:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Richard Russell
Posts: 898
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:35 am
Location: Downham Market, Norfolk
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by Richard Russell » Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:57 pm

Soruk wrote:
Wed Jul 31, 2019 5:00 am
F-to-C conversion (C=(F-32)*(5/9)), rather than a C-to-F conversion (F=C*(9/5)+32).
Alternatively: C = (F + 40) * 5/9 - 40, F = (C + 40) * 9/5 - 40 (-40°C and -40°F are the same temperature). I find these easier to remember because of the symmetry.

*STEVE
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2019 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Viewdata Service

Post by *STEVE » Wed Sep 11, 2019 2:26 am

Just wanted to mention that I've been successful at connecting to the telstar server using my Prism 2000 analogue modem at 1200/75 baud, connected though a Viking line simulator Amazon to a USB modem, being answered by a Raspberry Pi and then routed onto the glasstty telnet server using my modem-tcp python script lol. You're probably wondering how complicated I can make it... I just miss the old modem handshaking screeches :)

20190910_185650.jpg
20190910_185713.jpg
20190910_185812.jpg
20190910_185623.jpg

Post Reply