New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

discuss both original and modern hardware for the bbc micro/electron
Post Reply
User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by daveejhitchins » Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:43 pm

I'm getting ready for a 2nd batch of the redesigned AP5.

So far, just two changes:
(1) Added a power connector for an optional BeebSCSI
(2) Moved the pull-down resistor from data line 0 on the 1MHz connector to data 0 on the Tube connector.

If anyone has any other changes that 'could' be added quickly (?) please post here.

Thanks - Dave H :D

mr-macrisc
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by mr-macrisc » Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:29 pm

Looking forward to getting one :)

User avatar
0xC0DE
Posts: 750
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by 0xC0DE » Fri Mar 27, 2020 6:35 am

mr-macrisc wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:29 pm
Looking forward to getting one :)
Same here. Count me in please
0xC0DE
"I program my home computer / Beam myself into the future"
:arrow: Follow me on Twitter
:arrow: Visit my YouTube channel featuring my demos for Acorn Electron and BBC Micro

User avatar
rmbrowngr
Posts: 421
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Dionysos, Greece
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by rmbrowngr » Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:29 am

Jumper to disable ROM 13? To save pulling out the ROM chip.

More convient location for the power connector used for the BeebSCSI.
Richard B
Acorn Electrons issue 4 and 6, MRB, Plus 1, AP6, AP5, Pegasus 400, BeebSCSI, Gotek, Raspberry Pi, GoSDC MBE.
BBC B+ 64K (128K upgraded) with Duel OS, Raspberry Pi and Gotek.

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by daveejhitchins » Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:38 am

rmbrowngr wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:29 am
Jumper to disable ROM 13? To save pulling out the ROM chip.

More convient location for the power connector used for the BeebSCSI.
Richard - good call on the ROM13 - I’ll see what can be done.

Currently I have the 5V connector on the back. So would moving it to the front - is that what you’re after?

Dave H :D

User avatar
rmbrowngr
Posts: 421
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Dionysos, Greece
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by rmbrowngr » Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:44 am

daveejhitchins wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:38 am
Currently I have the 5V connector on the back. So would moving it to the front - is that what you’re after?
Yes, moving it to the front.
Richard B
Acorn Electrons issue 4 and 6, MRB, Plus 1, AP6, AP5, Pegasus 400, BeebSCSI, Gotek, Raspberry Pi, GoSDC MBE.
BBC B+ 64K (128K upgraded) with Duel OS, Raspberry Pi and Gotek.

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by daveejhitchins » Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:46 am

rmbrowngr wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:44 am
daveejhitchins wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:38 am
Currently I have the 5V connector on the back. So would moving it to the front - is that what you’re after?
Yes, moving it to the front.
I'll work on that . . .

Dave H :D

dixiestoat
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:58 am
Location: Warwickshire
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by dixiestoat » Fri Mar 27, 2020 9:54 am

You can't improve on a Masterpiece.... :D
If in doubt, CTRL-BREAK thou should clout..

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by daveejhitchins » Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:58 am

dixiestoat wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 9:54 am
You can't improve on a Masterpiece.... :D
Well . . . It look as if you can :D Connector moved to the top of the PCB and we have a spare jumper (J3) that can be used to disable ROM 13.

Dave H :D

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by daveejhitchins » Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:15 pm

Here's an image of the changes. Note: A reprogram of the CPLD will add the ROM 13 inhibit, for those that want it.

Capture.JPG

Dave H :D

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by daveejhitchins » Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:56 pm

Well . . . That didn't take long! An updated .jed file is available here with thanks to Dave (Hoglet) for such a speedy change =D>

If you are going to reprogram you AP5 CPLD than you may need to fit a 2 pin header (J3) and a 10K resistor (R12). This will then give you a way to disable ROM 13 by fitting a jumper to J3.

Dave H :D

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by daveejhitchins » Wed Oct 28, 2020 5:33 pm

5 x PCBs arriving this Friday :D

Dave H.

rharper
Posts: 506
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by rharper » Thu Oct 29, 2020 12:06 pm

Hi Dave,
Is it possible to modify the first AP5 so that it has a 5v output?
Ray
Raycomp

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by daveejhitchins » Thu Oct 29, 2020 2:38 pm

rharper wrote:
Thu Oct 29, 2020 12:06 pm
Hi Dave,
Is it possible to modify the first AP5 so that it has a 5v output?
Ray
Yes . . . I'll see if I can get you a photo.

Dave H.

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by daveejhitchins » Thu Oct 29, 2020 3:26 pm

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrr!

What idiot at JLCPCB thought this was correct?
IMG_0968.jpg
I'm just about to have a cup of tea and a biscuit so I have chance to calm down . . .

I've had thousands of PCBs made with exactly the same DRAWING details, even from JLBPCB, and they've not used the Dimensional DRAWING layer as the outline and then used that drawing to put a slot in the PCB :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

98, 99,100 . . . and breath . . .

Dave H :twisted:

If anyone wants one of these boards (?) the hole could probably be filled with silver loaded epoxy to form the +'ve connection. Let me know - FOC - I'll even provide P&P . . .

rharper
Posts: 506
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by rharper » Fri Oct 30, 2020 12:39 pm

daveejhitchins wrote:
Thu Oct 29, 2020 3:26 pm
If anyone wants one of these boards (?) the hole could probably be filled with silver loaded epoxy to form the +'ve connection. Let me know - FOC - I'll even provide P&P . . .
Silver and copper powder appears to be available for a few pounds - not sure which would be best, probably doesn't matter.
I'm happy to try one rather than them go to waste.
Will pay postage.
Ray
Raycomp

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: New Electron AP5 - 2nd Batch

Post by daveejhitchins » Fri Oct 30, 2020 1:34 pm

rharper wrote:
Fri Oct 30, 2020 12:39 pm
Silver and copper powder appears to be available for a few pounds - not sure which would be best, probably doesn't matter.
I'm happy to try one rather than them go to waste.
Will pay postage.
Once I've compiled the BoM I'll get one in the post for you. The Slot is plated, so should make it easier!

Dave H.

Post Reply

Return to “8-bit acorn hardware”