(Closed/sorted!) WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

wanted ads for physical hardware, software + literature
Forum rules
You're welcome to trade Acorn-related stuff with other forum members here - the rule of thumb to follow when trading, is that items or services offered should be of interest to our Acorn community. Do NOT use multiple accounts - please trade with your regular (and only) forum account. If you're giving items away, please make it clear if you would be unhappy with the recipient selling on some or all of the items. Similarly, please ensure that the giver is comfortable with you re-selling items you have accepted as a gift. We cannot be held responsible for what happens in these trading forums or for deals done via PM. This must be done at your own risk. If you aren't comfortable with this - make the trade via an alternative site which can apply safeguards of their own. Be sensible - if someone approaches you to trade via PM who is not posting in the public forums, this may be a sign that they are not entirely what they seem. Please report it to the moderators if you receive an unsolicited message from anyone suspicious, so that it can be investigated and hopefully stop anyone being taken advantage of.
Post Reply
philpem
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

(Closed/sorted!) WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by philpem » Wed May 01, 2019 1:14 am

Hi folks,

I've got a very sick A3010 which, despite my best efforts, is looking like it has a permanent RAM issue. The only fix I can think of is to fit a 4MB upgrade, which would remove the need for the onboard RAM.

Does anyone have a spare 4MB upgrade kicking around?

Cheers,
Phil.
Last edited by philpem on Tue Jun 11, 2019 12:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 7974
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by danielj » Wed May 01, 2019 7:57 am

I don't have a complete upgrade, but I've got a blank circuit board which you could get the bits for? Slight pain to solder as you need to get SOJ memory ICs onto it, but they do work. Yours for a quid plus postage.

User avatar
Sniffer
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:30 pm
Location: Colwyn Bay, North Wales
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by Sniffer » Wed May 01, 2019 8:07 am

I don't have a complete upgrade, but I've got a blank circuit board which you could get the bits for? Slight pain to solder as you need to get SOJ memory ICs onto it, but they do work. Yours for a quid plus postage.
If the OP doesn't take you up on the offer, or if you have more than one, I'll take it. I'm just about to start resurecting a tatty old loft bound A3010.
Last edited by Sniffer on Wed May 01, 2019 8:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 4032
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by flaxcottage » Wed May 01, 2019 8:09 am

I got mine from IFEL. It works a treat. :D
- John

Image

User avatar
Sniffer
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:30 pm
Location: Colwyn Bay, North Wales
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by Sniffer » Wed May 01, 2019 9:13 am

I got mine from IFEL. It works a treat.
Are they still going?

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 7974
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by danielj » Wed May 01, 2019 9:17 am

Yup, cje are selling his boards for about £90. I think he's doing them direct for rather less but still around £40ish iirc. And sniffer, I'll see what I have. Definitely got one.
Last edited by danielj on Wed May 01, 2019 9:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 4032
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by flaxcottage » Wed May 01, 2019 12:44 pm

Sniffer wrote:
Wed May 01, 2019 9:13 am
I got mine from IFEL. It works a treat.
Are they still going?
Yes. He has a shop on eBay - ctorwy31 is the user name. He doesn't have one for sale at the moment but you could message him.
- John

Image

User avatar
Sniffer
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:30 pm
Location: Colwyn Bay, North Wales
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by Sniffer » Wed May 01, 2019 1:54 pm

And sniffer, I'll see what I have. Definitely got one.
Cool. I'm happy to do some soldering.

philpem
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by philpem » Wed May 01, 2019 7:01 pm

danielj wrote:
Wed May 01, 2019 7:57 am
I don't have a complete upgrade, but I've got a blank circuit board which you could get the bits for? Slight pain to solder as you need to get SOJ memory ICs onto it, but they do work. Yours for a quid plus postage.
I'm definitely interested in that! Have you got a list of parts needed -- I'll be putting in a Farnell order in the next few weeks. (I need to replace some of the resistor packs, capacitors and connectors/sockets which were eaten by the contents of the CMOS battery)

In re the IFEL cards - I've seen them, but there's no way I can justify £90 on a machine which might not even work after it. This machine's already been a several-years on-and-off time sink, and the only reason I've put so much in is because it's become a bit of a Moby Dick project! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Last edited by philpem on Wed May 01, 2019 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Andy_S
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:02 pm
Location: Aberdeen, UK
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by Andy_S » Wed May 01, 2019 8:52 pm

I have a couple of ram chips going spare as I bought extras when I had a go at this... still in their packaging...
Attachments
15567402269527648857590055492936.jpg

philpem
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by philpem » Fri May 03, 2019 3:28 am

Andy_S wrote:
Wed May 01, 2019 8:52 pm
I have a couple of ram chips going spare as I bought extras when I had a go at this... still in their packaging...
Assuming I can get my mitts on a PCB, I'd definitely be interested in the chips!
How much do you want for these?

Andy_S
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:02 pm
Location: Aberdeen, UK
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by Andy_S » Fri May 03, 2019 7:46 am

£4 including packaging and first class uk postage

Edit: soldering these things is not for the faint hearted, and there's not a lot of room between the ICs in particular. If you have a hot air rework station to hand (and solder paste) I would imagine that would be a lot easier
Last edited by Andy_S on Fri May 03, 2019 7:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

philpem
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by philpem » Wed May 08, 2019 12:54 am

Andy_S wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 7:46 am
£4 including packaging and first class uk postage

Edit: soldering these things is not for the faint hearted, and there's not a lot of room between the ICs in particular. If you have a hot air rework station to hand (and solder paste) I would imagine that would be a lot easier
Yeah, I've tried soldering the SOJs on the mainboard... preheater, paste and hot air is definitely the way to go. They're little horrors for soldering manually.

Regardless -- I'd be happy to take you up on those. I can't send PMs sadly, so could you please drop me an email (or Paypal invoice works too) to philpem =at= philpem.me.uk and we can sort out the particulars?

danielj wrote:
Wed May 01, 2019 7:57 am
I don't have a complete upgrade, but I've got a blank circuit board which you could get the bits for? Slight pain to solder as you need to get SOJ memory ICs onto it, but they do work. Yours for a quid plus postage.
I'd love one of the boards please, Daniel. As above I can't PM you so can you please drop me an email/Paypal invoice (philpem =at= philpem.me.uk)?

Cheers,
Phil.
Last edited by philpem on Wed May 08, 2019 12:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Andy_S
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:02 pm
Location: Aberdeen, UK
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by Andy_S » Wed May 08, 2019 8:07 am

Email & PM sent

Andy_S
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:02 pm
Location: Aberdeen, UK
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by Andy_S » Wed May 08, 2019 2:12 pm

On it's way to you Phil

Hope it helps sort out the issue 👍

philpem
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by philpem » Sat May 11, 2019 2:13 pm

Got them the other day - many thanks for your help, Andy.

Just in discussions with Daniel to get a PCB and hopefully after that I'll be able to get this A3010 working again :)

Fixed some more soldering and fitted a supercapacitor in place this morning and got a &20141 blink code.
Looks like I still have RAM control line issues.
Last edited by philpem on Sat May 11, 2019 2:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Andy_S
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:02 pm
Location: Aberdeen, UK
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by Andy_S » Sat May 11, 2019 2:26 pm

Good stuff. Fingers crossed for you Phil...

stevebubs
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 1:01 am
Location: Berks
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by stevebubs » Mon May 13, 2019 12:55 am

Just seen this... Pretty sure I found a 4M A3010 upgrade in my box of 32 bit parts the other day...

User avatar
Sniffer
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:30 pm
Location: Colwyn Bay, North Wales
Contact:

Re: WTD: A3010 4MB upgrade

Post by Sniffer » Mon May 13, 2019 11:18 am

Well I'm still interested in one if you have one going.

Post Reply

Return to “wanted”