FS: Econet Podule - all gone

peddle your acorn wares here!
Forum rules
You're welcome to trade Acorn-related stuff with other forum members here - the rule of thumb to follow when trading, is that items or services offered should be of interest to our Acorn community. Do NOT use multiple accounts - please trade with your regular (and only) forum account. If you're giving items away, please make it clear if you would be unhappy with the recipient selling on some or all of the items. Similarly, please ensure that the giver is comfortable with you re-selling items you have accepted as a gift. We cannot be held responsible for what happens in these trading forums or for deals done via PM. This must be done at your own risk. If you aren't comfortable with this - make the trade via an alternative site which can apply safeguards of their own. Be sensible - if someone approaches you to trade via PM who is not posting in the public forums, this may be a sign that they are not entirely what they seem. Please report it to the moderators if you receive an unsolicited message from anyone suspicious, so that it can be investigated and hopefully stop anyone being taken advantage of. This forum is not for advertising items you have for sale on ebay or other third party marketplaces.
User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1413
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by IanS » Thu Aug 13, 2020 5:31 pm

I have 4 basic Econet podules for sale. You will need a standard econet module to make use of these (or the patience to solder in all the other components).
IMG_20200813_172002.jpg
IMG_20200813_172033.jpg
With module fitted (module not included)
£20 + postage at cost.

Any takers?

1. 8271
2. danielj
3. Boydie
4. BeebMaster

5. 8271
6. dangardner
7. Rod C
8. sP1d3r
9. carcher
10. robheaton
Last edited by IanS on Wed Aug 26, 2020 3:10 pm, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
8271
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 1:20 pm
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule

Post by 8271 » Thu Aug 13, 2020 6:20 pm

Two please !
Serial computer hoarder & econetophile
2 x BBC-B, 4 x Master128, Master Viglen, Master Domesday, A310, A4, A5000, RiscPC700 Level 4 Server, RPC_SA233 & RPC_SA200, RiscOS_Pi, Econet & Ethernet

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8435
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule

Post by danielj » Thu Aug 13, 2020 7:23 pm

One please! :)

Boydie
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 9:25 am
Location: Sunny Wigan
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule

Post by Boydie » Thu Aug 13, 2020 7:24 pm

One please

User avatar
BeebMaster
Posts: 3629
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Lost in the BeebVault!
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule

Post by BeebMaster » Thu Aug 13, 2020 7:29 pm

I'd like one if there are any more available.

Does it need the modified Econet software or the "original"?
Image

User avatar
8271
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 1:20 pm
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule

Post by 8271 » Thu Aug 13, 2020 7:56 pm

I will take one and let Ian (beebmaster) take the other that I jumped on ..... (Will take a second one out of the next batch though!)
Serial computer hoarder & econetophile
2 x BBC-B, 4 x Master128, Master Viglen, Master Domesday, A310, A4, A5000, RiscPC700 Level 4 Server, RPC_SA233 & RPC_SA200, RiscOS_Pi, Econet & Ethernet

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1413
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by IanS » Thu Aug 13, 2020 10:18 pm

Ok, the first 4 have now been allocated, I'll send out some PM's asking for payments when I work out the postage (not sure I can get them in a large letter the socket is quite thick)

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1413
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule

Post by IanS » Sat Aug 22, 2020 12:44 am

OK, I've got another 4 up for grabs.

Rod C
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 3:26 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule

Post by Rod C » Sat Aug 22, 2020 2:36 am

Hi Ian
I would like one of these please.
Rod

sP1d3r
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:40 am
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule

Post by sP1d3r » Sat Aug 22, 2020 8:37 am

Hi Ian

Can I have one please, a kit of parts without the 5-pin DIN would be good for me.

dangardner
Posts: 202
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 1:30 pm
Location: The Wicklow Mountains
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule

Post by dangardner » Sat Aug 22, 2020 10:28 am

I'd like one please.

carcher
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 7:33 am
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule

Post by carcher » Sat Aug 22, 2020 10:47 am

Hi Ian,
Could I buy a podule please - if there is one still available?

Thanks,
Chris

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1413
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule

Post by IanS » Sat Aug 22, 2020 11:36 am

sP1d3r wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 8:37 am
Can I have one please, a kit of parts without the 5-pin DIN would be good for me.
Why a kit?

User avatar
robheaton
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:01 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule

Post by robheaton » Sat Aug 22, 2020 11:38 am

Hi Ian,
I'm interested in one of these, if available.

Cheers,
Rob.

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1413
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by IanS » Sat Aug 22, 2020 11:52 am

All gone, (depending on sP1d3r taking a built unit).

sP1d3r
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:40 am
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by sP1d3r » Sat Aug 22, 2020 4:02 pm

IanS wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 11:36 am
Why a kit?
Hi Ian

Thanks for allocating me a podule, -

I meant that a kit would be less bother than assembling and packaging a podule from your point of view and also cost less to post.

If you've made up the podules with particular members in mind, I'd take a kit to assemble if you've got the parts. (I like assembling PCB's)

User avatar
anightin
Posts: 617
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:03 pm
Location: Cambridge UK
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by anightin » Sat Aug 22, 2020 4:14 pm

If there is another batch at some point I would like a couple of these please.

Many thanks

Andy

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1413
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by IanS » Sat Aug 22, 2020 5:42 pm

sP1d3r wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 4:02 pm
IanS wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 11:36 am
Why a kit?
Thanks for allocating me a podule, -

I meant that a kit would be less bother than assembling and packaging a podule from your point of view and also cost less to post.

If you've made up the podules with particular members in mind, I'd take a kit to assemble if you've got the parts. (I like assembling PCB's)
I don't list them for sale until they are buit and tested. Do you still want a built one? (You will need an econet module to get it working)

sP1d3r
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:40 am
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by sP1d3r » Sun Aug 23, 2020 7:09 am

Hi Ian

Can you PM me with details of what you have available please?
Although I have an Econet module, I'd like to build the PCB clock, econet and termination.

Much appreciated :D

stevebubs
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 1:01 am
Location: Berks
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by stevebubs » Thu Aug 27, 2020 6:12 pm

I have a couple of RPCs that could do with these cards being installed.. So if you have another batch or 2, I'd be interested in 1 or 2 cards.

S

sP1d3r
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:40 am
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by sP1d3r » Wed Sep 02, 2020 8:05 am

Hi Ian, is there a parts list for the complete module, please?

sP1d3r
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:40 am
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by sP1d3r » Wed Sep 02, 2020 8:41 am

#-o I've found the econet podule zip file in the Re: Econet podule for RISC PC & A7000 thread with the XML document, btw so no problems.

User avatar
BeebMaster
Posts: 3629
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Lost in the BeebVault!
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by BeebMaster » Wed Sep 02, 2020 9:53 am

I'm planning to fit the Econet interface components to the Podule, so last night I found the XML file with all the component information as well and put it in a table, attached. N.B. it's only the Econet interface components, not the Podule circuitry or the clock/terminator.
Attachments
Econet Podule Components.pdf
(31.81 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Image

User avatar
BeebMaster
Posts: 3629
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Lost in the BeebVault!
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by BeebMaster » Wed Sep 02, 2020 10:07 am

Just noticed that R24 to R29 are for the Clock and Terminator, so not needed if only fitting the Econet interface.
Image

sP1d3r
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:40 am
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by sP1d3r » Wed Sep 02, 2020 3:07 pm

:!: A small pcb for programming the ATTiny is also required, unless it can be programmed after it's fitted into the podule.
I believe that the Arduino IDE would work for this.
Attachments
WP_20200902_002.jpg
ATTiny usb programmer

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1413
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by IanS » Wed Sep 02, 2020 3:20 pm

sP1d3r wrote:
Wed Sep 02, 2020 3:07 pm
:!: A small pcb for programming the ATTiny is also required, unless it can be programmed after it's fitted into the podule.
I believe that the Arduino IDE would work for this.
J5 is the programming header on the podule. There is a jumper to isolate the power (J7) so the programmer won't try and power the whole circuit.

User avatar
BeebMaster
Posts: 3629
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Lost in the BeebVault!
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by BeebMaster » Wed Sep 02, 2020 5:09 pm

I didn't have any axial caps or any suitable for decoupling, so whilst waiting for them to arrive, I've put the rest of the components on the board. Looking good, even if I say so myself:
IMG_7480.JPG
IMG_7477.JPG
Image

User avatar
BeebMaster
Posts: 3629
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Lost in the BeebVault!
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by BeebMaster » Thu Sep 03, 2020 10:50 pm

Finished it today.
ISEconetPodule9.jpg
ISEconetPodule10.jpg
Working well, although my Cumana SCSI podule doesn't like it...
Image

User avatar
IanJeffray
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:50 pm
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by IanJeffray » Thu Sep 03, 2020 11:51 pm

BeebMaster wrote:
Thu Sep 03, 2020 10:50 pm
Working well, although my Cumana SCSI podule doesn't like it...
Know-nothing suggestion: Have you tried moving the podules around? I have a Morley SCSI card that gets very upset at having an Atomwide Ether3 in the same machine unless the Morley is in podule slot 2. Not sure if it's module initialisation order or what, but maybe worth a quick try? I'm sure IanS will have a better response.

User avatar
BeebMaster
Posts: 3629
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Lost in the BeebVault!
Contact:

Re: FS: Econet Podule - all gone

Post by BeebMaster » Fri Sep 04, 2020 10:23 am

I think I did that...I tried several things. There are only 2 podule slots to play with and the Econet podule definitely works in either, but not with the Cumana podule. If unplug all the Cumana podule's modules it doesn't help. However if I take the actual ROM out of the socket on the podule then the RPC boots up fine.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “for sale / freebies”