For Sale: IDE Podules again

peddle your acorn wares here!
Forum rules
You're welcome to trade Acorn-related stuff with other forum members here - the rule of thumb to follow when trading, is that items or services offered should be of interest to our Acorn community. Do NOT use multiple accounts - please trade with your regular (and only) forum account. If you're giving items away, please make it clear if you would be unhappy with the recipient selling on some or all of the items. Similarly, please ensure that the giver is comfortable with you re-selling items you have accepted as a gift. We cannot be held responsible for what happens in these trading forums or for deals done via PM. This must be done at your own risk. If you aren't comfortable with this - make the trade via an alternative site which can apply safeguards of their own. Be sensible - if someone approaches you to trade via PM who is not posting in the public forums, this may be a sign that they are not entirely what they seem. Please report it to the moderators if you receive an unsolicited message from anyone suspicious, so that it can be investigated and hopefully stop anyone being taken advantage of. This forum is not for advertising items you have for sale on ebay or other third party marketplaces.
User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by IanS » Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:12 am

ALL SOLD OUT

Following little interest at Abug Cambridge I have a few IDE interfaces available for sale.

Versions available:-
8-bit IDE V2, this is the full size mini-podule version, with a 44-pin connection for a HD, DOM's fit nicely, 44-pin cables with CF or SD card adapters also work well.
Shown with DOM fitted here - viewtopic.php?f=41&t=5594&p=203476#p203476

8-bit IDE V3, This fits vertically within a A30x0/A4000, The pins should probably be fitted on the other side of the board to fit better, but they are mainly OK, but they will not fit if you have an Econet board in an A3020 or A4000. Again they have a 44-pin IDE connector, designed to work with a DOM, but with appropriate cable, anything is possible.
Picture here - viewtopic.php?f=41&t=5594&start=4710#p210870

I have a few 4GB 44-pin DOM's available for £10 each, only when sold with an appropriate IDE interface.

16-bit IDE V2, these will fit into the backplane of any machine with a full-size podule bus. (e.g. A3x0/A4x0/A540/A5000/A7000/RPC). They have a 40-pin IDE connector with power supplied to pin 20 for powering DOM's (I have some 128MB 40-pin modules for £3 each, only sold with IDE interface)

Postage/Packaging will be at cost. PM for details.

8-bit IDE V2 x 5 @ £20 each SOLD OUT
1. lcww1
2. Cutter (+DOM)
3. chrisn (+DOM)
4. iainjh (+DOM)
5. Nutter (+DOM)

8-bit IDE V3 x 4 @ £20 each SOLD OUT
1. Cutter
2. AndyMc1280
3. shakesc (+DOM)
4. JonC (+DOM)

16-bit IDE V2 x 5 @ £20 each - SOLD OUT
1. Cutter (+DOM)
2. markdryan (+DOM)
3. matt_nottm
4. geraldholdsworth (+DOM)
5. AndyMc1280

I'm not amazon or ebay, so I may not ship next day. Please be patient.
Last edited by IanS on Sun Sep 30, 2018 12:13 pm, edited 12 times in total.

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by lcww1 » Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:15 am

An 8-bit IDE v2 unit for me, please!

Cutter
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 2:32 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by Cutter » Sat Sep 29, 2018 11:35 am

One of each for me please (1x 8bit v2, 1x 8bit v3 and 1x 16bit v2)!

Plus 1x 4GB DOM and 1x 128MB DOM.

Thanks!

matt_nottm
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 11:54 am
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by matt_nottm » Sat Sep 29, 2018 11:42 am

1x 16-bit IDE V2 please.

markdryan
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:37 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by markdryan » Sat Sep 29, 2018 11:45 am

Could you put me down for a 16-bit IDE V2 + 128MB DOM please?

chrisn
Posts: 573
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:31 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by chrisn » Sat Sep 29, 2018 11:46 am

Hi Ian, I'd like an 8-bit V2 with DOM, please!

User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by geraldholdsworth » Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:18 pm

Yes please...16 bit version please. Not sure what a DOM is, or what it's for, but I'll take that too please.
Gerald Holdsworth
Repton Resource Page
www.reptonresourcepage.co.uk

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by IanS » Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:23 pm

geraldholdsworth wrote:
Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:18 pm
Not sure what a DOM is, or what it's for, but I'll take that too please.
DOM = disk on module

It is solid state module which emulates a hard disk.

So the interface + DOM becomes a plug a nd play solution, no further hardware required to have a functioning hard disk.

AndyMc1280
Posts: 636
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 11:50 am
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by AndyMc1280 » Sat Sep 29, 2018 3:48 pm

Argh missed it again, can I go on waiting list for a 16 bit V2 podule please if you do another run.

Also can I have an 8bit V3 as my Adelaide machine is tight for space.

Thanks

shakesc
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:34 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by shakesc » Sat Sep 29, 2018 4:20 pm

Can you put me down for an 8-bit IDE V3 with DOM please
BBC B+ 128K

JonC
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 10:19 pm
Location: Wakefield
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by JonC » Sat Sep 29, 2018 7:00 pm

8 bit IDE with DOM if poss please! (V3)

Cheers!
Last edited by JonC on Sat Sep 29, 2018 7:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jon
Image

iainjh
Posts: 354
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 12:18 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by iainjh » Sat Sep 29, 2018 9:21 pm

1 x 8 bit with dom for iainjh (me) please!:)

dangardner
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 1:30 pm
Location: The Wicklow Mountains
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by dangardner » Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:07 pm

If there is a waiting list for the 16 bit V2 podules, please put me down for one too.

Nutter
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by Nutter » Sun Sep 30, 2018 1:41 am

It looks like the only thing left is one 8-bit IDE V2 x 5 @ £20 each

If this is suitable for the A3000, I'll take one + DOM

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by IanS » Sun Sep 30, 2018 12:14 pm

Nutter wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 1:41 am
It looks like the only thing left is one 8-bit IDE V2 x 5 @ £20 each

If this is suitable for the A3000, I'll take one + DOM
Yes, it is suitable for an A3000, you are on the list.

Nutter
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by Nutter » Sun Sep 30, 2018 3:57 pm

IanS could you PM your details please? I am unable to send PMs as I'm a noob here :shock:

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by IanS » Mon Oct 01, 2018 8:38 pm

A couple of parcels were posted today, a couple more will go out tomorrow. Unfortunately I'm out of boxes to post stuff in, but more are on the way. If I haven't contacted you for payment and postage details by the end of week, please give me a prod.

Apologies for the delay.

alienkidmj12
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by alienkidmj12 » Fri Oct 05, 2018 8:50 pm

could i be next in line for 8-bit IDE V3 if one is available with dom. i take it this will fit an a3000
Last edited by alienkidmj12 on Fri Oct 05, 2018 8:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Corum
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by Corum » Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:48 pm

I would also be interested in a 8 bit V3 with DOM for my Acorn 3010 from the next batch.

Thx
Corum

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by IanS » Mon Oct 08, 2018 7:47 pm

Ok, everything should now be sent (last one was posted today). Shout if you are on the list, but haven't had any contact, or paid for your bits.

BBCmicro32k
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:58 am
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by BBCmicro32k » Tue Oct 16, 2018 3:28 pm

Hi Ian - this thread is almost a decade old, but would you have any IDE/CF podules for an A310?

Thanks

Steve

User avatar
paulv
Posts: 3854
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Leicestershire
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by paulv » Tue Oct 16, 2018 3:39 pm

BBCmicro32k wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 3:28 pm
Hi Ian - this thread is almost a decade old, but would you have any IDE/CF podules for an A310?

Thanks

Steve
Is only a few week old. I suspect you were looking at Ian's date of joining.

He's only recently done a run so it may be a while before another run happens unless there's sufficient interest to do one sooner.

Paul

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by IanS » Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:58 pm

I do have some more PCB's on order, but I'm making no promises as to when they will be available.

I'm NOT starting a list, please don't ask, they will be listed on the forum if/when they are available.

iainjh
Posts: 354
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 12:18 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by iainjh » Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:42 pm

Hi Ian

i'd bought one of the 8 bit ide adaptors some time ago, but only recently found an A3010. Yay!

Previously with archimedes I'd transferred software onto SD, using a pi and risc OS, so I dont think i can use a dom for that..

My question. If I want to use an IDE<>SD card adaptor (so can be written to by the pi) is there a right angled sd card adaptor you know of? one that will fit in the arch? The only adaptors I've yet found would stick straight out.

I think I need either a short 44 pin female to female cable, or an sd adaptor with an immediate female> right angled configuration?

what would you suggest if I need use sd, or micro sd?

thanks for advice! Sorry its taken this long to use it :)

Iain

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by IanS » Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:52 pm

iainjh wrote:
Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:42 pm
Previously with archimedes I'd transferred software onto SD, using a pi and risc OS, so I dont think i can use a dom for that..

My question. If I want to use an IDE<>SD card adaptor (so can be written to by the pi) is there a right angled sd card adaptor you know of? one that will fit in the arch? The only adaptors I've yet found would stick straight out.

I think I need either a short 44 pin female to female cable, or an sd adaptor with an immediate female> right angled configuration?
Was the SD card used in an adapter in the Archimedes?

You should be able to use a short female to female cable to plug in an IDE-SD adapter.

iainjh
Posts: 354
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 12:18 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by iainjh » Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:48 pm

Hi ian

Sorry (SORRY!) for the months in-between my random questions about the V2 ide board. My a3010 has been in Corfu with the Corfiot fixing it for a few weeks. But now its here! it works! .. and only now am I getting the v2 ide podule up and running.

I hope its still ok I post here. Again, sorry for the months gone by. I've formatted an sd card (tried 2 cards thus far, 2gb and 8gb) using these instructions:

viewtopic.php?t=6786

i.e. using riscos on pi. I've copied various games etc onto the card using the same riscos setup.

With the sd card>amiga short ide cable>v2 podule in the archimedes, Ive added an ide HD using configure app, but on boot I always get the error "Disc error 08 at :4/00000000". I've also tried the DOM I got with the board, with the same error.

I dont have any hform or other software on floppy, I can only hform via the pi. Err, am I missing something obvious? could it be my ide>sd adaptor? Do the V2's jumpers need moving? the power light is on the sd>ide card, no other signs of life.

regards, thanks again for any advice.

iain

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by IanS » Wed Sep 25, 2019 12:45 am

iainjh wrote:
Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:48 pm
Hi ian

Sorry (SORRY!) for the months in-between my random questions about the V2 ide board. My a3010 has been in Corfu with the Corfiot fixing it for a few weeks. But now its here! it works! .. and only now am I getting the v2 ide podule up and running.

I hope its still ok I post here. Again, sorry for the months gone by. I've formatted an sd card (tried 2 cards thus far, 2gb and 8gb) using these instructions:

viewtopic.php?t=6786

i.e. using riscos on pi. I've copied various games etc onto the card using the same riscos setup.

With the sd card>amiga short ide cable>v2 podule in the archimedes, Ive added an ide HD using configure app, but on boot I always get the error "Disc error 08 at :4/00000000". I've also tried the DOM I got with the board, with the same error.

I dont have any hform or other software on floppy, I can only hform via the pi. Err, am I missing something obvious? could it be my ide>sd adaptor? Do the V2's jumpers need moving? the power light is on the sd>ide card, no other signs of life.
As far as my records go you didn't buy a DOM with the card, so the DOM you have is an unknown quantity. (I think you originally requested a DOM, but then changed your mind, oddly I can't see your messages in my PM list).

Have you got the card configured via *configure commands, or are you setting up the IDE drive in !Configure. !Configure is only for the Acorn built-in interfaces. If you click on the drive icon with the middle mouse button, does the title of the menu show "ZIDEFS"?

Can you post a screen-shot of the output of *status, specifically the ZIDEFS options near the end of the list.

Do you have a working flopp drive. I can send you a 64MB DOM with !hform (and other software), which you can copy to floppy disk to try with your devices, The DOM will also confirm the interface is working correctly.
Last edited by IanS on Wed Sep 25, 2019 4:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

iainjh
Posts: 354
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 12:18 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by iainjh » Thu Sep 26, 2019 8:22 pm

hi!

thanks for help :) I therefore dont know where I got the DOM from, I'm presently back to using a short IDE cable and the CD card adaptor.

I didn't know the !configure tool woudn't work in this case. When I middled clicked on drive 4, i got the same error. So I removed the drives from the "configure tool, rebooted, and have attached two photo's of *status
IMG_3648.JPG
IMG_3649.JPG

I have since *configure ZIDEFSDrive =1

and rebooted, with no change.

perhaps its my sd card adaptor?

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by IanS » Thu Sep 26, 2019 8:58 pm

iainjh wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 8:22 pm
I have since *configure ZIDEFSDrive =1

and rebooted, with no change.

perhaps its my sd card adaptor?
I've no idea what a CD card adapter is, can you post a picture.

You need both
*configure ZIDEFSDiscs 1
and
*configure ZIDEFSDrives 1

Discs is number of physical drives, Drives is the number of partitions. (You need the ZIDEFS tools to partition and format multiple partitions, which are unlikely to work when connected to a Pi)

Did I not include a printed instructions sheet with the interface (you had an early board, so I may not have written it by then).

The offer of a 64MB DOM is still open, just let me have your address (Your PM messages seem to have disappeared, so I can't find your address)

Ian.

iainjh
Posts: 354
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 12:18 pm
Contact:

Re: For Sale: IDE Podules again

Post by iainjh » Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:51 am

hello

if there was a printed sheet I must have lost it, I've had the board for some time. I've attached pictures of the IDE>SDcard adaptor. I think I bought this after recommendation in another thread but I've never used it. Certainly it could be the issue. I dug out a Compact flash adaptor and using another adaptor (this time to use a SD card in a compact flash slot!) - same result.

images:
IMG_3651.JPG
IMG_3650.JPG
interestingly i think the drive shows up, and is listed under *status as ZIDEFSDrive 1 (etc) but when I centre click or left click i get an error about illegal drive name.

So my next job is to try the pi route one more time to prep a smaller capacity SD card. I'll format that this weekend. I really want to make this work as its the only way i can think of to transfer the tons of games I have in bulk. And it worked the last timeI tried with an A3020! Yes my floppy drive works, though I was hoping to avoid using it.

Thank you again for the very kind offer of a DOM. Thats really good of you. I'll update in a few days and perhaps ask for that kind favour then.

NB. how do you format the dom and transfer files to it? is there a method to bulk load to it or even back it up?

thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “for sale / freebies”