Prince of Persia

drfloyd
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by drfloyd » Wed Jul 08, 2020 8:45 am

should a create the committee for PRINCE OF PERSIA 3.5 compatible ? :mrgreen:

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 4676
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by tricky » Wed Jul 08, 2020 9:05 am

It would be nice to have it run on the Compact and also from SSD

drfloyd
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by drfloyd » Wed Jul 08, 2020 6:37 pm

the committee for PRINCE OF PERSIA "Final Edition" grow up !!!!!

:twisted:

User avatar
kieranhj
Posts: 921
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 11:11 pm
Location: Farnham, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by kieranhj » Wed Jul 15, 2020 9:34 pm

Well it seems like I can hardly let the POP fans down now, can I?

This is a Release Candidate for version 1.2 that hopefully works with MOS 3.5 and Master Compact. I hesitate to call it a fix, more a massive hack :? so any testing on real hardware would be gratefully received before I update the official version on the Bitshifters prod page. Please let me know if you find any problems!

For those interested, it seems that DFS 2.45 does use more of Hazel than the regular Master DFS, specifically it looks at certain values placed in page &DA00 to determine whether DFS is active or not, and therefore whether to bother servicing the call to OSWORD &7F that loads the sprites and level data etc.
Attachments
pop-beeb-version1.2-RC2.zip
POP version 1.2 (Release Candidate 2)
(149.32 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
Bitshifters Collective | Retro Code & Demos for BBC Micro & Acorn computers | https://bitshifters.github.io/

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8432
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by danielj » Wed Jul 15, 2020 9:41 pm

Loads and plays on 3.5 on my Master - haven't tried it back on 3.2, mind :) - and I've just played for a minute or two :D

d.

Naomasa298
Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Naomasa298 » Wed Jul 15, 2020 10:28 pm

*waits for the tears of joy coming from across the Channel*

User avatar
Yrrah2
Posts: 484
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:06 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Yrrah2 » Thu Jul 16, 2020 2:24 pm

Works perfect in 3.5! =D> =D>
And I discovered that it also works fine (and fast) in Retroclinic's DiskTrap mode. (an SSD loaded in RAM and the DiskTrap method fools the OS as if the RAM is an actual Disc. (or something like that))
Happy with my BBC Master
www.mybbcmaster.nl

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8432
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by danielj » Thu Jul 16, 2020 2:29 pm

3.2 fine too, just to reassure myself!

User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2678
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by jms2 » Thu Jul 16, 2020 4:33 pm

...and it also works fine on MOS 5.10 as well. :D

User avatar
Yrrah2
Posts: 484
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:06 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Yrrah2 » Fri Jul 17, 2020 9:08 pm

Found a little bug, using OS 3.5.
Could be a general bug of the game, but didn't experience this before.
In level 2 I got killed by the 3rd guard and fell at the same time in some spears. (killed 2 times in one go.....)
And now the game does not give an end tune and hangs. Only CTRL+A brought me back, not the 'press action to contimue' popped up or worked.

Cheers
Happy with my BBC Master
www.mybbcmaster.nl

User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2678
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by jms2 » Sat Jul 18, 2020 12:37 am

tricky wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 9:05 am
It would be nice to have it run on the Compact and also from SSD
Just spotted this post - it does run on the Compact (if you have a DFS rom in it). Maybe you meant it would be nice to have an ADFS version, but it sounds like that might not be possible.

I can't comment on the above bug report though, I have not managed to die like that yet!

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 4676
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by tricky » Sat Jul 18, 2020 4:28 pm

I do have DFS in my Compact, ADFS unplugged, but the original didn't work.
Same USB stick, FF version worked on my Master.
Maybe you mean this new version - I haven't tried it yet - my Compact is currently buried in the back of the garage.

drfloyd
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by drfloyd » Sat Jul 18, 2020 5:52 pm

THANKS Kieranhj !!!!!

It Works !!! (MASTER 128 3.5 with GOTEK)

THANKS !!!!! I can add it in my TOP 10

User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2678
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by jms2 » Sat Jul 18, 2020 5:57 pm

tricky wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 4:28 pm
I do have DFS in my Compact, ADFS unplugged, but the original didn't work.
Same USB stick, FF version worked on my Master.
Maybe you mean this new version - I haven't tried it yet - my Compact is currently buried in the back of the garage.
I’m pretty sure both versions worked for me. I have got DFS 2.45 - don’t know if that makes any difference.

drfloyd
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by drfloyd » Sat Jul 18, 2020 8:25 pm

I love again my ROM 3.5 :mrgreen:

User avatar
sbadger
Posts: 450
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:12 pm
Location: Farnham, Surrey
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by sbadger » Sun Jul 19, 2020 11:55 am

Works on my Compact, MOS 5.10, DFS 2.45
So many projects, so little time...

drfloyd
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by drfloyd » Sun Jul 19, 2020 9:54 pm

LOVE THIS GAME !

We need more games like this for the powerful MASTER 128.

User avatar
Stwert
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 6:22 am
Location: Fife
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Stwert » Tue Aug 25, 2020 8:18 pm

I’ve admired this work for a while, having never seen it in the flesh I’ve just gone on what other people have said, and the screens and video’s I’ve seen, of course.

It looks absolutely amazing, really great work.
After decades of wanting, but never owning, a Master, the new addition to my BEEB family should hopefully arrive tomorrow.


When it does, you can be sure this will be one of - if not the, first things I try on it. Ohhhhh, it’s like Christmas Eve, which also happens to be my birthday, funny, it doesn’t feel like my birthday though :D
I'll be highly medicated and my humour can be twisted, so when I offend you, its not intentional, honest :lol:

Post Reply

Return to “bitshifters (new bbc master games)”