Prince of Persia

drfloyd
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by drfloyd »

should a create the committee for PRINCE OF PERSIA 3.5 compatible ? :mrgreen:
User avatar
tricky
Posts: 5410
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by tricky »

It would be nice to have it run on the Compact and also from SSD
drfloyd
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by drfloyd »

the committee for PRINCE OF PERSIA "Final Edition" grow up !!!!!

:twisted:
User avatar
kieranhj
Posts: 947
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 11:11 pm
Location: Farnham, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by kieranhj »

Well it seems like I can hardly let the POP fans down now, can I?

This is a Release Candidate for version 1.2 that hopefully works with MOS 3.5 and Master Compact. I hesitate to call it a fix, more a massive hack :? so any testing on real hardware would be gratefully received before I update the official version on the Bitshifters prod page. Please let me know if you find any problems!

For those interested, it seems that DFS 2.45 does use more of Hazel than the regular Master DFS, specifically it looks at certain values placed in page &DA00 to determine whether DFS is active or not, and therefore whether to bother servicing the call to OSWORD &7F that loads the sprites and level data etc.
Attachments
pop-beeb-version1.2-RC2.zip
POP version 1.2 (Release Candidate 2)
(149.32 KiB) Downloaded 52 times
Bitshifters Collective | Retro Code & Demos for BBC Micro & Acorn computers | https://bitshifters.github.io/
User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8651
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by danielj »

Loads and plays on 3.5 on my Master - haven't tried it back on 3.2, mind :) - and I've just played for a minute or two :D

d.
Naomasa298
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Naomasa298 »

*waits for the tears of joy coming from across the Channel*
User avatar
Yrrah2
Posts: 506
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:06 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Yrrah2 »

Works perfect in 3.5! =D> =D>
And I discovered that it also works fine (and fast) in Retroclinic's DiskTrap mode. (an SSD loaded in RAM and the DiskTrap method fools the OS as if the RAM is an actual Disc. (or something like that))
Happy with my BBC Master
www.mybbcmaster.nl
User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8651
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by danielj »

3.2 fine too, just to reassure myself!
User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by jms2 »

...and it also works fine on MOS 5.10 as well. :D
User avatar
Yrrah2
Posts: 506
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:06 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Yrrah2 »

Found a little bug, using OS 3.5.
Could be a general bug of the game, but didn't experience this before.
In level 2 I got killed by the 3rd guard and fell at the same time in some spears. (killed 2 times in one go.....)
And now the game does not give an end tune and hangs. Only CTRL+A brought me back, not the 'press action to contimue' popped up or worked.

Cheers
Happy with my BBC Master
www.mybbcmaster.nl
User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by jms2 »

tricky wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 9:05 am
It would be nice to have it run on the Compact and also from SSD
Just spotted this post - it does run on the Compact (if you have a DFS rom in it). Maybe you meant it would be nice to have an ADFS version, but it sounds like that might not be possible.

I can't comment on the above bug report though, I have not managed to die like that yet!
User avatar
tricky
Posts: 5410
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by tricky »

I do have DFS in my Compact, ADFS unplugged, but the original didn't work.
Same USB stick, FF version worked on my Master.
Maybe you mean this new version - I haven't tried it yet - my Compact is currently buried in the back of the garage.
drfloyd
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by drfloyd »

THANKS Kieranhj !!!!!

It Works !!! (MASTER 128 3.5 with GOTEK)

THANKS !!!!! I can add it in my TOP 10
User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by jms2 »

tricky wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 4:28 pm
I do have DFS in my Compact, ADFS unplugged, but the original didn't work.
Same USB stick, FF version worked on my Master.
Maybe you mean this new version - I haven't tried it yet - my Compact is currently buried in the back of the garage.
I’m pretty sure both versions worked for me. I have got DFS 2.45 - don’t know if that makes any difference.
drfloyd
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by drfloyd »

I love again my ROM 3.5 :mrgreen:
User avatar
sbadger
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:12 pm
Location: Farnham, Surrey
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by sbadger »

Works on my Compact, MOS 5.10, DFS 2.45
So many projects, so little time...
drfloyd
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by drfloyd »

LOVE THIS GAME !

We need more games like this for the powerful MASTER 128.
User avatar
Stwert
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 6:22 am
Location: Fife
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Stwert »

I’ve admired this work for a while, having never seen it in the flesh I’ve just gone on what other people have said, and the screens and video’s I’ve seen, of course.

It looks absolutely amazing, really great work.
After decades of wanting, but never owning, a Master, the new addition to my BEEB family should hopefully arrive tomorrow.


When it does, you can be sure this will be one of - if not the, first things I try on it. Ohhhhh, it’s like Christmas Eve, which also happens to be my birthday, funny, it doesn’t feel like my birthday though :D
I'll be highly medicated and my humour can be twisted, so when I offend you, its not intentional, honest :lol:
oe7twj
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2020 4:25 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by oe7twj »

Works fine on my BBC Master loading from Disk or Gotek.

Doesn't run from SD card, I know, PAGE Problem.
Solved using MMFS 1.45 ...


I love this game, really!!!

I have played this when I was a Teen, hundred times ...
After habituation on keyboard input I could reach level 7.


Thank you for porting this great game!!!
oe7twj
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2020 4:25 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by oe7twj »

drfloyd wrote:
Sun Jul 19, 2020 9:54 pm
We need more games like this for the powerful MASTER 128.
Yes!
I would like to see a port of "Spacxe Taxi"

https://www.c64-wiki.de/wiki/Space_Taxi
nekroskop
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by nekroskop »

Great! I've just loaded pop-beeb-version1.2-RC2
PoP works fine on my Master Compact MOS 5.10, DFS 2.45 from Gotek - FlashFloppy
Thanks
Post Reply

Return to “bitshifters (new bbc master games)”