Bug Eyes not working?

having trouble with an archived file or want to correct something? report it here!
Post Reply
Michael Brown
Posts: 2008
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Bug Eyes not working?

Post by Michael Brown » Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:50 pm

Hi all,

I thought I'd start a new thread here, rather than clog up the high score challenge pages.

Firstly, It looks like the hack I did some time back of Bug Eyes does not work properly on a BBC.
JoolsH says you can't complete it without it crashing.
He says the STH version works fine.
We are not sure if the DATACENTRE fix broke mine, or if it is something else like the stars routine staying on.

To make it simple,

First I will post a copy of the STH version which I have added Bill C's fix to.
If someone can play test this and let us know the outcome.
If OK, then it is not a DATACENTRE fix problem.

regards,
Mick.
BugEyes.zip
(8.36 KiB) Downloaded 11 times

Michael Brown
Posts: 2008
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bug Eyes not working?

Post by Michael Brown » Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:03 pm

Next,

I have noticed that the STH version does not include the *FX14,3 routine in the loader or the *FX13,3 routine in the main game that my version did, so I have now done several things to this version.

1. removed the *FX14,3 in the BUG1 file.
2. removed the *FX13,3 routine from my hack as the STH did not have one.
3. added a *TAPE routine upon loading, even though the STH doesn't seem to have one.
4. added a ?&3C7=&00 and a ?&3CA=&80 routine which is some code from the tape copy (just in case).

The only other thing it could now be is the moving star routine which may need turning off before loading the main game (like the STH version does).

But first if someone could try this version. And, if OK then I will add Bill C's DATACENTRE fix to it.

regards,
Mick.
bugeyesfix.zip
(8.49 KiB) Downloaded 12 times

Michael Brown
Posts: 2008
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bug Eyes not working?

Post by Michael Brown » Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:37 pm

Here's my next attempt.

This is a version that keeps the original F8 and F9 as per STH version.
It also switches off the stars before loading the main game as per STH version.
It has no *TAPE or ?&3CA tape stuff as per STH version.

PS although my version has the files arranged as per tape version, the data in them is taken from the STH version so everything the STH version does, should be done here too.

Happy New Year
Mick.
bugeyesfix2.zip
(8.47 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
PS again, if this version is OK, then I will add Bill C's Datacentre fix to it and see what that does!
Last edited by Michael Brown on Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Michael Brown
Posts: 2008
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bug Eyes not working?

Post by Michael Brown » Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:39 pm

I have now included 3 versions of Bug Eyes.
Hopefully at least one of these will prove to be correct.

Mick.

Michael Brown
Posts: 2008
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bug Eyes not working?

Post by Michael Brown » Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:44 am

I was just wondering if anyone had a poke that could be used to cheat so I could play through the various versions to see if there are any problems as I am useless as playing the game properly myself.

Mick.

User avatar
billcarr2005
Posts: 1196
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bug Eyes not working?

Post by billcarr2005 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:38 pm

Michael Brown wrote:I was just wondering if anyone had a poke that could be used to cheat ...
Wouldn't want anybody to cheat in the HSC with the following! :wink:

I've just changed the values in the BeebEM debugger when the game is loaded, but since the locations aren't relocated it'd work if *LOADing / *SAVEing BUG2

The programmers obfuscated the obvious LDA #&05, which would've made searching for the initial number of lives easier, with

Code: Select all

&2350 LDA #&17
&2352 EOR #&12
&2354 STA &68
&2382 is DEC &68, so

Code: Select all

?&2382=&EA
?&2383=&EA
will give you infinite lives

&1DE7 appears to be the death handler, and is called from various positions in the code
Each way to die can be circumvented by replacing the &4C (JMP) with &60 (RTS)

Code: Select all

LOCATION    WAY TO DIE
--------    ----------
&1C9C       Spikes (if falling onto spikes but not dying, you can get stuck!)
&1E7C       UNKNOWN / UNUSED?
&1EC9       Bonus reaches zero
&1F86       UNKNOWN / UNUSED?
&209E       Anything you can walk into

crj
Posts: 834
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug Eyes not working?

Post by crj » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:13 pm

billcarr2005 wrote:(if falling onto spikes but not dying, you can get stuck!)
Time to sneak a "jetpack" key into a few spare bytes? (-8<

Michael Brown
Posts: 2008
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bug Eyes not working?

Post by Michael Brown » Sun Jan 07, 2018 2:27 pm

thanks for that Bill!

However, I still can't manage to get past level 4 as I am no good at it.
Until I do, I can't find out if any of my hacks work properly, so may take some time to solve this one.
Unless anyone else can play the 3 posted hacks through to completion and let me know.
Would really like the 2nd one to work fine as this features the moving stars during loading.

Mick.

Michael Brown
Posts: 2008
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bug Eyes not working?

Post by Michael Brown » Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:19 am

Almost forget about this...

Here's what I hope is a fixed version of Bug Eyes.
It is the same version that keeps the stars scrolling whilst loading the main game, but I have added Bill C's Datacentre fix to it.
Could someone please try this version and let me know the outcome.

many thanks
Mick.
bugeyesfix4.zip
(8.48 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
PS I have also posted this new version in the high score section just in case it gets missed.

Michael Brown
Posts: 2008
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bug Eyes not working?

Post by Michael Brown » Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:58 am

So Fix4 still crashes.

Here's what I hope is the final fixed version of Bug Eyes.
It is the same version taken from the STH data that stops the stars scrolling before loading the main game except I have added Bill C's Datacentre fix to it.
Could someone please try this version and let me know the outcome.

many thanks
Mick.
bugeyesfix5.zip
(8.47 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
PS Also posted in the high score section just in case this gets missed

Michael Brown
Posts: 2008
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bug Eyes not working?

Post by Michael Brown » Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:02 pm

OK So that first 5 didn't work.

Let's try this one.
Its the STH version again, but without the Datacentre fix.
Also posted in the High Score section.

Mick.
bugeyesfix6.zip
(8.37 KiB) Downloaded 16 times

Michael Brown
Posts: 2008
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bug Eyes not working?

Post by Michael Brown » Thu Jan 18, 2018 10:55 am

Latest attempted fix (no.7) added over at High Score section.

Michael Brown
Posts: 2008
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bug Eyes not working?

Post by Michael Brown » Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:30 pm

Good News
Jools confirms attempt no. 7 worls!

Next to add Bill C's datacentre fix to it and see what that does.

Posted over at High scores section.

Michael Brown
Posts: 2008
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bug Eyes not working?

Post by Michael Brown » Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:50 am

Very good news, Fix11 works.
I have now added it to Disc012 and reposted that disc.

This version contains the moving stars whilst loading and Bill C's Datacentre fix and Jools confirms is fully playable and completable.

Mick.
Disc012.zip
(184.58 KiB) Downloaded 16 times

Post Reply