Prince of Persia

new games to be launched and discussed here
RobC
Posts: 2298
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by RobC » Mon Apr 02, 2018 2:29 pm

lurkio wrote:Would anyone be up for blowing the T/MAMMFS (I think) version of MMFS to EPROM and sending it to him?
I'll do it if you can confirm which ROM image and send me his contact details.

User avatar
lurkio
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:30 pm
Location: Doomawangara
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by lurkio » Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:21 pm

RobC wrote:
lurkio wrote:Would anyone be up for blowing the T/MAMMFS (I think) version of MMFS to EPROM and sending it to him?
I'll do it if you can confirm which ROM image and send me his contact details.
Thanks, Rob. PM sent.

:idea:

User avatar
SarahWalker
Posts: 1105
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 3:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by SarahWalker » Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:37 pm

Just got a chance to play the finished version. Stunning stuff!

JoolsH
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 11:46 am
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by JoolsH » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:37 pm

This is impressive stuff! Played it in B-Em and managed to get to the second level, at least.

Unfortunately I can't get it working on my real Master - I have my 3.5" drive set up as drive 1 and 3, and my drive 0 is a 40 track 5.25" drive. I wrote it to a 3.5" disc using Omniflop, but when I try to run it from drive 1 it seems to switch back to drive 0 and try (and fail) to load it from there. And I can't run it from my MMC card because that requires loading the SuperMMC rom image into a bank of sideways RAM, and it also increases the value of page.

Works fine in the emulator, though :)

User avatar
kieranhj
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:11 pm
Location: Farnham, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by kieranhj » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:53 pm

JoolsH wrote:This is impressive stuff! Played it in B-Em and managed to get to the second level, at least.

Unfortunately I can't get it working on my real Master - I have my 3.5" drive set up as drive 1 and 3, and my drive 0 is a 40 track 5.25" drive. I wrote it to a 3.5" disc using Omniflop, but when I try to run it from drive 1 it seems to switch back to drive 0 and try (and fail) to load it from there. And I can't run it from my MMC card because that requires loading the SuperMMC rom image into a bank of sideways RAM, and it also increases the value of page.

Works fine in the emulator, though :)
Glad you like it!

Yes, sorry it’s hard coded to drive 0 at the moment - I will add that as an issue for v1.2.

I just tried a super quick hack on b-em to run from drive 1 and seems to work. Let me know if it helps.

Code: Select all

*DR.1
*LOAD PRINCE
?&180B=49
?&1897=1
CALL &E00
Bitshifters Collective | Retro Code & Demos for BBC Micro & Acorn computers | https://bitshifters.github.io/

JoolsH
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 11:46 am
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by JoolsH » Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:00 pm

Works a treat, thanks! It somehow seems more real when running it on real hardware.

This game is also a lot more playable if you actually bother to read the instructions ;)

User avatar
kieranhj
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:11 pm
Location: Farnham, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by kieranhj » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:50 pm

JoolsH wrote:Works a treat, thanks! It somehow seems more real when running it on real hardware.

This game is also a lot more playable if you actually bother to read the instructions ;)
Yay! Glad that worked. Some people have mentioned that the music is very loud on real hardware - don’t forget you can reduce the volume with CTRL + cursor down.

Don’t think I’ve seen that feature on any game BITD but Simon was determined to add it..!
Bitshifters Collective | Retro Code & Demos for BBC Micro & Acorn computers | https://bitshifters.github.io/

User avatar
Kecske Bak
Posts: 691
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Treddle's Wharf, Chigley
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Kecske Bak » Thu Apr 12, 2018 7:46 am

kieranhj wrote:Don’t think I’ve seen that feature on any game BITD but Simon was determined to add it..!
There were some, for instance BoneCruncher by Superior Software. And, more recently, Repton Lost Realms has it too. It's a lovely feature to have.

I haven't played Prince of Persia yet as I've just reinstalled my OS and will have to compile B-Em but I can't wait to have a go at it. It looks fabulous.

Cosmo
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:39 am
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Cosmo » Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:27 am

It took some time to figure out how to run it on Master (i am noob). But after reading this thread i got it booting without any errors.
It runs very well & thank god for the audio level adjustment possiblity :)
Great job guys!
Acorn BBC Master w/Datacentre & PiTubeDirect, BBC Micro Model B Issue 7 w/Gotek
http://finapple.hho.fi/finapple

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 1266
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Lardo Boffin » Sat Apr 14, 2018 6:34 am

I bought a master mostly so I could play this and having moved house (finally) I should be able to dig it up, get it refurbed and play.
I did however crack and download it to play on Beeb-Em. Amazing! If this had been released back in the day you would have been burned at the stake for witchcraft!
One question - how do you walk slowly? I only played for a few minutes but couldn’t figure out the key combo... :oops:
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, Acorn 6502 coproc
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc
BBC Master, Datacentre + HDD, pi co-proc

RobC
Posts: 2298
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by RobC » Sat Apr 14, 2018 8:03 am

Lardo Boffin wrote:One question - how do you walk slowly? I only played for a few minutes but couldn’t figure out the key combo... :oops:
If you hold down RETURN with left or right then you edge forward.

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 1266
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Lardo Boffin » Sat Apr 14, 2018 9:38 am

RobC wrote:
Lardo Boffin wrote:One question - how do you walk slowly? I only played for a few minutes but couldn’t figure out the key combo... :oops:
If you hold down RETURN with left or right then you edge forward.
Thanks. That will save a few spikey deaths.
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, Acorn 6502 coproc
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc
BBC Master, Datacentre + HDD, pi co-proc

User avatar
Yrrah2
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:06 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Yrrah2 » Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:45 am

Really brilliant work!!!

Seems even harder than the original version :lol: :lol:
Happy with my BBC Master
www.mybbcmaster.nl

User avatar
sa_scott
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 11:34 pm
Location: Witley, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by sa_scott » Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:21 pm

Just played this on Chrome on my iMac. It plays great. Such a fantastic job!! If only I was good at playing it :oops:

=D>
--
Stephen Scott, Digital Media Professional
www.sassquad.com

User avatar
kieranhj
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:11 pm
Location: Farnham, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by kieranhj » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:54 pm

Glad you’re enjoying the game! Yes, it is nails hard by modern standards. Those used to the PC version might still find the original Apple II code a bit challenging - partly because the frame rate is more errratic, so some of the busy levels later on get a bit painful, but I also think they added some more energy potions and smoothed out some of the difficult spikes.

Don’t forget you can use the original official cheats. I also added a new one to nerf the guards a little bit as they can be right gits sometimes!!

Code: Select all

Cheat Codes (Released game!)

SKIP - Next level
POP - Cheat mode enabled (following codes then work)
KILL - Kill guard on screen
BOOST - Boost health meter (increase max energy)
REST - Restore health to max
ZAP - Zap guard to 1 health
TINA - Jump to end of game
EDIT: I also recommend reading the manual on the disc if you haven’t played the game before. It’s adapted from the original Apple II printed manual. Do *TYPE MANUAL in MODE 0. For a future release I might get chance to put an option to read it from the load screen.
Bitshifters Collective | Retro Code & Demos for BBC Micro & Acorn computers | https://bitshifters.github.io/

User avatar
Rich Talbot-Watkins
Posts: 1352
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 5:20 pm
Location: Palma, Mallorca
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Rich Talbot-Watkins » Wed Apr 18, 2018 6:59 pm

Looks absolutely beautiful guys, huge congratulations for getting it finished! Have barely had a chance to try it, but it really looks smooth and colourful, and I don't notice any graphical blockiness when playing at all (assuming that you had to double up pixels in the end to make it all fit?). I'm sure a NuLA version would be absolutely amazing, but quite honestly it already looks fantastic on a bog-standard Beeb!

This is definitely one of these cases where I wish I could see it running on real hardware, for the real feeling of disbelief!

Great job! =D>

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by trixster » Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:58 pm

I've finally had chance to give this a go. Wow. It's incredible.
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

RobC
Posts: 2298
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by RobC » Wed Jun 13, 2018 1:26 pm

Just received the latest edition of Retro Gamer in the post and PoP gets a very positive (if a tad brief) review in the homebrew section :D =D>

User avatar
kieranhj
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:11 pm
Location: Farnham, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by kieranhj » Wed Jun 13, 2018 4:04 pm

RobC wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 1:26 pm
Just received the latest edition of Retro Gamer in the post and PoP gets a very positive (if a tad brief) review in the homebrew section :D =D>
Cool. Thanks Rob. I just got home to find my copy on the door mat. They didn't warn me but nice it got a high score 94% and their "sizzler" mark!

Perhaps not coincidentally I got an email from the guy that writes the Homebrew section who may be interested in a short interview - we'll see what happens. :)
Bitshifters Collective | Retro Code & Demos for BBC Micro & Acorn computers | https://bitshifters.github.io/

User avatar
kieranhj
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:11 pm
Location: Farnham, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by kieranhj » Wed Jun 13, 2018 4:34 pm

Here's a quick photo.
Attachments
pop review.jpg
Sizzler!
Bitshifters Collective | Retro Code & Demos for BBC Micro & Acorn computers | https://bitshifters.github.io/

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by trixster » Wed Jun 13, 2018 9:57 pm

Now, about that Beeb with shadow and sideways ram conversion....! :wink: =P~ :lol:
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

User avatar
kieranhj
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:11 pm
Location: Farnham, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by kieranhj » Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:09 pm

trixster wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 9:57 pm
Now, about that Beeb with shadow and sideways ram conversion....! :wink: =P~ :lol:
You’d need 5x banks of SWRAM as it uses all 64K in the Master plus all of ANDY and HAZEL (minus a couple of pages for the DFS.)

Actually during development I did ponder what an enhanced Master version might look like - so an extra 32K or 64K SWRAM in the cartridge slots. The game could then run with full res 4bpp sprites throughout. Add NULA and you’ve basically recreated the PC VGA version. :)

(Albeit at a lower res and inconsistent frame rate..!)
Bitshifters Collective | Retro Code & Demos for BBC Micro & Acorn computers | https://bitshifters.github.io/

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3071
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Elminster » Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:57 pm

You mean you are not hard at work doing the VIDEONula, SWRAM, pitubediect version of POP!!!!????

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by trixster » Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:18 pm

I just had a look at the CPC6128 version side by side with the Master.

Initially the CPC looks impressive due to the colours and the way the character’s been drawn. But then you can see that the graphics are actually quite simplified and don’t match the original. The Beeb’s colours aren’t quite a match for the CPC but the dithering is great. You then notice just how much better the drawing is, how much closer it is too the other versions like the Amiga.

The Beeb is also much smoother in terms of frame rate and animation quality. The sounds better too!
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

Andy1979
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by Andy1979 » Sat Jul 14, 2018 11:59 am

EPROM burning/erasing equipment finally arrived, so got chance to try this on my Master Compact with MMFS. It's fantastic, can't believe how smooth it runs. Great work =D>

Also recently installed the PC version on an old 386. Apart from the Beeb's more limited colour palette there is basically no difference.
Last edited by Andy1979 on Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
lurkio
Posts: 1765
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:30 pm
Location: Doomawangara
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by lurkio » Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:32 pm

A typically excellent new video from ChinnyVision -- this one's all about Prince of Persia!:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MlEInyg8DN8


:idea:

RobC
Posts: 2298
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by RobC » Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:55 pm

Just opened the latest RetroGamer and found an interview with Kieran in the Homebrew Heroes section :D =D>

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 6582
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by danielj » Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:43 pm

RobC wrote:
Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:55 pm
Just opened the latest RetroGamer and found an interview with Kieran in the Homebrew Heroes section :D =D>
=D>

User avatar
kieranhj
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:11 pm
Location: Farnham, Surrey, UK
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by kieranhj » Wed Oct 03, 2018 7:04 pm

RobC wrote:
Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:55 pm
Just opened the latest RetroGamer and found an interview with Kieran in the Homebrew Heroes section :D =D>
Woo! My subscription copy hasn’t arrived yet, hopefully tomorrow. Fame at last!! ;)
Bitshifters Collective | Retro Code & Demos for BBC Micro & Acorn computers | https://bitshifters.github.io/

User avatar
jbnbeeb
Posts: 424
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia

Post by jbnbeeb » Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:04 pm

Got my Retro Gamer in the post on the weekend! Great to see your interview in Homebrew Heroes section! Nicely done!
I'm going to ..
ABUG Cambridge Sept 7th-9th Sept 2018
Image

Post Reply