Help with writing a 64-bit ARM assembler

bbc micro/electron/atom/risc os coding queries and routines
pixelblip

Help with writing a 64-bit ARM assembler

Post by pixelblip » Tue Sep 15, 2020 5:36 pm

Hi there
I was thinking on the way to work today...wouldn't it be great to be able to program a BBC Basic app and have it published on Google Play ....imagine the possibilities. It means mere mortals could create an app and who knows maybe even flog it!

I don't know about you but I tried java once and thought urrgh I've got no chance of that.
Yet I was able to program - what was a very basic program it has to be said - in BBC basic earlier on in the year ( do you remember my gallery thing? ). I created an .apk and thought wow I've actually done that. I have no experience and am no programmer!

I am not saying someone would buy that gallery app but it does excite me that this could be a possibility. I would also love to encourage younger people to use BBC basic and if they could do that I am sure they would be very enthusiastic ( although they probably know java and python better that I ever would!). Someone out there to create the next Snapchat in BBC Basic ( well maybe not ! ).

What we need is someone who can help Richard write a 64-bit ARM assembler. That is no meant feat. I believe this is what he needs help with to be able to achieve this. Is there anyone out there with this knowledge on stardot? It's tricky stuff indeed. BBC Basic for other platforms has an assembler built in so I guess this is what Richard is talking about.

I suppose if you can do this then you will probably be making millions at Google or Microsoft but I will ask on his behalf again and if anyone has those valuable skills then do let us know. It would be so special to see apps people could sell written with BBC basic.