A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Got a programming project in mind? Tell everyone about it!
User avatar
SpaceFlightOrange
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 2:28 pm
Contact:

Re: A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Post by SpaceFlightOrange » Sat Feb 09, 2019 1:39 pm

Hey Tricky.

I tried this as recommended by you, and what can I say? It's brilliant!

I have noticed That I get a couple of not founds here and there and I have to kinda do a double shift-break to return to the menu, but apart from that, amazing work!

Thanks
James

BBC Model A Issue 3 (Upgraded to Model B, had it since I was a kid), Opus Dual 40/80 FDD, Watford Mouse, Voltmace delta 14/B, Gotek, IFEL ROMRAM-B4, Pi-Zero CoPro

Master 128, VideoNuLA, Gotek

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 3445
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Post by tricky » Sat Feb 09, 2019 2:03 pm

I seem to have broken something, but am now starting to feel better and taking a look.
I haven't worked out what I have done wrong, but I have added a bit of debugging code to mmbeeb.dll to make debugging it easier.
I have added some messages that print to DebugOutputStringA including where it is looking for files and which disc/track/sector it is trying to read/write. These can be viewed from the VisualStudio Output window or with the free SysInternals (now Microsoft) DBGVIEW app (untested).
PS
I also added an extra function to the DLL so that beebem can register a function for mmbeeb.dll to use to write text to the debug window. void SetOutputDebugString(void (__cdecl NewOutputDebugString)(const char * msg)) if called with a fuction, the dll will log to that, if called with NULL (the default) it will call OutputDebugStringA.
Attachments
mmbeeb.dll.zip
(4.65 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
Last edited by tricky on Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 3445
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Post by tricky » Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:44 pm

I don't know what had happened with my previous upload, as it is different to my local copy, which, works correctly!
I have added an option to include only "Commercial Releases" and produced a new pair of downloads for them.
As a bonus, they now fit into a single BEEB.MMB and .SSD files for the GOTEK, are more compatible and work on any MMC ROM.
DropBox links should not require any login: bbcmicro.co.uk commercial releases: GOTEK and any MMC.

MadeGray
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Post by MadeGray » Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:57 pm

Will give it a try!

Thanks Tricky!
John Gray

BBC Master x2 with BeebSCSI, PI copro etc and lots of Goteks. A few Model B’s and a trusty Elk. Won’t mention the ZX80 and ZX81!

User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2220
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Post by jms2 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:17 pm

I have just tried this for the first time (Gotek version). It's great! :D Thanks very much for creating it!

I made a few observations while getting it set up which I thought were worth mentioning on here:

1) Flashfloppy version is now up to v.1.0. I don't think this makes any practical difference but you might as well install the latest version.

2) The update process is dead easy if you already have an earlier version of FF installed. You just put the .upd file into the root directory of your USB stick and power up the Gotek while holding down the two buttons. The OLED screen then shows various encouraging messages as it updates, and then after that it is ready to go.

3) I have now got my head around how the games collection can co-exist with my pre-existing Gotek USB stick (which was ordered in subfolders etc rather than using indexed mode). I have simply started a completely separate USB stick for the games collection, with non-games software kept on the "manually curated" stick. Now that I have realised how comprehensive the games set is, and how easy it will be to update in future, it's obvious that this is the way to go.

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 3445
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Post by tricky » Sun Feb 10, 2019 8:15 pm

Glad its working for you.

User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2220
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Post by jms2 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 9:18 pm

Playing with it a bit more, I love the way you've got it to re-insert the menu disk - if you boot any other disk directly, it inserts disk 0 and boots that instead! Very neat.

Got a few questions/comments from closer inspection:

1) I noticed that Boulderdash doesn't load - but I can't see why. It hangs with "at line 160", where line 160 is "*RUN CODE". This is using a Master, but BeebEm suggests that it should run on the Master.

2) I'm also a bit puzzled by which games are in the collection and which are not. For example, Repton: The Lost Realms and White Light are both downloadable from bbcmicro.co.uk, but there are not in the collection. Is this intentional or have they gone AWOL?

3) When the menu starts, it doesn't start on the first page, and pressing zero doesn't move it to the first page either. It starts on the page that has 3D snooker at the top, and pressing left arrow gets to what I believe is the actual first page (with your favourites on it).

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 3445
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Post by tricky » Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:24 pm

It is what was on bbcmicro when I started this and the latest version is games that say "Commercial release".
The menu starts on the first (inc favourites) page for me on my compact.
I can't think why boulderdash might have been broken.
0 sets the page to the beginning of the data, so I don't understand that either, but I'll try it on my master.

strawberrytau
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 8:58 am
Contact:

Re: A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Post by strawberrytau » Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:51 pm

Feature request:

It would be wonderful to toggle sound on/off in the launch menu. This setting would trigger a *FX210,1 as part of the boot sequence if "sound off" was selected.

I think this would be very useful/ 8)

chrisn
Posts: 439
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 11:31 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Post by chrisn » Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:13 pm

Well done tricky, the menu is amazing, it really makes using the Gotek so much easier =D>
jms2 wrote:
Sun Feb 10, 2019 9:18 pm
I noticed that Boulderdash doesn't load - but I can't see why. It hangs with "at line 160", where line 160 is "*RUN CODE". This is using a Master, but BeebEm suggests that it should run on the Master.
I noticed that this particular disk image has two files named "CODE" on it. Could that be the issue?

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 3445
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Post by tricky » Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:29 pm

It should be using the directory and name, but can get caught out if the "main" program *RUNs itself by name as I think it will have been renamed - should be OK if it wasn't !BOOT.
Sorry, haven't looked at the sound yet, but it should be easy!

chrisn
Posts: 439
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 11:31 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Post by chrisn » Wed Jun 12, 2019 5:58 pm

tricky wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:29 pm
It should be using the directory and name, but can get caught out if the "main" program *RUNs itself by name as I think it will have been renamed - should be OK if it wasn't !BOOT.
I have just done a test with the disk in question (DSKA0052.SSD) - there are files named $.CODE and $.Code. If I delete $.CODE then Boulderdash loads and runs fine.

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 3445
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: A new MENU system for MMC/Gotek

Post by tricky » Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:20 pm

Thanks, I thought that DFS was case sensitive, but apparently not!
I'll add a check to the ones that check if the current game can be added to the current disc.
I'll also try to add the sound option.
I've had no internet at home for a couple of days - upgrading to Fibre (well, fibre 1/2 a mile away!) and am off with some beebs to Revival this weekend, so it probably won't be until I get back.

Post Reply