Release Type changes

feedback, questions and discussion relating to the Complete BBC Games Archive (beta site now open!)
Post Reply
User avatar
pau1ie
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Location: Bedford
Contact:

Release Type changes

Post by pau1ie » Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:38 pm

[quote=tricky]You may have already tried it, but what do you think about clicking one of the six categories unticking all the other boxes and ticking itself.
It would probably then benefit from an All/Any option without a tick box.[/quote]

I have done something like this. What do you think? I think it is prettier than before. The code is also a little cleaner I think. I also changed the game page so you can click on release type.
I'm working on http://bbcmicro.co.uk

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 2949
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: Release Type changes

Post by tricky » Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:42 am

I managed to confuse myself at first, but it works nicely.
Originally I wanted it to select the 2000+ releases to see what other people had been doing.

User avatar
leenew
Posts: 3745
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:27 pm
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Release Type changes

Post by leenew » Wed Dec 27, 2017 4:08 pm

Hi Paul,
May I report some slightly odd behaviour?
Select all release types.
Do any search.
Commercial Releases has mysteriously de-selected itself.
This has just caught me out on a couple of searches :D
**on my tablet using Chrome**

Lee.

User avatar
pau1ie
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Location: Bedford
Contact:

Re: Release Type changes

Post by pau1ie » Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:52 pm

I did reproduce this, but only once, and it doesn't happen any more. I'm a bit confused, but I'll attempt to blame it on caching.

Can you click the refresh button a couple of times, and see if it still happens?
I'm working on http://bbcmicro.co.uk

User avatar
pau1ie
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Location: Bedford
Contact:

Re: Release Type changes

Post by pau1ie » Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:02 pm

Oh - got it. If I hit enter on my laptop it happens. It is because it hits the commercial button rather than the search button, because it is the first submit button. I know what is happening now, so I can look into it.
I'm working on http://bbcmicro.co.uk

User avatar
pau1ie
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Location: Bedford
Contact:

Re: Release Type changes

Post by pau1ie » Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:34 pm

I think I fixed it.

I added a button that gets triggered when you hit enter or presumably use the submit button in the on screen keyboard. Hopefully this will fix the problem. You need to reload the home page to get the new code, then try the search and see if it has helped. Pretty much copy and paste from this stackoverflow answer!
I'm working on http://bbcmicro.co.uk

Post Reply