Quest to become ELITE!

post your own high scores or enter our challenge competitions
User avatar
trixster
Posts: 880
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by trixster » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:21 pm

Right on Commander :)
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

User avatar
sydney
Posts: 2430
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 9:09 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by sydney » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:34 pm

Sadly Commander Sydney is lost somewhere beyond the edge of known space deep in Galaxy 9 and will never be seen again.
Fortunately, some of his DNA was collected from a pizza box at the last ABug meeting and a clone has been created. Meet Commander Syd!

Starting out again hasn't been too exciting and I've focused on some trading to get my ship erm... ship shape.
I'm currently docked at the Qutiri system with 5337.9 credits in my account and my Cobra has a large cargo bay, front beam laser and an ECM system. My plan is to fully kit out the Cobra with at least 30,000 credits left over then start looking for pirates, missions and generally exploring the universe.

I'm using a gotek so created a dsd with the master version of the game on one side and a whole side available for save games, much better than squeezing saves onto the game disk imo. I sold my matchbox copro last year so can't play the copro version until I get a pi copro set up which I'm hoping to have done by the time the Wakefield show comes around.
I'm not sure how frequently I'll be playing but the Master is set up in the living room at the moment as the garage is still too cold. If the missus doesn't complain too much I might get half an hour or so in each day.
I will become ELITE someday!
Last edited by sydney on Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 880
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by trixster » Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:48 pm

The Constrictor has been blown to smithereens and the mission is complete! I made a quick video of the final battle:

https://youtu.be/VxVEr1Pn9Zk

My status has been elevated to Dangerous too :)
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 8359
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by hoglet » Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:56 pm

Nice video!

That took some killing.

User avatar
sydney
Posts: 2430
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 9:09 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by sydney » Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:03 pm

YYYYAAAAAAWWWWWWWNNNNNN!
God. Trading is BORING!
I spent an hour or so last night traveling from Qutiri to Isinor to Qutiri to Isinor to Qutiri to Isinor to Qutiri to Isinor to Qutiri ...
Now I'm fully kitted out with the exception of a Galactic Hyperdrive which I'll buy when I need one as it's an expensive bit of kit which can be easily trashed in a skirmish or if you let the bloody docking computer land for you.
I've briefly been a fugitive due to a collision with a Transporter whilst attempting to land but my record has been cleared due to good behavior. I'm not sure on my total kills right now but it'll be very low as I've not gone looking for a fight. Yet.

I reckon I must have spent around 15k on upgrades and I currently have around 16k in cold hard cash. Another trading session should see me wealthy enough to begin my quest to reach Elite. I can't remember the missions particularly well so I'm going to read up on them and head off to a feudal system and kick some ass!

IMG_20190206_123138.jpg

VectorEyes
Posts: 242
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 1:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by VectorEyes » Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:39 pm

Did anyone actually use the side and rear lasers? I remember playing Elite quite a bit BITD and I don't think I ever did!

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 880
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by trixster » Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:42 pm

I use the rear laser when visiting Feudal or Anarchy’s. When your front shield is shot to bits it’s handy to be able to turn tail and pick the buggers off.
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 880
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by trixster » Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:47 pm

I recall my dad (rip :() being genuinely Elite at this game. It was like he’d worked out how to manoeuvre so effectively by turning, stopping, accelerating, stopping, turning, that the AI seemed to get so confused it’s ships pretty much stopped mid-dog flight as they were so baffled. It’s likely my memory is befuddled by age but I do remember that he was genuinely a sharp shooter and never got bent out of shape whilst visiting Anarchy’s.
Last edited by trixster on Wed Feb 06, 2019 4:23 pm, edited 2 times in total.
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

User avatar
helpful
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:18 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by helpful » Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:17 pm

sydney wrote:
Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:03 pm
I spent an hour or so last night traveling from Qutiri to Isinor to Qutiri to Isinor to Qutiri to Isinor to Qutiri to Isinor to Qutiri ...
I've always traded while exploring the galaxy, never visiting the same planet twice. Makes it more interesting trying to find a profitable trade route, and with the added challenge that every now and then you will have to pass through a feudal/anarchy world before you really feel ready... :shock:

Have you got what it takes to be Elite? 8)
RISC OS User Group Of London - http://www.rougol.jellybaby.net/
RISC OS London Show - http://www.riscoslondonshow.co.uk/

User avatar
marcusjambler
Posts: 632
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 11:20 am
Location: Bradford
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by marcusjambler » Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:33 pm

Did anyone actually use the side and rear lasers?
Yep... Same as Trixster

When I lost the front shield I'd pick them off whilst legging it :lol:

Marcus

User avatar
sydney
Posts: 2430
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 9:09 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by sydney » Fri Feb 08, 2019 6:22 pm

So I've finally got what I feel is enough money and I located a nearby Anarchy system: Ararus.
I made the 2 hyperspace jumps without buying or selling anything and got stuck in!
It took me 9 minutes and 47 seconds to get to the safety of the space station and I amassed 18 kills and gained 286 credits from the bounty payments. At that rate it's going to take 60 hours of fighting to reach Elite!

Progress Update:
Commander Syd
Galaxy: 1
System: Ararus
Credits: 33809.1
Legal Status: Clean
Rating: Above Average
Kills: 78

VectorEyes wrote:
Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:39 pm
Did anyone actually use the side and rear lasers? I remember playing Elite quite a bit BITD and I don't think I ever did!
Never used the side lasers but occasionally used the rear one while running away.
helpful wrote:
Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:17 pm
sydney wrote:
Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:03 pm
I spent an hour or so last night traveling from Qutiri to Isinor to Qutiri to Isinor to Qutiri to Isinor to Qutiri to Isinor to Qutiri ...
I've always traded while exploring the galaxy, never visiting the same planet twice...
I'd not normally stay put but after losing my old save game I just wanted to get back up to speed as soon as possible

RobC
Posts: 2648
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by RobC » Fri Feb 08, 2019 7:26 pm

sydney wrote:
Fri Feb 08, 2019 6:22 pm
So I've finally got what I feel is enough money and I located a nearby Anarchy system: Ararus.
I made the 2 hyperspace jumps without buying or selling anything and got stuck in!
It took me 9 minutes and 47 seconds to get to the safety of the space station and I amassed 18 kills and gained 286 credits from the bounty payments.
Great stuff! I only got as far as Deadly on the Beeb/Master disk version BITD and I think I only got to Dangerous on the Arc.
sydney wrote:
Fri Feb 08, 2019 6:22 pm
VectorEyes wrote:
Wed Feb 06, 2019 1:39 pm
Did anyone actually use the side and rear lasers? I remember playing Elite quite a bit BITD and I don't think I ever did!
Never used the side lasers but occasionally used the rear one while running away.
I always had a mining laser on one side - think it was tip I picked up from the Micro User.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 880
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by trixster » Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:47 pm

I have a mining laser on the right :)
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

User avatar
sydney
Posts: 2430
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 9:09 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by sydney » Fri Feb 08, 2019 10:09 pm

trixster wrote:
Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:47 pm
I have a mining laser on the right :)
Do you use it much? If I'm trading my hold is always full, if I'm fighting/bounty hunting I'm usually in a feudal or anarchy and I rarely manage to collect dropped cannisters so probably wouldn't have time to collect boulders.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 880
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by trixster » Fri Feb 08, 2019 11:10 pm

Nope!
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

User avatar
SpaceFlightOrange
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 2:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by SpaceFlightOrange » Thu May 02, 2019 11:12 pm

So Happy I found this thread!!

I played BBC Elite for what seemed like 3 years as a kid but only made Deadly. I then stopped, and moved on to the Amiga, where I made Elite, then the PC (Elite Plus) again, making Elite, and have recently restarted Elite: Dangerous, so I'm nowhere on that one.

Not getting to Elite on the Beeb has always troubled me, so when I resurrected my beeb just before Christmas I managed to successfully recover my saves. I had a little play last week, and saved my commander after a few kills, now under my Son's name.

I've loaded it up on BeebEm so you can see my stats:
Screen Shot 2019-05-03 at 00.03.14.png
I was watching a nice vid about Elite on Youtube last night, which mentioned that you need 6400 kills to get to Elite. I never knew this, so a quick search on here brought me to this thread and the article in Micro user, so I've decoded my save and I can now see I have 6071 kills! so not long to go!! This has given me the motivation I need.

Of course all game time will still be on my original beeb on the original (no tube) elite, for old times sake!!

:D
Last edited by SpaceFlightOrange on Thu May 02, 2019 11:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.
James

BBC Model A Issue 3 (Upgraded to Model B, had it since I was a kid), Opus Dual 40/80 FDD, Watford Mouse, Voltmace delta 14/B, Gotek, IFEL ROMRAM-B4, Pi-Zero CoPro

Master 128, VideoNuLA, Gotek

User avatar
richardtoohey
Posts: 3713
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:13 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by richardtoohey » Fri May 03, 2019 5:57 am

Enjoy & good luck!

Playing the original Elite is on my l-o-n-g TODO list (so long that it's making most of the things on there not fun #-o so defeats the point!)

And then want to play Elite 2nd processor version as well.

I moved from BBC B version to the Atari ST version but can't remember how far I got with either version - definitely spent many teen hours on the BBC version, though.

User avatar
Yrrah2
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:06 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Post by Yrrah2 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 2:11 pm

Well took me a while, but getting closer and closer.
Really difficult with all those thargoids around and my Coprocessor running...
IMG_1570.JPG
Happy with my BBC Master
www.mybbcmaster.nl

Post Reply