Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

discussion of games, software, hardware & emulators relating to the Acorn Atom and Acorn System machines.
User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2036
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by jms2 » Mon Jan 13, 2014 4:21 pm

Does anyone have some recommendations for a sensible basic set of utility roms for the Atom? I'm about to write an Eprom for my Combikaart containing 8x A000 roms, but being an Atom newbie I've only got a rough idea of what to put on it.

I've got Atommc with the firmware at E000, and I want to have SDDOS available. I'm also aware that SALFAA, GAGS and P-Charme are three fairly popular options. That makes four. What should I put in the other four? I don't have any particular objectives for my machine, other than general usability.

I have downloaded the existing rom image and attached it just in case it contains some hidden gem that would be useful for someone. I have identified some of the roms, 1=SALFAA, 6=GAGS and 7=P-Charme. The others are unknown to me but clearly some relate to disc operations. These don't interest me very much as I don't intend to use real disks with my Atom.
A000 rom set as received.zip
(24.36 KiB) Downloaded 90 times

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 7515
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by hoglet » Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:10 pm

I'd recommend something that lets you single step through machine code programs. You occasionally hit a problem that occurs only on a real Atom, and not in Atomulator.

The AEK Monitor ROM allows this. Not sure if any of the others do, or how they compare. Maybe Roland or Kees can advise.

I've put a collection of ROM manuals here:
http://tinyurl.com/atomroms (google drive)

Dave

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2780
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by oss003 » Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:24 pm

AXR1 or the Screen ROM are nice additions if you want to have text in graphics mode. AXR1 also has a good disassembler.

I personally don't have any experience with a machinecode stepper program but the AEK monitor ROM sounds interesting.

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
roland
Posts: 2936
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by roland » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:07 pm

The rom called 'Josbox' has a simple machinecode stepper. You start it with the STEP command. I often used it.

[irrelevant]
For the Atom-in-PC I wrote a very sophisticated debugger. That used the 80 column video display of the PC. If the PC had two monitors (an Hercules or monochrome display) it could use that for the debugger while the debugged program was running at the VGA monitor. Good old times .....
[/irrelevant]
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2036
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by jms2 » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:25 pm

Thanks for the advice. I might put Kees's Atomic Windows on there as well! That should make the full set. I assume these roms are all on acornatom.nl?

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2780
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by oss003 » Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:58 am

jms2 wrote:Thanks for the advice. I might put Kees's Atomic Windows on there as well! That should make the full set. I assume these roms are all on acornatom.nl?
Atomic Windows is written to be used with a mouse. You can select with keys but for some functions you need a mouse.

The ROMs can also be found in Hoglets Atom Software Archive.

Greetings
Kees

herklots
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by herklots » Tue Jan 14, 2014 7:35 pm

Anyone know who the Procyon guys really were? Stevenson/Rockett are surely aliases...

User avatar
roland
Posts: 2936
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by roland » Tue Jan 14, 2014 9:33 pm

Atomic Windows is written to be used with a mouse. You can select with keys but for some functions you need a mouse
Who has a mouse connected to the Atom, besides Kees? And how is it connected? For suggestions, please start a new thread ... except for Hoglet if he can add a mouse to the Godil (thread) :wink:
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
jms2
Posts: 2036
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by jms2 » Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:22 pm

I'm pleased you asked that question Roland... I was thinking the same thing myself!
My Atom does have a joystick port, but it is digital.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6247
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by CMcDougall » Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:19 am

I never noticed the ASE v2.00 rom in the list/s :? sure Roland said he had heard of it before, but had not used it much.

Is there a little program that can take an image, ie : select bank, download to non used ram, switch to AtoMMC2, save the image from the non used ram?
I have looked through the magazine programs in the archive menu, but none that seem to do this :-k

If there is such a program, can someone upload it, so I don't have to type it in! 8)

Cheers, Col.
ImageImageImage

AndyGarton
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by AndyGarton » Thu Jan 16, 2014 7:23 pm

My newly acquired "unexpanded" Atom in fact has its full quota of RAM chips, an FP ROM and a utility ROM of some description in IC24 (with LK3 already closed). Is there a way I can identify what the utility ROM is please? It's a fairly anonymous chip with a green sticker on it (does this make it an EPROM?).

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2780
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by oss003 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:27 pm

AndyGarton wrote:My newly acquired "unexpanded" Atom in fact has its full quota of RAM chips, an FP ROM and a utility ROM of some description in IC24 (with LK3 already closed). Is there a way I can identify what the utility ROM is please? It's a fairly anonymous chip with a green sticker on it (does this make it an EPROM?).
Hi Andy,

you can try this program to see if you can identfy the ROM by it's commands.
Press any key to see the next screen.

Greetings
Kees

Code: Select all

10 P.$12
20 F.I=1 TO 4095
30  D=I?#A000
40  IF D<32 OR D>122;P.".";G.60
50  P.$D
60  IF I%500=0;LI.#FFE3;P.$12
70 N.
80 END

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2780
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by oss003 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:44 pm

CMcDougall wrote:I never noticed the ASE v2.00 rom in the list/s :? sure Roland said he had heard of it before, but had not used it much.

Is there a little program that can take an image, ie : select bank, download to non used ram, switch to AtoMMC2, save the image from the non used ram?
I have looked through the magazine programs in the archive menu, but none that seem to do this :-k

If there is such a program, can someone upload it, so I don't have to type it in! 8)

Cheers, Col.
Hi Colin,

do you mean something like this?

Greetings
Kees
Attachments
Romsave.zip
(332 Bytes) Downloaded 67 times

AndyGarton
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by AndyGarton » Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:45 pm

oss003 wrote:
AndyGarton wrote:My newly acquired "unexpanded" Atom in fact has its full quota of RAM chips, an FP ROM and a utility ROM of some description in IC24 (with LK3 already closed). Is there a way I can identify what the utility ROM is please? It's a fairly anonymous chip with a green sticker on it (does this make it an EPROM?).
Hi Andy,

you can try this program to see if you can identfy the ROM by it's commands.
Press any key to see the next screen.

Greetings
Kees

Code: Select all

10 P.$12
20 F.I=1 TO 4095
30  D=I?#A000
40  IF D<32 OR D>122;P.".";G.60
50  P.$D
60  IF I%500=0;LI.#FFE3;P.$12
70 N.
80 END
Thanks Kees, just finishing the 5V conversion and will try this a.s.a.p. In the meantime here's a picture of the board for expert perusal :)
Atom2 (1).jpg

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6247
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by CMcDougall » Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:00 pm

^3mb pic :shock: , and it ain't clear [-( LOL
oss003 wrote:do you mean something like this?
giving a go now Kees, Thanks! Col.
ImageImageImage

AndyGarton
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by AndyGarton » Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:10 pm

oss003 wrote:
AndyGarton wrote:My newly acquired "unexpanded" Atom in fact has its full quota of RAM chips, an FP ROM and a utility ROM of some description in IC24 (with LK3 already closed). Is there a way I can identify what the utility ROM is please? It's a fairly anonymous chip with a green sticker on it (does this make it an EPROM?).
Hi Andy,

you can try this program to see if you can identfy the ROM by it's commands.
Press any key to see the next screen.

Greetings
Kees

Code: Select all

10 P.$12
20 F.I=1 TO 4095
30  D=I?#A000
40  IF D<32 OR D>122;P.".";G.60
50  P.$D
60  IF I%500=0;LI.#FFE3;P.$12
70 N.
80 END
Strings: "OLD TEXT", "EDIT TEXT", "PRESS COPY", "PRESS SPACE"

... mean anything to anybody?

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 7515
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by hoglet » Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:28 pm

At a guess, that's Acorn Wordpack, but I can check at the weekend when I'm back at home.

Dave

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6247
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by CMcDougall » Thu Jan 16, 2014 11:09 pm

oss003 wrote:Romsave.zip
Here is the images of the eproms in my atom. They have changed from 4k to 5k, but looking at them in Notepad, AtoMMC2 has put the headed on at the start, so could use a hex editor to take off the file name (ROMx) and the load length code to make the original rom again... :?
I did not do AtoMMC2 or ED64, but if you want me to do ED64 to check against the archive,
will do tomorrow :)
Think rom1 must be the floating point, and rom0 the OS but can't see ATOM or PLAY TAPE :-k
Cheers, Col.
Attachments
ROM0os.zip
(1.05 KiB) Downloaded 62 times
ROM1floatingPoint.zip
(1.64 KiB) Downloaded 67 times
ROM2pCharm.zip
(3.57 KiB) Downloaded 69 times
ROM3ase2.zip
MIA?
(3.31 KiB) Downloaded 62 times
ROM4romarBox.zip
(3.17 KiB) Downloaded 63 times
ROM5jBox04.zip
(3.17 KiB) Downloaded 61 times
ROM6gags23.zip
(3.27 KiB) Downloaded 62 times
ImageImageImage

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2780
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by oss003 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:10 am

AndyGarton wrote:Strings: "OLD TEXT", "EDIT TEXT", "PRESS COPY", "PRESS SPACE"

... mean anything to anybody?
Hi Andy,

Yep, definitely looks like the Wordpack ROM.
You can start it by typing EDIT

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2780
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by oss003 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 8:53 am

CMcDougall wrote:Think rom1 must be the floating point, and rom0 the OS but can't see ATOM or PLAY TAPE :-k
Cheers, Col.
Hi Colin,

The AtomOS is at #Cxxx and #Fxxx and the Floating Point at #1xxx so you can't read them with the ROMSAVE program.

ROM0 and ROM1 are looking empty to me, they definitely are no ROMs. IIRC ROM0/1 is RAM on your board.

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
sPhilMainwaring
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:57 pm
Location: Mid Wales
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by sPhilMainwaring » Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:28 pm

Am I correct that we have an image for Word Pack?

I've got the ROM in my real atom (bought 18/8/81 from Acorn) ... if I could get the display to stop rolling I could type in the checksum program for comparison

Did Arcadian ever scan in the manual? Dave (Arcadian) if you see this is the manual the one in my video here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8CYI0AZNFE#t=725

Cheers

Phil

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2780
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by oss003 » Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:50 pm

sPhilMainwaring wrote:Am I correct that we have an image for Word Pack?

I've got the ROM in my real atom (bought 18/8/81 from Acorn) ... if I could get the display to stop rolling I could type in the checksum program for comparison

Did Arcadian ever scan in the manual? Dave (Arcadian) if you see this is the manual the one in my video here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8CYI0AZNFE#t=725

Cheers

Phil
Hi Phil,

yes, there is an image of the Wordpack ROM in the Atom Software Archive.
Hoglet collected manuals of ROMs and published them here:

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id= ... sp=sharing

You can check if the Wordpack manual is the original.

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 7515
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by hoglet » Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:53 pm

Hi Phil,
sPhilMainwaring wrote: Am I correct that we have an image for Word Pack?
Yes:
https://github.com/hoglet67/AtomSoftwar ... ACORN/WORD
With checksum B326
sPhilMainwaring wrote: I've got the ROM in my real atom (bought 18/8/81 from Acorn) ... if I could get the display to stop rolling I could type in the checksum program for comparison
It would be interesting to see if it is the same version.
sPhilMainwaring wrote: Did Arcadian ever scan in the manual? Dave (Arcadian) if you see this is the manual the one in my video here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8CYI0AZNFE#t=725
Yes he did, and it's available here:
http://tinyurl.com/atomroms

Dave

User avatar
Pernod
Posts: 1300
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 10:01 pm
Location: Croydon, UK
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by Pernod » Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:20 pm

hoglet wrote:
Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:19 pm
Here's a quick update on the missing ROMs:

GDOS - Gerrit Hillebrand (found on Kees's disks)
Sorry to bring back an old thread, but I'm not convinced this is the original GDOS. It looks more like the patched version that's intended for use with the Z80 board. It doesn't match the source code for GDOS 1.5. All photos of the GDOS board show a GDOS 1.66 that's also MIA, anyone have either of them?

The Z80 had a 16K ROM that the Z80 booted from, anyone have one, is it available anywhere?
- Nigel

BBC Model B, ATPL Sidewise, Acorn Speech, 2xWatford Floppy Drives, AMX Mouse, Viglen case, BeebZIF, etc.

User avatar
roland
Posts: 2936
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by roland » Mon Sep 03, 2018 9:37 pm

Imho Multiwizard should have a copy of the Z80 rom or he can get one from our Dutch Atom user Theo W. If wim does not respond here, just send him a pm.
Last edited by roland on Mon Sep 03, 2018 9:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1397
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by Multiwizard » Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:01 am

roland wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 9:37 pm
Imho Multiwizard should have a copy of the Z80 rom or he can get one from our Dutch Atom user Theo W. If wim does not respond here, just send him a pm.
Hi,

is it about this rom? (see pic)


Greetings, Wim... :-)
Attachments
12185589_10205307586625432_6606105039963512788_o.jpg

User avatar
Pernod
Posts: 1300
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 10:01 pm
Location: Croydon, UK
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by Pernod » Tue Sep 04, 2018 9:43 am

Multiwizard wrote:
Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:01 am
is it about this rom? (see pic)
Nice, that's the one :)
- Nigel

BBC Model B, ATPL Sidewise, Acorn Speech, 2xWatford Floppy Drives, AMX Mouse, Viglen case, BeebZIF, etc.

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1397
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by Multiwizard » Tue Sep 04, 2018 10:31 am

Pernod wrote:
Tue Sep 04, 2018 9:43 am
Multiwizard wrote:
Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:01 am
is it about this rom? (see pic)
Nice, that's the one :)
Ok, I wil pm Theo W. about it and ask him for the image file.


Greetings, Wim... :-)

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 7515
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by hoglet » Tue Sep 04, 2018 1:30 pm

Pernod wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:20 pm
All photos of the GDOS board show a GDOS 1.66 that's also MIA, anyone have either of them?
There is mention of GDOS 1.66 in this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=44&t=7308

Maybe John (jms2) could be image the ROM?

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1397
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn Atom Utility ROMs

Post by Multiwizard » Sat Sep 08, 2018 11:46 am

Hi,

today I received the CP/M Z80 rom from Theo W. (see pic)

I did read it out in my old prommer and zipped the file... :D



Greetings, Wim... :-)
Attachments
P1260590.JPG
Z80.rar
(9.82 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

Post Reply