Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

discussion of games, software, hardware & emulators relating to the Acorn Atom and Acorn System machines.
Post Reply
iainjh
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 11:18 am
Contact:

Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by iainjh » Sat Sep 28, 2013 8:50 pm

Hi

I bought an atom from Roland (thx again) rather than ask him too many questions and therefore risk keeping all the answers to myself, thought I'd share some pr0n pics and ask the group.

1st of all, with a 5v powered issue 5 atom can I have a bbc basic board, colour card and a RTC board all fitted at once. I think its a yes but confirmation would be helpful :)

PSU, 5v 2a with all that fitted - is that enough?

anyone please have a guide to fitting the rtc and the colour card?
rtc.JPG

the board has a few custom roms (forgive my drawn on highlight) inc:

p charm (anyone please have a pdf /faq or manual?)

one marked fp 1000 (assume a modded(?) Fp rom) ??

one marked C+F Rom crc 3348 dated I think 24 8 84 (what is that rom?)
left.JPG

the board has a digital joystick port added (any usage guide, welcomed!)

and theres a few orange/blue/grey wires from the power socket to the far left of the board (why this mod?)
top.JPG

Roland's kindly given me a couple of 32k 62256's. The board already has a (video ram?) card on the right side, what does that provide and what ram does the board have at present?

Roland said he'd look for a guide but as I didnt find much under my own steam seemed a good idea to ask/share here -how to use a 62256 in an atom?
right.JPG
Lastly will the colour and bbc basic work with these roms too?

thanks in advance for any spurge of guidance, docs, any links etc :)

User avatar
roland
Posts: 3421
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by roland » Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:12 pm

Hi Iain,

You'll never ask too much :) and we will help you as much as we can!

The rtc is mounted on pl8 at the keyboard side, the same connector where the atommmc is fitted. You can find some sotware on acornatom.nl for it.

P-charm is a dutch extension rom with powerfull extensions such as functons and procedures. The English manual is at http://acornatom.nl/atom_handleidingen/ ... .html#0001


The fp rom is modified to look for additional extensions at #1000 in addition to #A000. This makes automatic rom switching possible, so all extension roms at #A000 can be used in a single basic program.

The video ram is completely replaced by a 6264 to save energy and it gives additional ram from 9800 - 9FFF as it is 8 kB and only 6 kB is used for video. This is compatible with bbc basic and colour board.

The fp rom, p-charm and modified os rom won't work wit bbc basic but that is not necessary as most functions and statements have native bbc equivalents.

Regarding the 62256, I have found a schematic diagram for a ram/rom board that is fitted on the internal expansion connector. Unfortunately the documentation is in dutch. You can find it on http://acornatom.nl/atom_nieuws/1991/nr1/19911038.htm I even have a pcb that I can send to you. I found it too late otherwise I would have enclosed it in the box.

The digital joystick is connected to the keyboard matrix and is in parallelwith the keys Q G - and 3. These are read from port #b001. No special drivers needed.

Hope this helps you...

Greetings,
Roland
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 8581
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by hoglet » Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:25 pm

Iain,

It looks like you have just 1K out of the 6K lower text space populated (2x 2114 RAM chips)

The video RAM I would guess is a 8K static RAM chip (#8000-#9FFF)

There are several colour boards for the Atom - do you have a particular one in mind? I think Phill might be working on a new one.

I think the most useful extension you can have is Charlie's AtomMMC board that connects to PL8 (so would conflict with the RTC).

Dave

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 8581
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by hoglet » Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:30 pm

And the second most useful extension is Phill's 32K RAMROM board.

And the this is some kind of colour card.

Like Roland says, I don't think I would bother with the BBC Basic. Plus, if you had the 32K RAMROM board, it might be possible to load a version into RAM. I vaguely remember someone talking about having done this, but I might be imagining this.

It's great to see all these new Atom owners!

Dave

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 8581
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by hoglet » Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:43 pm

Just to confirm, an NEC D4364C-15 is a 8Kx8 Static RAM.

Dave

User avatar
roland
Posts: 3421
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by roland » Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:06 pm

You're right, it's a 4364. Luckily it's compatible wih the 6264.

I loaded a recated version of bbc basic into ram and ran a new mosrom on my Atom-in-pc board. The basic was loaded a #C000 and the mosrom at #1000. Leaving 2000 - 7FFF for basic programs.

Greetings,
Roland
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 8581
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by hoglet » Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:07 am

roland wrote:I loaded a recated version of bbc basic into ram and ran a new mosrom on my Atom-in-pc board. The basic was loaded a #C000 and the mosrom at #1000. Leaving 2000 - 7FFF for basic programs.
Interesting idea. I hadn't thought of doing it this way.

The thread I was remembering was this one:
http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/viewto ... f=2&t=6387

For those with a 32K RAM Atom, it might be possible to do a "poor man's" software only BBC basic. The idea would be to both:
1) Relocate BBC Basic to #4000-#7FFF
2) Shim the OS calls it does use to do something sensible on the Atom

I did (2) when porting the BBC Level 9 Adventures to the Atom, though it was somewhat easier because there were only about 4 calls.

It would be nice not to chew up so much Ram, but I can't think of a sensible way to split this across four roms and page them in/out as required.

Dave

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 8581
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by hoglet » Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:34 am

Regarding MIA ROMS, there is a good list of known Atom ROMs here:

http://www.atomclub.nl/software/ROMS.html

PCHARM is well known, but the other two look to be customized versions of the standard OS, BASIC and FP ROMS. Might be interesting to upload these, and compare them with the originals.

The wires from the power socket are probably just trying to provide a lower resistance path for power to get to the DIN Extension socket, to reduce voltage drop when you have cards that draw significant power.

Dave

iainjh
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by iainjh » Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:14 am

Thanks all, and Roland :)

I have an acorn colour card too.

In my other atom I have Charlie's and Phil's boards so that onei is ramrom'ed and mmc'ed. This one is a bit more old school. I don't think I have many 2114's and they are already suspect so Roland I'll pm you :)

Cheers for links!
Last edited by iainjh on Sun Sep 29, 2013 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
roland
Posts: 3421
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by roland » Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:22 am

hoglet wrote:
PCHARM is well known, but the other two look to be customized versions of the standard OS, BASIC and FP ROMS. Might be interesting to upload these, and compare them with the originals.

Dave
Mostly we made modifications in the reset routine at #FF3F to invoke DOS after a reset and initialize other software. That's also why many dutch Atoms display only ATOM instead of ACORN ATOM. We needed the bytes...

Greetings,
Roland
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6823
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by CMcDougall » Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:39 pm

iainjh wrote:anyone please have a guide to fitting the rtc
just thought I would have a look at the other side of mine, luckily I did :shock:
so, it goes in PL8, and the fly (red/black) wires go to two 1.5v AA battery's (which mine are Very rusty, thankfully wrapped in paper \:D/ )
so, some pics on keyboard side :
Image
and with it in :
Image
what does it do :-s (going to have lots of manuals to read over the next few weeks, as a month was Not enough! #-o )

one question from me, for to feed mine 5v, if I have to take out the old socket (can't find a plug to fit), can you/anyone confirm that the outside of plug is 0/neg and the inside +5v (the rest of known plugs to me are)
ImageImageImage

User avatar
richardtoohey
Posts: 3717
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:13 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by richardtoohey » Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:41 pm

Never mind all that, have you worked out where to fit ADFS, Col? :twisted: :lol:

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6823
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by CMcDougall » Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:46 pm

:lol: no Richard 8) , it seems clever people back then used decent filing systems, that were so good that they put them in the next 'thing' proton/beeb =D>
ImageImageImage

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 7559
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by danielj » Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:48 pm

Col - probably a real time clock board. :)

d.

iainjh
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by iainjh » Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:53 pm

Hi

thanks for the pics.

re the psu, no need to take off the original socket.

"Maplin DC Power Plug 2.5mm / 5.0mm. Code: L49AY" fits. cant recall if centre positive from here, sorry (or the jumpers)

(I actually made up a short cable with maplin plug one end, socket the other and a switch in centre in order to save the fragile on-board socket on mine)

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 3105
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by oss003 » Sun Sep 29, 2013 7:55 pm

Hi Colin,

this board was called "Big Benny" in Holland and it is a real time clock.

The schematic can be found at:
http://www.acornatom.nl/hardware/bigben/rtc.html

Some code can be found at:
http://www.acornatom.nl/atom_nieuws/198 ... 834046.gif

Code: Select all

Some comment to the code:

A=#40, set time
A=#80, read time
X=#50, access time
X=#80, access date
X=#60, access weekday
$#140, stringbuffer

Examples:
To set time:  A=#40;X=#50;$#140="09:30";LINK#2800
To read time: A=#80;X=#50;LINK#2800;P.$#140
Greetings
Kees

iainjh
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by iainjh » Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:42 pm

Kees, do I read this correctly - as my big benny RTC doesnt have R16, if I wire up a 2x AA battery holder, then it'll work.

is that correct?

thanks for the link!

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6823
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by CMcDougall » Sun Sep 29, 2013 9:13 pm

thanks for the info folks, will get my boss's husband to order me the correct plug tomorrow and may get same day \:D/

just took a pic of other side of my 'Big Benny'/RealTimeClock and no R16 in mine, and don't use Duracell, seem they Don't go on and on and on ....... in the bin (board saved Just in time!).
will need a link on one bottom, to make 3v :)
Image
ImageImageImage

User avatar
roland
Posts: 3421
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by roland » Sun Sep 29, 2013 9:20 pm

Hi Iain,

>> R16 moet worden weggelaten als er geen oplaadbare accu wordt gebruikt.

Means: R16 should be left out if you do not use rechargeable batteries. So you can use normal batteries.

I never noticed before that big benny needed the batteries to run, even when the atom is powered on. But if the batteries and r16 are removed, the 5832 gets no power as the bc557 will not be "opened"....

Greetings,
Roland
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
roland
Posts: 3421
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Atom - identifying a few boards/ mods

Post by roland » Sun Sep 29, 2013 9:25 pm

CMcDougall wrote:and don't use Duracell, seem they Don't go on and on and on .......
I wonder how I would look after 20 years or more being locked up in an Atom :wink:
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:

Post Reply