Atomic Galaforce

discussion of games, software, hardware & emulators relating to the Acorn Atom and Acorn System machines.
Post Reply
User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2977
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Atomic Galaforce

Post by oss003 » Thu Sep 29, 2011 8:01 pm

Hi guys,

in June I had the opportunity to go to Manchester to visit the 'In Da 80's' event. I met some other Acorn enthusiastics and had the chance to talk to Kevin Edwards. Kevin did work for Superior Software back in the 80's and he is the writer of Crazee Rider and Galaforce. We talked about how he programmed Galaforce and what techniques he used. After a little pushing of Dave M., he agreed to send the original source files of Galaforce to Dave. This was very interesting because I already converted a few BBC games to the Acorn Atom including Chucky Egg.
After Dave send me the source files I started a brave attempt to convert Galaforce to the Atom. For those who are interested to see the result, I've setup a development diary where you can read how the game works.

http://www.retrosoftware.co.uk/wiki/ind ... omDevDiary

There's also a video to show the Atom game.

Greetings
Kees van Oss

User avatar
davidb
Posts: 2405
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Atomic Galaforce

Post by davidb » Thu Sep 29, 2011 9:37 pm

It looks very impressive! It's surprising for me to see what the Atom was capable of compared to some of the later machines - especially the Electron. I think it's a nice tribute to the machine that you are showing off its capabilities with ports of games that would never have been considered commercially (or technically) viable by their original publishers. :)

One question, though: why is the game's background colour blue? Is it a hardware limitation of the Atom?

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2977
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atomic Galaforce

Post by oss003 » Fri Sep 30, 2011 6:49 am

davidb wrote: One question, though: why is the game's background colour blue? Is it a hardware limitation of the Atom?
Yes, choosing colours is no option for the Atom. You can choose between 2 coloursets that's all.
Left side of the picture is set 1 and the right side is set 2.

Greetings
Kees
Attachments
atom-colours.PNG
atom-colours.PNG (2.91 KiB) Viewed 752 times
Last edited by oss003 on Fri Sep 30, 2011 7:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 7263
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Atomic Galaforce

Post by danielj » Fri Sep 30, 2011 7:25 am

I am very impressed. Loving your work there!

d.

User avatar
nOmArch
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 7:27 pm
Location: Gloucestershire
Contact:

Re: Atomic Galaforce

Post by nOmArch » Fri Sep 30, 2011 10:05 am

I see why you went with the blue!
Alex

Back up to 1 Beeb again. \o/

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2977
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atomic Galaforce

Post by oss003 » Fri Sep 30, 2011 11:36 am

It is possible to get a black background .......... switch of your monitor!!

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Post Reply