Atomulator v1.0

discussion of games, software, hardware & emulators relating to the Acorn Atom and Acorn System machines.
Post Reply
User avatar
SarahWalker
Posts: 1206
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 3:56 pm
Contact:

Atomulator v1.0

Post by SarahWalker » Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:43 am

After a long, long, long, incredibly long wait, the first version of Atomulator is available, for Windows and Linux. It features :
  • emulates a 12+16k Atom with colour board, disc pack, and optional BBC BASIC mode.
  • supports six PC formats for Atom software images - disc: .dsk, .ssd, .dsd, .fdi, cassette tape: .uef and .csw
  • sound emulation
  • optionally emulate authentic Atom graphical "snow"
  • built-in 6502 debugger
It's available at http://atomulator.acornatom.co.uk.

User avatar
flibble
Posts: 716
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by flibble » Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:17 pm

Tom, does this now mean you completed the set of acorn hardware emulators ? :)

Well done mate.

User avatar
Samwise
Site Admin
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by Samwise » Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:49 pm

Bravo, Tom. =D>

Another fine accomplishment. Super bonus points for the simultaneous Linux release too. You are a scholar, and a gentleman!

Anyone looking for software to run on it, could do worse than looking at Wouter Scholten's Acorn Atom archive. The disc images can be renamed to .ssd and should work fine.

Sam.
Last edited by Samwise on Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Oops. Wrong Wouter! My apologies.

User avatar
paulv
Posts: 3854
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Leicestershire
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by paulv » Mon Aug 15, 2011 5:28 pm

Never played with an Atom... Now's my chance :D Nice!

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 3121
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by oss003 » Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:41 pm

At last a good, accurate Atom emulator for Windows and Linux.
Of all emulators, this emulator emulates the Atom the best, even with screennoise!

=D> =D> Nice work Tom =D> =D>

Kees

User avatar
jbnbeeb
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by jbnbeeb » Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:25 pm

Thanks for the emulator! I'm glad I read the readme.txt .. I've never used a real Atom.. saw one for the first time at the Vintage computer exhibition at Bletchley last year. .. didn't realise it was so slow to respond to key presses... must've made typing in code a real PITA

I wouldn't mind owning a real one one day.. and to get to know it's hardware and see the ideas that were taken to the Beeb ..seems like the Acorn DFS that made it to Beeb was in action on the Atom?
I had a great time at...
ABUG Cambridge Sept 20-22nd 2019
Image

User avatar
Samwise
Site Admin
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by Samwise » Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:40 pm

OK, to celebrate the launch of the last in Tom's now complete family of Acorn emulators, we've launched a new port of one of Tom's earliest games, Jet Set Miner to the Acorn Atom:

http://www.retrosoftware.co.uk/jetsetminer#Atom

This new port is by Kees van Oss and is complete with an all-new level editor and full GPL source code.

Please check it out with Atomulator and leave your feedback in the Jet Set Miner forum over at RS.

Hopefully that will whet your appetites in time for some of the stuff we're hoping to release later this year at Replay!

Enjoy!

Sam.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6855
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by CMcDougall » Wed Aug 17, 2011 1:08 pm

well done Tom, good work as usual! =D>

the old version that i had seems not to work anymore on WinXP3 :(

so... =D>

PS old ver was ere http://www.stairwaytohell.com/atom/wouterras/
and some tape/images too!! 8)
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Samwise
Site Admin
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by Samwise » Wed Aug 17, 2011 1:39 pm

Colin, that's an entirely different decade-old DOS emulator by Wouter Ras. It still works great but must now be run through DOSBox or similar as a modern Windows system has evolved somewhat, as you found out.

Most of the images on that page are .Tap files, which will not work with Atomulator. I suspect only the DemoDisk.Dsk and Poker.Dsk disc images on that page will work with Tom's emulator.

There are many more suitable disc images available on Wouter Scholten's site that I linked to earlier in the topic.

Sam.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6855
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by CMcDougall » Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:07 pm

^^it does still work Pete, u minded to go to Start-Run-'cmd' and it works a little!
I could not get any tape images to work on it, even the upload from Fraser recently for Atomstore :?

stuff it, Tom's 'Jet set willy' disc's work =D>

PS dosBox is only usefull for my old 286PC games like Xenon2 and Commander keen :shock:
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Samwise
Site Admin
Posts: 1820
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by Samwise » Fri Aug 19, 2011 2:59 pm

I'd strongly recommend using DOSBox, if you want to use Wouter's emu - it simply wasn't designed to run on a Windows OS, let alone something like a modern 64-bit PC.

Atomstore certainly won't work with Wouter's emulator because it only supports the older formats like .tap, .dsk, .atm.

Atomulator is the only emulator that I know will run a .csw or .uef tape image (MESS claims to support UEFs, but in practice I haven't been able to get this to work).

If you really want to try Atomstore with an alternative emulator, you could try the UEF in MESS and if it doesn't work, convert Fraser's .flac image to a .wav and try that in MESS instead. I've had more success with MESS's .wav support.

Sam.

jimmy
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by jimmy » Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:43 pm

The emulator does look good, but I'm not having much luck loading in tapes. :(
Whilst trying to get it working I came across one bug (on Windows platform) :
  • Insert any tape file
  • Type in LOAD "" and press <RETURN>
  • Select Tape -> Eject Tape
  • Press <RETURN> again (at 'Play tape' message)
  • Crash!

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6855
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by CMcDougall » Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:19 pm

^^ I don't get that on my PC Jimmy :? what OS are you on?

I still use winXP SP3 and works fine.

I got it working with:
Tape speed- Fast
Tape load -'file'
Tape rewind
Show tape index (shows files that are there)
and off it went! :D
ImageImageImage

jimmy
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by jimmy » Sat Sep 10, 2011 5:25 pm

CMcDougall - various flavours of NT, but mainly Vista (yuk!)

I think I know what's happening now. I tried Atomulator on another box and it didn't crash. When I then ran the program under WinDbg I could see it causing exceptions, but these were being ignored.

The machine I normally use (for coding) has various global debug flags set and one of them is to check for heap corruption. What I was seeing was Windows stopping as it realised Atomulator had corrupted its heap (or sent bad heap details to Windows API calls).

A great tool for this is "Application Verifier" (a free download from MS website). This effectively turns on various debug flags for you and runs several tests against a program of your choice.

When I select "Eject tape" when LOAD"" is active in Atomulator I get the heap warning (and a tell-tale sign of one of the parameters being address=00000000). From looking quickly at the stack trace I can't be sure if this is an Allegro fault or an Atomulator fault. I'm not very good with C coding I'm afraid.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6855
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Atomulator v1.0

Post by CMcDougall » Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:39 pm

jimmy wrote:various flavours of NT, but mainly Vista (yuk!).
It's life Jim, but not as we know it! :lol:

There's your problem right there 'Vista', Absolute sh!t. It lasted 1 day on my 'new' desktop, then put XP on it, ran 20x faster! and all my programs worked =D>

Not tried it on my other new PC with win7 on it...yet #-o
ImageImageImage

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 3121
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Bug in Atomulator v1.0

Post by oss003 » Sun Jan 08, 2012 12:22 pm

Hi Tom,

I think I found a bug in Atomulator, screen output/display is not correct.
When I draw a line in CLEAR4 from 0,0 to 191,191, this is what Atomulator displays:

Bottom left from 0,0 to 15,15:
atomulatr-lo.PNG
atomulatr-lo.PNG (772 Bytes) Viewed 1556 times
Top right from 176,176 to 191,191:
atomulatr-rb.PNG
atomulatr-rb.PNG (888 Bytes) Viewed 1556 times
Both ends should look like this:
atomulatr-ok.PNG
atomulatr-ok.PNG (863 Bytes) Viewed 1556 times
It looks like a line 0 is not displayed and a line 191 is double displayed.

Greetings
Kees

Post Reply