Acorn System Computers Website

emulators, hardware and classic software for atom + system machines
Post Reply
ChrisO
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Northampton
Contact:

Acorn System Computers Website

Post by ChrisO »

As promised my Acorn System Computers Website has undergone a refresh over the last couple of months and has now been updated, enjoy !

Please let me know if you spot any errors or omissions.

Chris
User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 9941
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Acorn System Computers Website

Post by hoglet »

Are you referring to this site?
http://theoddys.com/acorn/index.html
ChrisO
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Northampton
Contact:

Re: Acorn System Computers Website

Post by ChrisO »

Of course, silly me missed off the link !
User avatar
roland
Posts: 4254
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Acorn System Computers Website

Post by roland »

Is the Atom FDC in this picture a clone that you made? I never saw this one before, it has a 6116 RAM chip.
Atom Riser Card (installed).JPG
FPGAtom: 512 KB RAM, Real Time Clock and 64 colours
MAN WOMAN :shock:
User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 9941
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Acorn System Computers Website

Post by hoglet »

roland wrote:
Fri Dec 04, 2020 6:23 pm
Is the Atom FDC in this picture a clone that you made? I never saw this one before, it has a 6116 RAM chip.
If it's a clone, it's the most authentic looking clone I've ever seen!
ChrisO
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Northampton
Contact:

Re: Acorn System Computers Website

Post by ChrisO »

Its not an Acorn board and has no markings so I don't know where it originated from. I havn't got around to trying it out yet, its on my (long) list of things to do. It just happened to be with other Atom stuff when I took the photo !
bprosman
Posts: 457
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 11:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn System Computers Website

Post by bprosman »

hoglet wrote:
Fri Dec 04, 2020 6:43 pm
roland wrote:
Fri Dec 04, 2020 6:23 pm
Is the Atom FDC in this picture a clone that you made? I never saw this one before, it has a 6116 RAM chip.
If it's a clone, it's the most authentic looking clone I've ever seen!
The original Atom board indeed had 2114 RAMS's on the boards I have seen
Unfortunately its lacking the 8271
User avatar
IanB
Posts: 696
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 8:28 pm
Location: South Wales
Contact:

Re: Acorn System Computers Website

Post by IanB »

ChrisO wrote:
Fri Dec 04, 2020 11:19 am
As promised my Acorn System Computers Website has undergone a refresh over the last couple of months and has now been updated, enjoy !
Nice collection of reproduction boards.

I see you've also built an MK14. I have an original unbuilt MK14 VDU kit so I could do some hires scans of the board if you ever want to try doing a reproduction of that.

mk14vdu.jpg
ChrisO
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Northampton
Contact:

Re: Acorn System Computers Website

Post by ChrisO »

Hi Ian

The Mk14 is interesting historically because it led to the creation of Acorn, building a replica was a just a bit of fun. I' don't think I'll be doing any actual programming on it, I'm not familiar with the code and anyway I'm too used to a proper keyboard and display ! I'm very unlikely to build a VDU for it, it requires a bit of a bodgy mod to the Mk14 as well. However if you would like to take some good photos of the board I'm happy to put them on the site for others to use. (I'll add your photo of the kit)

regards
Chris
DaveBurke
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 9:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn System Computers Website

Post by DaveBurke »

Was having a random click around and hit a Not Found here:
http://theoddys.com/acorn/Acorn%20Syste ... %20Map.pdf

Linked from this page:
http://theoddys.com/acorn/Acorn%20Syste ... /mk14.html

Edit: The VDU schematic and PROM blower links don't seem to work either.
ChrisO
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Northampton
Contact:

Re: Acorn System Computers Website

Post by ChrisO »

Thanks for spotting those Dave. I use Microsoft Expression which has a Hyperlinks report which should catch broken links but it doesn't seem to be able to tell the difference betwwen upper and lower case ! In places I accidently used MK14 instead of Mk14 and it doesn't spot it ! (also Prom and PROM)

Should be fixed now.

Chris
User avatar
roland
Posts: 4254
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Acorn System Computers Website

Post by roland »

If you're maintaining your website on a windows computer with MS Expression then the file system is not case-sensitive. After uploading it to a Linux or other Unix-like webserver, the file system is case sensitive. So Expression will detect a file with Mk14 in the name but on Linux/Unix MK14 and Mk14 are different files.
FPGAtom: 512 KB RAM, Real Time Clock and 64 colours
MAN WOMAN :shock:
ChrisO
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:40 pm
Location: Northampton
Contact:

Re: Acorn System Computers Website

Post by ChrisO »

Exactly it all works fine on the windows PC but breaks when transferred to TSOhost who presumably use a Linux platform.
Post Reply

Return to “acorn atom and acorn system series”