Atom Hardware Advice Needed

discussion of games, software, hardware & emulators relating to the Acorn Atom and Acorn System machines.
AndyGarton

Atom Hardware Advice Needed

Post by AndyGarton » Thu Aug 30, 2018 9:15 am

Hi all,

Disclaimer first: I'm a programmer, and have very little electronics/hardware knowledge, so am basically fumbling around in the dark!

My Atom is having intermittent problems, in that it often won't turn on or function properly. The display will show corruption (incorrect characters), or nothing, and simple commands won't work properly. Sometimes the keyboard won't work, apart from the break key. Sometimes the Atom MMC device isn't seen. These problems seems to happen more once the system warms up, but I'm not 100% sure on that.

I took it apart and re-seated all the chips, and that actually seems to have "fixed" it for now, I've done a few restarts, and left a "print Andy, goto 10" program running for an hour, and everything has been ok. However, I suspect that won't last long, and in any case I spotted some potential issues on the board that I'd like an expert opinion on if possible.

The first photo shows the back of the board, around the power input area - the soldering looks dodgy (and corroded?) in places (I think where the power socket is mounted), plus it looks like it has overheated at some point (that metal thing (some kind of heat sink?) is running cool now though, I checked). Should I attempt to re-solder the bad parts (I'm terrible at soldering, but willing to give it a go)? Is the "burned" area something to worry about?

The second photo shows a white substance which has possibly leaked onto the metal bracket, or perhaps it's some kind of glue/sealant? I'd already attempted to wipe it away a bit when I took this photo. Is this normal? If not, what could/should I do about it?