Atom roms and add on boards

discussion of games, software, hardware & emulators relating to the Acorn Atom and Acorn System machines.
Post Reply
Telemedic
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:35 pm
Contact:

Atom roms and add on boards

Post by Telemedic » Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:53 pm

28944CF5-EAB1-4059-9F35-66B427B1046F.png
Main pcbs
Hi I am waiting delivery of my atom. It has extra boards for rom an ram. Any ideas on what the extra roms are?

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 7694
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by hoglet » Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:01 pm

Is it this one?
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Acorn-Atom-B ... 2804421883

The ROMS look like:
- Ross software utils
- Disatom

Manuals can be found here:
http://tinyurl.com/atomroms

If it is that Atom, you can a Missing in Action tape there: Kamikazi

It would be awesome if you could make a .wav file copy of it.

Dave

Telemedic
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by Telemedic » Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:11 pm

Yes it is that one. Tell me honestly, have I done ok?

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1419
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by Multiwizard » Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:20 pm

Telemedic wrote:Yes it is that one. Tell me honestly, have I done ok?
It's a Atom, so it's always ok... 8)


Greetings, Wim... :-)

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 7694
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by hoglet » Sat Jan 27, 2018 11:33 pm

Telemedic wrote:Yes it is that one. Tell me honestly, have I done ok?
Yes, indeed you have.

I nearly bought this myself, and I already have three Atoms!

Telemedic
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by Telemedic » Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:12 pm

Anyone have any info on the ram board? Looks like it has 4164’s but from looking at the support chip, it can deal with only 16k. Anyone shed some light?

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2797
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by oss003 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:46 pm

It's an Audio Computers 32/64KB RAM board, you can find some info here:

http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... 4KRAM.html
http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/viewto ... 44&t=10875

and the manual here: http://www.acornatom.nl/hardware/64k/64khand.html

Greetings
Kees

Telemedic
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by Telemedic » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:38 pm

Ooo I’m not wrong then. I kind of expected 16k. Must be interesting addressing 64k on an atom!

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2797
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by oss003 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:59 pm

Telemedic wrote:Ooo I’m not wrong then. I kind of expected 16k. Must be interesting addressing 64k on an atom!
Probably in 2 blocks of 32KB without zeropage (#0400-#7FFF)

Greetings
Kees

Telemedic
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by Telemedic » Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:15 pm

Sounds about right 1024 to 32767. I believe screen ram is at 32768. That’s convenient.

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 8102
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by 1024MAK » Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:10 pm

There are two types of 64k x 1 bit DRAM chips. The first type uses 256 cycle (8 bit) refresh. The second type uses 128 cycle (7 bit) refresh. This later type is compatible with systems that were originally designed for 16k x 1 bit DRAM chips, like the Z80 CPU and the MC3242AP chip.

Mark

Telemedic
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by Telemedic » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:59 pm

Thanks for The info, my understanding of dynamic ram is minimal. I’m an sram man myself, I can understand how that works!

Telemedic
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by Telemedic » Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:01 pm

Actually this has answered a questions I had about son inmos ims2600 ram I have that works in nothing I own! Thankyou!

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2797
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by oss003 » Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:23 pm

Tony,

did you try the tape with the Kamikazi program?
It's an unknown program in the Acorn Atom Archive, so would be nice if we could add this to the archive ...... :wink:

Did you also try to get the ROSS and Disatom roms working?

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6352
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by CMcDougall » Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:38 pm

Have asked for a copy on FB, so [-o<
27749970_10155461615013175_6116433728360425774_n.jpeg
Media
his atom is not talking to tapes at moment, Op Amp may be...
ImageImageImage

Telemedic
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Atom roms and add on boards

Post by Telemedic » Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:27 am

Hi. Yes I got the roms working :) but it’s not listening to the cassette as yet. I’m trying to use a bbc tape lead, as that is something that was missing. I am going to audio record the kamikazi game into my pc as soon as I can, and replace the op amp. As soon as I do, and can get it listening, I will post pics, and upload the wav file of the tape.

Post Reply