Page 1 of 1

Saving Programmes on ATOM - current thinking - AtoMMC?

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:39 am
by ghostrider
Hi All

Having successfully got my Atom rebooted after ~32 years in the box I've started to dabble with some programming.

In the old days I remember lots of messing around with cassette recorders, DIN plugs and volume levels - I am assuming that things have progressed since the mid-80s!

So can the guru's recommend what I should do to enable me to write than save/load programmes in a reliable and effective way? I've seen several references to AtoMMC board by sirmorris - is this what I need?

My soldering skills are somewhat limited so it has to be simple to fit.

Sorry if this is an idiot question but I've not been near the Atom for over 30 years.......Any advice gratefully received!

Cheers

Gary

Re: Saving Programmes on ATOM - current thinking - AtoMMC?

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 12:05 pm
by roland
Hi Gary,

Yes, the AtoMMC is what you need. sirMorris sells these as complete kit so no soldering is required. You need a ROM at #Axxx or #Exxx. If you want to enjoy your Atom to the max I also advise a good ramrom board.

Greetings, Roland

Re: Saving Programmes on ATOM - current thinking - AtoMMC?

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 1:18 pm
by CMcDougall
Can just use a laptop to record to .WAV file, try a little prog first, then load it back in, if all is well, can type in big progs!

The problem BITD ~1981, people used rubbish blank tapes /mono players, so very unreliable due to price, but in the long run Only use TDK D tapes, as all my stuff still loads perfectly 8)

Re: Saving Programmes on ATOM - current thinking - AtoMMC?

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:01 pm
by IanS
roland wrote:Yes, the AtoMMC is what you need. sirMorris sells these as complete kit so no soldering is required.
You may need to solder in a header for PL8 (where the AtoMMC connects to the Atom PCB).

Re: Saving Programmes on ATOM - current thinking - AtoMMC?

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:38 pm
by roland
Technically speaking you are right but I have never seen an Atom without this connector. But yes, the connector can be lacking or even worse, mounted at the component side of the board.

Re: Saving Programmes on ATOM - current thinking - AtoMMC?

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:50 pm
by hoglet
PL8 is fitted in the right place:
http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/viewto ... 93#p187293

Dave

Re: Saving Programmes on ATOM - current thinking - AtoMMC?

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 3:54 pm
by roland
I knew it :lol:

Re: Saving Programmes on ATOM - current thinking - AtoMMC?

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 8:33 pm
by ghostrider
Thanks All

So sounds like I need to wait for sirmorris to pitch up and offer me his wares........

Roland - what do you mean by "you need a ROM at #Axxx or #Exxx"? I only have the original ROM fitted (no FP or other aftermarket ROMs), do I need to buy something else and if so any suggestions as to where to get it from?

Thanks again

Gary

Re: Saving Programmes on ATOM - current thinking - AtoMMC?

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:15 pm
by roland
The AtoMMC is just the hardware to read and write the memory card. You also need a rom that has the software to communicate with the controller on the AtoMMC board. You can compare it with the DOS rom.

It is not that hard to get your Atom equipped. You just need a 2532 eprom with the AtoMMC rom in it. You can fit that in socket 24. You might solder a small link to have the rom automatically enabled afterva reset. And if you're getting that eprom, get two of them and install also the fp rom for socket 21.

I might be able to help you to get programmed eproms if you need some help.

There is a bit related reading at viewtopic.php?f=44&t=14098#p187478

Re: Saving Programmes on ATOM - current thinking - AtoMMC?

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:59 pm
by ghostrider
Hi Roland

Thanks for all the info

I can confirm PL8 is there and ICs 21 and 24 are empty

Any help you can give sourcing the necessary programmed eproms would be much appreciated?

Thanks again

Gary

PS I'm based in London

Re: Saving Programmes on ATOM - current thinking - AtoMMC?

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 5:01 pm
by danielj
roland wrote:Technically speaking you are right but I have never seen an Atom without this connector. But yes, the connector can be lacking or even worse, mounted at the component side of the board.
Mine needed PL8 fitting! :)

Gary, when you order an AtomMMC from Charlie, he'll also send you an eprom with it :)

d.

Re: Saving Programmes on ATOM - current thinking - AtoMMC?

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:02 pm
by martinw
A couple of the best things I've seen on my Atom :)
Atom MMC.jpg
Courtesy of AtoMMC
Atom RAM ROM.jpg
Martin