Post pictures of your beeb setup

on-topic Acorn-related news and discussions not covered by the other forums
User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6093
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by CMcDougall » Sat Dec 12, 2015 11:29 pm

mine tonight. using magic UPURS to archive MIA discs 8)
setup1.jpg
the most action that bed has ever seen.... :lol:
ImageImageImage

duikkie
Posts: 2870
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by duikkie » Thu Dec 17, 2015 6:03 pm

because i must see the chips , the cover is always off
Attachments
usb-stick.JPG

User avatar
Wookie
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Lost in a fog of PSU capacitor smoke
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by Wookie » Thu Dec 17, 2015 6:53 pm

duikkie wrote:because i must see the chips , the cover is always off
Hmm, Lets see...
1) beeb with cover off, CHECK.
2) a reel of solder on standby, CHECK.
3) a multimeter nearby, CHECK.
4) pile of paper with notes scribbled on, CHECK.
5) some homemade circuit attached to beeb, CHECK.

:lol:

I will post a picture one day of my setup, but it's basically the same.
cheers Wookie
Overclocked StrongARM RiscPC + Viewfinder
Overclocked Arm3 8MB A310 + vidc extender
BBC Master with Matchbox CoPro
BBC B+ 64K
My original Electron from 1985 with Slogger MasterRam/Turbo,AP1,AP2 rom, AP3+4 & New AP6

duikkie
Posts: 2870
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by duikkie » Thu Dec 17, 2015 7:29 pm

on the right corner , the mistery young days that are gone :?
duikkie wrote:because i must see the chips , the cover is always off

User avatar
Pablos544
Posts: 328
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:25 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by Pablos544 » Sat Dec 19, 2015 5:31 pm

Hi All.

Been stuck for a while. Not sure what to about things. (*) good news!! Just got my new BBC today

Here's a pics. of The 'rocket' sample program in the User Guide, modified a little to give colours. The one on the right is the one on the screen

I think it's in pretty good condition, so thanks to "robotrox" of e-bay for

* I sort of short circuited a it after doing my "How I met the BBC Micro" video :shock: sorry, not meaning to be unfriendly guys :roll: hopefully this will help the situation a bit
Attachments
IMG_1133.JPG

User avatar
Pablos544
Posts: 328
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:25 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by Pablos544 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 1:35 am

KarateEd wrote:Slight change in the setup so I thought I'd post it. I took the footing off the monitor to lower the CRT level, and I quite like it.

Ed......:-)
how do you get that BBC to look so nice with a VGA monitor?

I had a look at the back and I can't see any obvious conversion going on #-o

User avatar
Pablos544
Posts: 328
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:25 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by Pablos544 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 1:38 am

#-o I posted this post twice sorry guys; I thought my internet had gone and wrongly assumed it had never got there
Last edited by Pablos544 on Sun Dec 20, 2015 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1352
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by Multiwizard » Sun Dec 20, 2015 10:10 am

I just found this Topic... 8)

It's a part of my Attic, both have a MMC inside, the Master 512 is also connected to a 5.25 floppy-drive... :D


Greetings, Wim... :-)
Attachments
P1140068.JPG

User avatar
KarateEd
Posts: 3502
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:15 pm
Location: Squamish, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by KarateEd » Mon Dec 21, 2015 3:51 am

Pablos544 wrote:
KarateEd wrote:Slight change in the setup so I thought I'd post it. I took the footing off the monitor to lower the CRT level, and I quite like it.

Ed......:-)
how do you get that BBC to look so nice with a VGA monitor?

I had a look at the back and I can't see any obvious conversion going on #-o
Hi Pablo,

Sorry, I didn't see this post until now. I do have a GBS-2800 card in the Beeb. That card converts the output to a VGA, basically it scans the output and then converts it to a VGA signal so it can be read in my 60hz monitor. It's a bit of a miracle of modern electronics I would say.

The card is in the back, there's a VGA cable sticking out of the slot. There is a RGB cable going into the board, that's the connectivity so it could LOOK like there is no conversion but ..... there is.

Ed......:-)

User avatar
Pablos544
Posts: 328
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:25 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by Pablos544 » Mon Dec 21, 2015 4:57 pm

KarateEd wrote:
Pablos544 wrote:
KarateEd wrote:Slight change in the setup so I thought I'd post it. I took the footing off the monitor to lower the CRT level, and I quite like it.

Ed......:-)
how do you get that BBC to look so nice with a VGA monitor?

I had a look at the back and I can't see any obvious conversion going on #-o
Hi Pablo,

Sorry, I didn't see this post until now. I do have a GBS-2800 card in the Beeb. That card converts the output to a VGA, basically it scans the output and then converts it to a VGA signal so it can be read in my 60hz monitor. It's a bit of a miracle of modern electronics I would say.

The card is in the back, there's a VGA cable sticking out of the slot. There is a RGB cable going into the board, that's the connectivity so it could LOOK like there is no conversion but ..... there is.

Ed......:-)
so internally there is a cable going in to the board. amazing. I see this site has moved on a bit too, there's 'Notifications' like on Facebook now. This is how I spotted your post, because I didn't subscribe to the topic. =D> bravo Samwise

You're right KarateED. Looking at the back of the machine it looks exactly like a PC or posh Apple IIe. It is indeed a miracle in modern electronics. And the picture is finger licking hot.

Thanks a lot for sharing :D -Pablo

User avatar
sweh
Posts: 1925
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by sweh » Sun Apr 24, 2016 7:19 pm

I reconfigured my setup
2016-04-24 15.04.15.jpg
4 machines
The machine bottom left is the File server. It doesn't (and won't) have a connection to the monitor; it's configured to auto-boot. I need to create a cable to connect the other master to the monitor switch. The bottom right Beeb is my main machine.

I need to create two more "2nd user port" adapters so the other beeb and the Master can talk UPURS as well NFS and TurboMMC.

But I'm not sure this configuration is good; it's hard to use the machines on the top level. It's good enough for testing configurations, though :-)
Rgds
Stephen

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3091
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by flaxcottage » Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:50 am

You must have long arms! :lol:
- John

Why do I keep collecting Acorn gear? I'm going to need a considerably bigger man-cave. :?

User avatar
paulv
Posts: 3618
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Leicestershire
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by paulv » Mon Apr 25, 2016 9:49 am

sweh wrote:I reconfigured my setup

But I'm not sure this configuration is good; it's hard to use the machines on the top level. It's good enough for testing configurations, though :-)
Do you have enough plug sockets and extensions do you think :-o

Paul

User avatar
sweh
Posts: 1925
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by sweh » Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:24 pm

paulv wrote:
sweh wrote:Do you have enough plug sockets and extensions do you think :-o
The rack-side power strip is two circuits; the white sockets are on the UPS and so battery backed. The main server and critical infrastructure are plugged into them. The black sockets are merely surge-protected. The laser printer, the Beebs, etc all go into that. I stuck most of the Beebs onto a switched extension cable so I can turn on the Beebs, monitor, video converter with one button :-)
Rgds
Stephen

User avatar
Flynn
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 10:52 am
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by Flynn » Tue Apr 26, 2016 6:44 pm

Hi all,

It took some 3D puzzle skills with al the cables to fit everything. But after a few attempts I got it where I wanted it, well ... mostly. And I certainly don't want to change anything inside my BBC-B ;-) So here is my 8-bit pile.

The pieces of tape on the keys of the M4000 are keys (the 4th and 5th of every 8) that don't produce a sound. I still have to figure out what the cause is.

Kind regards,

Ad
Attachments
AcornPile2.JPG
"It's all in the wrist."

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 7555
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by 1024MAK » Tue Apr 26, 2016 11:15 pm

Flynn wrote:The pieces of tape on the keys of the M4000 are keys (the 4th and 5th of every 8) that don't produce a sound. I still have to figure out what the cause is.
Note that if you want to write 8 followed by a bracket, you need a space in-between, like so: 8 ), otherwise the forum prints a cool smilie 8) ....
As the problem is a pattern, one or two poor connections somewhere in the keyboard (or connector/lead) is the likely cause. As the keyboard is likely to be a matrix.

BTW, nice pile 8)

Mark
For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk NOW!
BeebWiki‬ - for answers to many questions...

dixiestoat
Posts: 255
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 8:58 am
Location: Warwickshire
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by dixiestoat » Wed May 18, 2016 12:12 pm

20160518_105825.jpg
So after a while getting them all sorted..here's my collection.
So we have.. Retroclinic Master 128 with switchable OS and John Kortink co-pro.

Issue 7 Model B with Datacentre and Turbo MMC, Watford 12 ROM board and 32k SWRam.

My original BITD Issue 4 Elk with Slogger Master Ram board, AP1, AP 3/4, and the new DaveH AP6. 32k SWRam onboard.

With various other DaveH bits .. ATI, ARA x 3, ABR.

Plus 2 x 3.5 and 2 x 5.25 drives and Acorn cassette recorder.

Nick. :D
If in doubt, CTRL-BREAK thou should clout..

User avatar
paulv
Posts: 3618
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Leicestershire
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by paulv » Sat Jun 04, 2016 7:25 pm

No so much my Beeb setup as my new area in my new utility room for my soldering activities :D

Seeing as I've managed to get my soldering station out of storage and do some tinkering, I thought I'd share a bit of the reason why all my Beeb stuff is (still) in storage. Since October last year, we've been having the house extended and refurbished. Downstairs is almost complete now with an extended kitchen, new utility room, new dog wash/boot/cloak room and downstairs WC facilities :D It's entailed a lot of work and hassle and every room in the house, new and old has been affected but it's been worth it :D
MyNewWorkbench.jpg
It's got great light with a Window to the left, a Velux skylight directly above and some rather excellent LED down lights in the ceiling so I'm never overshadowing my work space :D

Paul

JonC
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:19 pm
Location: Wakefield
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by JonC » Sat Jun 04, 2016 7:48 pm

Nice!
Just don't do any soldering on laundry day! :lol:
Jon
Image

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by Zarchos » Sat Jun 04, 2016 7:51 pm

paulv wrote:No so much my Beeb setup as my new area in my new utility room for my soldering activities :D

Seeing as I've managed to get my soldering station out of storage and do some tinkering, I thought I'd share a bit of the reason why all my Beeb stuff is (still) in storage. Since October last year, we've been having the house extended and refurbished. Downstairs is almost complete now with an extended kitchen, new utility room, new dog wash/boot/cloak room and downstairs WC facilities :D It's entailed a lot of work and hassle and every room in the house, new and old has been affected but it's been worth it :D

MyNewWorkbench.jpg

It's got great light with a Window to the left, a Velux skylight directly above and some rather excellent LED down lights in the ceiling so I'm never overshadowing my work space :D

Paul
To know if it's really different from my country ... how many weeks or months for the delay to get it all complete ?

Commie_User
Posts: 1105
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:50 am
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by Commie_User » Tue Jun 21, 2016 10:21 am

dixiestoat wrote:20160518_105825.jpg
Those are so pristine. One of mine looks pretty OK, but storage led to a small scratch on the otherwise fine clear plastic. I HATE it when that happens.



I can give you some videos I made of why I bought a couple of cheap Beebs - music, by virtue of tapes like Beebsynth and a line-out mod.

Like so many of us, we last faced a BBC at school and were shot right back as a consequence.

Getting 'em in: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RBLNLH9zrYU
Playing with music: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HKaJ4NMstcw
Tinker with tapes: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0EnMzdR2LZo
Attachments
DSCF2233.JPG
DSCF2230.JPG

User avatar
JudgeBeeb
Posts: 669
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by JudgeBeeb » Sun Jul 03, 2016 5:09 pm

Trying to make the best use of limited space, I came up with this. It's on wheels and and has a power strip at the back. It works well for me, but realise that it looks like most people's nightmare from school. (I left school before the Beebs arrived en masse.)
Setup - 1.jpg

JonC
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:19 pm
Location: Wakefield
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by JonC » Sun Jul 03, 2016 5:13 pm

I could do with something similar, not an Ikea job?
Jon
Image

User avatar
JudgeBeeb
Posts: 669
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by JudgeBeeb » Sun Jul 03, 2016 5:18 pm

It's this from Argos. Only £20.

Bear in mind that the keyboard shelf doesn't extend the full depth of the trolley. (It is intended for a conventional PC keyboard.) If you place a disk drive or whatever on it, the front feet will be on the shelf, but the back ones will be left hanging. I replaced the provided shelf, with a piece of MDF which extended the full depth of the trolley.

Commie_User
Posts: 1105
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:50 am
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by Commie_User » Sun Jul 03, 2016 5:33 pm

I finally have my Ebay BBC B walled and plumbed in. Pity the only items to accept RGB are my sitting room telly and CUB but I still have my bloody nice Osaki TV for the UHF, if I don't want the Microvitec plonked on top of what else I'm trrying to use.

Patch my lovely line out to the recording loop, patch my soundcard lead to the Beeb for loading tape images and I've almost all I wanted. A faulty joystick port on this board prevents me really dressing it up to the nines, though I've a stack of iconic tapes like Killer Gorilla to christen it anyway.
Attachments
HPIM1506.JPG
HPIM1501.JPG
HPIM1500.JPG

User avatar
roland
Posts: 2898
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by roland » Wed Aug 31, 2016 3:00 pm

My very temporary beeb setup to test my Z80 cheese wedge:
IMG_1333.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg
The Z80 is working, now I just have to find some suitable hardware for creating 3,5" CP/M disks.

BTW ... this beeb seems to have 256KB ram =P~ I didn't notice before....
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 6276
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by danielj » Wed Aug 31, 2016 5:33 pm

Careful Roland - you'll suddenly find yourself seduced by actually seeing what you're typing in any screen mode ;)

I seem to have picked up an infection :?
DSC_0038.JPG

User avatar
paradroid90
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 4:55 pm
Location: Chatham Kent UK
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by paradroid90 » Thu Sep 01, 2016 8:03 pm

Hi guys :-), Thought I had already posted My Elk setup on here previously, but this is my humble set up :-) Packs a punch inside with a Master Ram Board and AP6 installed inside :-)
Attachments
Medway-20160630-00373.jpg
Medway-20160620-00354.jpg
6502 Junkie :-)

Kevin1967
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 8:56 am
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by Kevin1967 » Sat Sep 10, 2016 10:14 am

Here's my setup, just the single Beeb B and CUB monitor. I'm thinking that I could scrap the MacMini and put a Master 128 in it's place. I've also started collecting vintage computer books, mostly Beeb programming books.
P9100019.jpg
P9100020.jpg
P9100021.jpg

Commie_User
Posts: 1105
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:50 am
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Post by Commie_User » Sat Sep 10, 2016 1:55 pm

Look at that juxtaposition!

You'll chuck out nothing! :lol:

Post Reply