Today I received.....

on-topic Acorn-related news and discussions not covered by the other forums
User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1555
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by Multiwizard » Wed Aug 10, 2016 4:24 pm

Hi,

today I received a CUB 653 and a Archimedes AKF-01 monitor... \:D/


Greetings, Wim... :-)
Attachments
P1160387 Small Moni.JPG

Commie_User
Posts: 1309
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:50 am
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by Commie_User » Wed Aug 10, 2016 5:52 pm


User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1555
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by Multiwizard » Wed Aug 10, 2016 5:57 pm

Commie_User wrote:Whoa.

Here's the brochure: http://www.bygonebytes.co.uk/Ads/Microvitec.pdf
Thanks,

but the CUB 653 Selection Chart doesn't include a Atom in the listing... :( :mrgreen: LOL


Greetings, Wim... :-)

steve3000
Posts: 1987
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by steve3000 » Sun Aug 14, 2016 2:36 pm

A Computech Integra-B expansion card :)

It needed some TLC to repair the leaked battery damage, but all seems working now.
tn_DSC_2523.JPG
...and even better the RTC seems happy with 2016 as a date!
tn_DSC_2518.JPG
Does anyone else have one of these? I'm interested to know what type/size battery works with these. The one I removed was so corroded and furred up, I couldn't read any make/markings - but the manual hints at a 5v rechargeable. Also I'm missing the 'Intergra Windows' disc which is mentioned in the manual, it sounds intriguing to try, if anyone has a copy or image...?

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 3464
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by tricky » Sun Aug 14, 2016 3:20 pm

The bits for my MAME bar-top, which should be good for playing beeb games, if only under emulation.

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 8795
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by 1024MAK » Sun Aug 14, 2016 7:42 pm

steve3000 wrote:Does anyone else have one of these? I'm interested to know what type/size battery works with these. The one I removed was so corroded and furred up, I couldn't read any make/markings - but the manual hints at a 5v rechargeable. Also I'm missing the 'Intergra Windows' disc which is mentioned in the manual, it sounds intriguing to try, if anyone has a copy or image...?
I don't have one. But it's unlikely to use a 5V battery, as it would not recharge from a 5V supply. Outside the world of Acorn, typical memory and RTC batteries are 3.6V Ni-Cads. The modern versions are of course 3.6V NiMh.

How many pads does the PCB have for the battery (assuming it does mount on the PCB)? And what is the spacing of the pins that would fit in these pads? Also can you identify the RTC chip used? With all that information, we can have a good guess at the type and size of battery needed.

Mark

User avatar
BeebMaster
Posts: 2717
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 4:59 pm
Location: Lost in the BeebVault!
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by BeebMaster » Sun Aug 14, 2016 9:28 pm

steve3000 wrote:A Computech Integra-B expansion card :)
Best of luck with it, I can't help but I'd like to know more about this board. I did try to buy one 25 years ago, but they were obsolete even then!!!

Image
Image

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 8795
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by 1024MAK » Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:12 am

Okay, not today, but on Saturday...
image.jpeg
An Atom RAM/ROM board designed by Roland :D

Thanks to Roland for producing it and to Dave (Hoglet) for post forwarding =D> =D> =D>

Mark

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3613
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by flaxcottage » Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:56 pm

A little something from the nice people at Tynemouth Software.
IMAG0433.jpg
- John

Image

User avatar
jonb
Posts: 2520
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: South Coast of England
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by jonb » Tue Aug 16, 2016 4:42 pm

A Commodore 4022P Tractor Printer.

Who says they're LOLPRICE RARE? Cost me a tenner...
image.jpeg

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 3464
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by tricky » Tue Aug 16, 2016 5:43 pm

My new 3D printer, but I'm going to wait until the weekend to try and set it up.

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 3464
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by tricky » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:21 pm

Who had, "the weekend, I'll give him an hour", in the sweepstake? I now have a mini 3d printed hand, one more thing for the missed to ask"what are you going to do with that?".

steve3000
Posts: 1987
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by steve3000 » Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:03 pm

1024MAK wrote:How many pads does the PCB have for the battery (assuming it does mount on the PCB)? And what is the spacing of the pins that would fit in these pads? Also can you identify the RTC chip used? With all that information, we can have a good guess at the type and size of battery needed.
It has three pins for the battery, just like on the later RISC OS machines, with the +ve side having two pins and -ve one pin. They're about 2 cm from +ve side to -ve side. The RTC looks like a CDP6818e, but according to the manual, the battery should also retain the contents of the 96k RAM (3 x 43256C) so that sideways RAM data is preserved when the computer is off. Of note, there's an ICL7673 in the battery circuit too. Tonight I took a chance and tried a spare 1.2v NiMH in there and this keeps the clock going after switch off for a few minutes, but the RAM contents were lost after about 10 minutes, needing a switch-on reset (holding @ key down) so 1.2v isn't enough (unless my battery is dead...). Pic below.
integra-b close.png

steve3000
Posts: 1987
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by steve3000 » Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:19 pm

BeebMaster wrote: Best of luck with it, I can't help but I'd like to know more about this board. I did try to buy one 25 years ago, but they were obsolete even then!!!
Excellent, nice to see the preserved letter from beebug! I do recall reading the advert for the integra-b BITD in around 1988, and wishing my paper round would provide enough income to afford one... but it didn't :(

The integra-b is working well, but two minor flaws identified so far - first, despite offering 4 banks of 16k sideways RAM, Exile doesn't detect the sideways RAM from this board, which is really frustrating...so I'm going to have to patch a home-brew sideways RAM into one of the base ROM sockets in addition to the intergra-b; and second, although the integra-b provides a configuration setting to make the beeb's OS1.2 appear like a BBC Master by having equivalent sideways ram and shadow ram settings along with various additional OS Byte and OS Word support, unfortunately it seems this mode isn't close enough to a real Master to fool the Master version of Elite to run... ah well!

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 8795
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by 1024MAK » Wed Aug 17, 2016 7:06 am

steve3000 wrote:
1024MAK wrote:How many pads does the PCB have for the battery (assuming it does mount on the PCB)? And what is the spacing of the pins that would fit in these pads? Also can you identify the RTC chip used? With all that information, we can have a good guess at the type and size of battery needed.
It has three pins for the battery, just like on the later RISC OS machines, with the +ve side having two pins and -ve one pin. They're about 2 cm from +ve side to -ve side. The RTC looks like a CDP6818e, but according to the manual, the battery should also retain the contents of the 96k RAM (3 x 43256C) so that sideways RAM data is preserved when the computer is off. Of note, there's an ICL7673 in the battery circuit too. Tonight I took a chance and tried a spare 1.2v NiMH in there and this keeps the clock going after switch off for a few minutes, but the RAM contents were lost after about 10 minutes, needing a switch-on reset (holding @ key down) so 1.2v isn't enough (unless my battery is dead...). Pic below.
integra-b close.png
The 43256C SRAM needs a minimum of 2V to retain it's memory contents, this is the voltage at the chips pins, not the battery voltage. So the battery must be a 3.6V type.

Mark

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 8795
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by 1024MAK » Wed Aug 17, 2016 10:30 am

The VARTA 3 / V 150 H Nickel Metal Hydride, 150 mAh, 3.6 V battery may be suitable.
Available from a number of suppliers including Farnell plus eBay...

Mark

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 7258
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by danielj » Sun Aug 21, 2016 2:54 pm

1024MAK wrote:
danielj wrote:<snip>...anyone got a Speccy + case going begging?)
For some strange reason, spare cases have become a bit rare... :lol:

Mark
Oh well - my 48k rubber-key monstrosity has a dead issue 2 mobo in it (never managed to bring it round, the memory was out), so it's had a 128k transplant now :D

Works perfectly - a toastrack in a 48k box! Added bonus of actually being able to fix it if it goes wrong :)

Things to note:
1. if you get your 10k and 1k resistors mixed up, it won't work.
2. The picture of transistor pinouts on data sheets shows the underside of the transistor, not the top view. If you put the transistors in the wrong way round the keyboard doesn't work :)

d.

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1555
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by Multiwizard » Sun Aug 21, 2016 6:44 pm

Hi,

today I received this for free... :D

Sadly I don't know squat about RISC PC's yet so I have to read some... 8)

And I have to find me a original mouse and a monitor screen with a green Acorn on it... :mrgreen:

First question :?: , how do I get a nice green Acorn at the bottom right of the screen? :?

The floor photo is Hi-res so you can click on it to zoom in... 8)


Greetings, Wim... :-)
Attachments
P1160433 Small RISC Stack.JPG
P1160450 Small RISC Info.JPG
P1160437 Floor.JPG

User avatar
RobGT
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 9:20 am
Location: Brabant @ NL
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by RobGT » Sun Aug 21, 2016 9:41 pm

Hi Wim,

Good catch. :D
The green Acorn on the bottom right side means RISC OS 3.xx. So if you want to have that, you have to downgrade the Risc PC with 3.xx ROMS probably 3.70. I don't know if you will encounter problems if you do that. #-o

Rob

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 8795
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by 1024MAK » Sun Aug 21, 2016 9:50 pm

A very good haul there Wim =D>

You have lots of reading to do now...

Mark

steve3000
Posts: 1987
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by steve3000 » Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:25 pm

RobGT wrote:Hi Wim,

Good catch. :D
The green Acorn on the bottom right side means RISC OS 3.xx. So if you want to have that, you have to downgrade the Risc PC with 3.xx ROMS probably 3.70. I don't know if you will encounter problems if you do that. #-o

Rob
...and as you have the RISC OS 4 upgrade box shown on the last picture, take a look inside... Hopefully the previous owner week have left the RISC OS 3.7 roms inside for you :)

However if you do want to change to RISC OS 3.7, just be careful because as Rob says, the may be some problems - most particulary the harddisc may have been reformatted in the newer RISC OS 4 specific format. (So if harddisc gives errors after downgrading, then you know to pop RISC OS 4 back in).

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1555
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by Multiwizard » Mon Aug 22, 2016 5:32 am

Rob, Mark and Steve, thanks for all the advice... =D>

I really would have liked a nice green Acorn at the bottom right, but ok then, RISC OS 4 it will be... :D


Greetings, Wim... :-)

steve3000
Posts: 1987
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by steve3000 » Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:43 am

Multiwizard wrote: I really would have liked a nice green Acorn at the bottom right, but ok then, RISC OS 4 it will be... :D
Ah, if it's just the icon you'd like, then there is another way to achieve what you want, avoiding any issues with downgrading... and that is to modify the RISC OS 4 system sprite file to replace the 'taskmanager' icon with the Acorn logo. :)

I've not looked at the workings of RISC OS 4 for a while so I'm not actually sure where the system sprite file is stored - possibly on the hdd, but most likely in rom.

I'd be happy to have a look on my RiscPC for you, but it'd have to be next weekend, when I'm back home?

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1555
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by Multiwizard » Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:03 am

steve3000 wrote:
Multiwizard wrote: I really would have liked a nice green Acorn at the bottom right, but ok then, RISC OS 4 it will be... :D
Ah, if it's just the icon you'd like, then there is another way to achieve what you want, avoiding any issues with downgrading... and that is to modify the RISC OS 4 system sprite file to replace the 'taskmanager' icon with the Acorn logo. :)

I've not looked at the workings of RISC OS 4 for a while so I'm not actually sure where the system sprite file is stored - possibly on the hdd, but most likely in rom.

I'd be happy to have a look on my RiscPC for you, but it'd have to be next weekend, when I'm back home?
Hi Steve,

thanks for the offer but I think I keep it this way, in the future I still would like to have a A310 or above (which will have this Acorn), I already have a original Archimedes monitor... :D


Greetings, Wim... :-)

User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by geraldholdsworth » Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:51 am

A 32 pin DIL socket and a 28 pin DIL socket...not much, but when combined and put into my Master (along with the 1Mb flash EPROM that's on it's way), should make for a nice experiment. I've also got a 2Mb PLCC flash EPROM on it's way for the other Master with one of Retroclinic's Dual MOS boards...
Gerald Holdsworth
Repton Resource Page
www.reptonresourcepage.co.uk

Kevin1967
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 8:56 am
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by Kevin1967 » Mon Aug 22, 2016 4:42 pm

A fantastic BBC Micro Model B with DataCentre and CF-HD and a CUB monitor from Mark at RetroClinic. Finally, I feel like a real member of this forum!
P8220005.jpg
P8220001.jpg

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1555
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by Multiwizard » Mon Aug 22, 2016 4:53 pm

Kevin1967 wrote:A fantastic BBC Micro Model B with DataCentre and CF-HD and a CUB monitor from Mark at RetroClinic. Finally, I feel like a real member of this forum!

P8220005.jpg
P8220001.jpg
Beautiful... =D>

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 8795
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by 1024MAK » Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:20 pm

Nice, but after looking at the picture, all I can think of is how close is the Cub to falling off the desk... :roll:

Mark

Commie_User
Posts: 1309
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:50 am
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by Commie_User » Mon Aug 22, 2016 7:15 pm

You'd think that but given all the weight is at the front, you can 'perch' it on the table edge and it will be fine. Unless you knock it.


LOOK AT THAT BEEB!

User avatar
richardtoohey
Posts: 3712
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:13 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Today I received.....

Post by richardtoohey » Tue Aug 23, 2016 5:02 am

Kevin1967 wrote:A fantastic BBC Micro Model B with DataCentre and CF-HD and a CUB monitor from Mark at RetroClinic. Finally, I feel like a real member of this forum!
Oh, but you'll need a Master 128 as well. And a Master Compact. And an Electron. And an Atom. And ... a new house! :twisted:

Enjoy the new machine! :D

Post Reply