Acheton - Playability

discuss text & graphic adventures for Acorns. level 9, robico & epic led this field
Post Reply
fuzzel
Posts: 512
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:16 pm
Location: Cullercoats, North Tyneside
Contact:

Acheton - Playability

Post by fuzzel » Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:56 pm

Thought I'd have a look at Acheton, Acornsoft's massive text adventure for the BBC. Think (Castle of Riddles + Kingdom of Hamil + Philosopher's Quest) cubed. I've not played it apart from a cursory look since bitd and I can't remember getting very far on it then either.
Anyway, the disc version is a bit slow so is there any way of speeding it up (in an emulator) ? I've increased Beebem's speed to x2 but this doesn't speed it up too much (and increasing it further plays havoc with the keyboard) so it sounds like there are two options, are either of these possible:
1. Adjust the disc speed in Beebem to make it as fast as ram speed
2. Create a ram disc using sideways ram (I used STLE00 bitd) and copy the Acheton disc to that (not sure if this would work if the game reads directly from the disc)
Hopefully someone out there has some ideas on this.

User avatar
lurkio
Posts: 2362
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:30 pm
Location: Doomawangara
Contact:

Re: Acheton - Playability

Post by lurkio » Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:05 pm

Have you disabled Disc Drive sounds in the Sound Effects menu in Windows BeebEm (or in the Sound menu in Mac BeebEm)?

Which version of Acheton are you playing? The Acornsoft release or the Topologika one?

:?:

fuzzel
Posts: 512
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:16 pm
Location: Cullercoats, North Tyneside
Contact:

Re: Acheton - Playability

Post by fuzzel » Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:15 pm

Good evening lurkio. I'm playing the one which says "Cracked by P.N. 18.12.1985"
It doesn't actually say whether its Topologika or Acornsoft, I'm assuming Acornsoft given the date.

I've disabled sound effects and it seems to be faster thanks, I'm not sure how much faster it would be if played from a ramdisc though (but I'd like to find out).

btw What's the Topologika version like ?

User avatar
lurkio
Posts: 2362
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:30 pm
Location: Doomawangara
Contact:

Re: Acheton - Playability

Post by lurkio » Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:19 pm

fuzzel wrote:
Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:15 pm
What's the Topologika version like ?
Expanded, I seem to recall. Can't remember all the details of how it's different though.

Check out the various Acheton disc-images at bbcmicro.co.uk:
:idea:

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6927
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Acheton - Playability

Post by CMcDougall » Fri Jan 24, 2020 4:50 pm

I have the original discs &box /inlays.
Disc1 was protected, disc2 could copy itself from 40track to 80.

will hunt instructions later ..
ImageImageImage

User avatar
lurkio
Posts: 2362
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:30 pm
Location: Doomawangara
Contact:

Re: Acheton - Playability

Post by lurkio » Fri Jan 24, 2020 6:03 pm

CMcDougall wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 4:50 pm
will hunt instructions later ..
The instructions for both the Acornsoft version and the Topologika version of Acheton are at Everygamegoing.com. Also see mocagh.org.

:idea:

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 6927
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Acheton - Playability

Post by CMcDougall » Fri Jan 24, 2020 7:56 pm

found them, does it have the Hints sheets also from the original envelope, to open when stuck :?:
ImageImageImage

sirbod
Posts: 1042
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:44 am
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Acheton - Playability

Post by sirbod » Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:05 am

If you grab the full archive of the Archimedes release, I PDF'd everything that came with it. I'm pretty sure it included a hint sheet:

https://forums.jaspp.org.uk/forum/viewt ... f=25&t=413

Post Reply