Which emulator to use: developing on Windows (VS2017)...

want to talk about MESS/model b/beebem/b-em/electrem/elkulator? do it here!
VectorEyes

Which emulator to use: developing on Windows (VS2017)...

Post by VectorEyes » Tue May 08, 2018 4:51 pm

Hello all,

I have a half-formed plan to start doing some Beeb 6502 development, but because I'm new to the field, instead of becoming a 6502 opcode expert, I thought it might be more interesting to start by enhancing an existing emulator to support advanced debugging features. A sort of "learn by doing" approach.

What I have in mind is something where you can mark up sections of code as belonging to a particular function, and then be able to step into / over / out of the function and see the results. Would also like to be able to watch sections of memory, that sort of thing.

I'm used to Visual Studio, so I had a look at the sources for B-Em, BeebEm, and BeebEm-Windows on github. It looks like they'd all need quite a bit of work before I was able to build and make use of them on Visual Studio 2017.

The biggest issue I can see right now is that they all make use of DX9 and D3DX9, which are so old they haven't been shipped as part of a Windows SDK for many years! (Nothing wrong with DX9 of course... it was the right tech to use when the emulators were first implemented! ... but I'd rather not have to download and install old SDK versions just to be able to build the emulator).

So I'm wondering if this is something anybody has come across or might be working on? Any upgrades to later DX versions being worked on? If not, is everybody basically getting hold of old SDK versions and building the emulators using the old SDKs?