Emulating original low resolutions?

ask about 32-bit emulators like ArcEm, Red Squirrel, Arculator or RPCEmu here
Post Reply
Trypticon
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:21 pm
Contact:

Emulating original low resolutions?

Post by Trypticon » Sat Apr 25, 2015 6:07 pm

I've defined custom resolutions under a Windows XP installation, using a 31 Khz (minimum) CRT VGA monitor. So I can output 320x256 or 640x256 with 100 Hz (double PAL) refreshrate for example.
Are there any Archimedes/Risc PC emulators that support this in fullscreen? I tried a brief test with Sim City under RPCemu for example, but the lowest it goes for me is 640x480.

minwah
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Emulating original low resolutions?

Post by minwah » Wed Jul 22, 2015 10:41 am

I wanted to do something similar but using a CRT TV at 15khz, but also could not find an Archimedes emulator that would run at low resolutions.

I think the best bet might be to try recompiling Arculator to do this, but I have not attempted it...
BBC Master | IFEL Switchable MOS | Sundby PiTubeDirect (Pi 3) | RetroClinic DataCentre | Deltronics Control It

User avatar
sbadger
Posts: 342
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:12 pm
Location: Farnham, Surrey
Contact:

Re: Emulating original low resolutions?

Post by sbadger » Thu Oct 15, 2015 11:47 am

if the emus are running in windows xp you could try soft15khz

http://wiki.arcadecontrols.com/wiki/Soft-15khz

it doesn't work on all gfx cards but check it out, it's used to run MAME emulators on old 15khz arcade monitors so should fit the bill.
So many projects, so little time...

Post Reply