Arthur under emulators

ask about 32-bit emulators like ArcEm, Red Squirrel, Arculator or RPCEmu here
Post Reply
sirbod
Posts: 971
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:44 am
Location: Essex
Contact:

Arthur under emulators

Post by sirbod » Mon Feb 04, 2019 7:42 pm

Has anyone managed to get Arthur running under an emulator with either floppy access via floppy images and/or some form of HostFS?

Although both Arculator and RedSquirrel will boot into Arthur, ADFS doesn't work in either and HostFS isn't supported.

User avatar
SarahWalker
Posts: 1162
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 3:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Arthur under emulators

Post by SarahWalker » Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:00 pm

Floppies definitely work under Arthur on Arculator 0.99. Are you sure you're not trying to access ADFS E format discs? Arthur only supports D.

sirbod
Posts: 971
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:44 am
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Arthur under emulators

Post by sirbod » Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:53 pm

SarahWalker wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:00 pm
Floppies definitely work under Arthur on Arculator 0.99. Are you sure you're not trying to access ADFS E format discs? Arthur only supports D.
That'll be my problem, I think I tried every format except D! I'll retest Zarch and Conqueror tomorrow and see if they work.

sirbod
Posts: 971
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:44 am
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Arthur under emulators

Post by sirbod » Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:30 pm

sirbod wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:53 pm
SarahWalker wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 9:00 pm
Floppies definitely work under Arthur on Arculator 0.99. Are you sure you're not trying to access ADFS E format discs? Arthur only supports D.
That'll be my problem, I think I tried every format except D! I'll retest Zarch and Conqueror tomorrow and see if they work.
I've tried both Conqueror and Zarch, both fail. If you don't mount a floppy, you can hear it try to read it when you do *., but as soon as you mount a floppy all you get is a drive empty error. Same result with both ADF and JFD.

I'm using the binary you sent me many moons ago (to test JFD support), so it's possible you've since fixed it since. I've no idea what build it is, but the EXE is dated 15-03-16.

steve3000
Posts: 1974
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Arthur under emulators

Post by steve3000 » Sat Feb 16, 2019 5:11 pm

I know I original tested QTM under Arthur using Arculator release version of Arculator v0.99. Must have got it on there using a disc image... seem to recall the issue with needing to use D format.

User avatar
SarahWalker
Posts: 1162
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 3:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Arthur under emulators

Post by SarahWalker » Sat Feb 16, 2019 6:08 pm

sirbod wrote:
Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:30 pm
I'm using the binary you sent me many moons ago (to test JFD support), so it's possible you've since fixed it since. I've no idea what build it is, but the EXE is dated 15-03-16.
I wouldn't use that binary as evidence of anything. 0.99 is the most recent stable version.

sirbod
Posts: 971
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:44 am
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Arthur under emulators

Post by sirbod » Wed Feb 20, 2019 4:12 pm

I'll regress back to 0.99 :roll:

I think I switched to the test build as you'd improved instruction timing and added basic JFD support, which saved me from digging out physical machines to test game speed.

Are you any closer to a stable release?

User avatar
SarahWalker
Posts: 1162
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 3:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Arthur under emulators

Post by SarahWalker » Wed Feb 20, 2019 6:02 pm

Yes. But 'closer' does not imply 'close'.

Post Reply