Arculator & Risc OS 2.0

ask about 32-bit emulators like ArcEm, Red Squirrel, Arculator or RPCEmu here
Post Reply
Dunkinator
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 11:15 am
Contact:

Arculator & Risc OS 2.0

Post by Dunkinator » Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:19 am

Does anyone know how to setup a hard drive for use in Arculator under Risc OS 2.0? Works fine under 3.1 assume as the hard drive image supplied is Ide? Any one managed to set one up?

steve3000
Posts: 1968
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Arculator & Risc OS 2.0

Post by steve3000 » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:21 am

Never managed it, but not tried much. RISC OS 2 doesn't support IDE without external hardware, so I assumed no support for HDD under RO2 - unless there is a podule emulation of IDE, or ST506 HDD emulation?

User avatar
SarahWalker
Posts: 1154
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 3:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Arculator & Risc OS 2.0

Post by SarahWalker » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:32 am

Not in v0.99 unfortunately. The next version (which will be out this year! Honest!) will have both ST-506 and IDE podule emulation.

ZudoBug
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Arculator & Risc OS 2.0

Post by ZudoBug » Wed Jan 23, 2019 6:08 pm

On Arculator 0.99, if you put the RISC OS 2 ROMs in the RISCOS3 folder and select "RISC OS 3 (old FDC)' the emulated hard disc seems to work fine; it uses the IDEFS module included with the emulator. Try this at your own risk, of course.

Post Reply