Building Rolands new Atom design...

discuss both original and modern hardware for the bbc micro/electron
Post Reply
User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1880
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by Multiwizard » Sat Jan 31, 2015 6:12 pm

Hi, I have the honour to be the first to build Rolands new Atom design.

I now will show some pictures from the progress I have made... :D
Attachments
P1080636.JPG
PCB front...
P1080640.JPG
PCB back...
P1080778.JPG
The resistors...
P1080782.JPG
The capacitors...
P1080873.JPG
The IC sockets...
P1080894.JPG
The rest of the components...
P1080896.JPG
The modifications...
P1080901.JPG
Stripped the Atom board... :-(


Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by Zarchos » Sat Jan 31, 2015 6:28 pm

Beautiful =D>
Cut what btw ? The epoxy board ?

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1880
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by Multiwizard » Sat Jan 31, 2015 6:42 pm

The next scenes are only suitable for 18+. :shock:

A real massacre is about to be shown... :-&

We have had Rolands splitting the Atom with a jig saw.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QuBu4jS ... e=youtu.be

So now option two:

Splitting the Atom with a grinder...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iUp0-Nvtf_M


:-#

(there is a little too large new grinding disc in the grinder that's why it sparkles fire)
Last edited by Multiwizard on Sat Jan 31, 2015 8:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by Zarchos » Sat Jan 31, 2015 7:00 pm

It's high time sbdy phones the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Atoms !

User avatar
KarateEd
Posts: 4590
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 10:15 pm
Location: Squamish, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by KarateEd » Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:28 pm

So, you are cutting these why?

Thanks,

Ed......:-)
Ed...... :-)

3 working Beebs, 1 RetroClinic Master, 1 normal Master, 1 A3010, 1 Pi2 RISC OS, 2 broken Beeb Motherboards, 1 Omnibus A7000+ server, 1 A7000+ Desktop, 1 PET, 1 C64, 1 C128, 1 Amiga 500 and 1 Roamer.

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 9970
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by 1024MAK » Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:51 pm

<switches to authoritarian "official" voice> Err, we may have an increasing number of attacks on innocent Atom computers.

The following events are under investigation: Prosecutions will be carried out where excessive cruelty has been found.

Mark

User avatar
roland
Posts: 3852
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by roland » Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:08 am

Is there any chance that these Dutchmen get blocked from this forum?

I must say that the grinder goes better than the jigsaw. I'll also use one the next time. :twisted:

I'm guilty. I confess. But I must say that the heart of my unstable and worn out Atom lives on in the best Atom I have ever had. :mrgreen:
FPGAtom: 512 KB RAM, Real Time Clock and 64 colours
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1880
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by Multiwizard » Sun Feb 01, 2015 6:35 am

roland wrote:I'm guilty. I confess. But I must say that the heart of my unstable and worn out Atom lives on in the best Atom I have ever had. :mrgreen:
I agree with you... :D

I bought this Atom many many Years ago it had some spilt aggressive toxic liquid on and it and was wired with some copper wire, I never did manage to get this Atom going and there were to much weird modifications made in the past by the previous owner... :?

Therefore it was absolute the worst Atom I had... :(

It also did feel like against my nature but I had to do it, I love 8-bit machines especially the Atom, believe me, for me this was the hardest part to do... :shock:

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1880
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by Multiwizard » Sun Feb 01, 2015 6:42 am

And then there is light at the end of the tunnel, a new Atom is about to be born... \:D/

Look at it, it becomes a whole new Atom... :D
Attachments
P1080909.JPG
The keyboard...
P1080912.JPG
Bottom view #1...
P1080915.JPG
Bottom view #2...
P1080921.JPG
Top view...

User avatar
roland
Posts: 3852
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by roland » Sun Feb 01, 2015 10:55 am

multiwizard wrote: I bought this Atom many many Years ago it had some spilt aggressive toxic liquid on and it and was wired with some copper wire, I never did manage to get this Atom going and there were to much weird modifications made in the past by the previous owner...
Therefore it was absolute the worst Atom I had... :(
I think we have to make a statement here: We absolutely do not split Atoms with a reasonable chance of getting usable again. These Atoms are completely worn out and have only one destination: the garbage bin.

Why bother to destroy a working Atom and build a new one for several hundreds of euros if we can patch a good one with a Godil, MMC interface and some memory for less than €100,00? Although we seem crazy (in the movies), we do not only love our Atoms, but also our money :wink:

Having said that, back to the topic. Wim, you're doing a great job. The setup looks good, even better then mine =D> I noticed you didn't make the audio patch. Details can be found at the bottom of http://diy.acornatom.nl/construction.html

Before you fit the CPLD's, connect a 5V power supply and check if the output of the LM3940 is about 3.3V. If it's to high for whatever reason, the CPLD's will get destroyed. The biggest problem is to get them out of their socket, that might get damaged and replacing the socket will be a hell of a job.

BTW, does anybody know a good trick to get the CPLD's out of their socket?
FPGAtom: 512 KB RAM, Real Time Clock and 64 colours
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 9228
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by hoglet » Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:17 am

roland wrote:BTW, does anybody know a good trick to get the CPLD's out of their socket?
With a PLCC extractor tool?

Dave

User avatar
roland
Posts: 3852
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by roland » Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:27 am

hoglet wrote: With a PLCC extractor tool?
Might be a good idea, never thought about that :oops: With my next Farnell order I'll order one, something like 150-4085.
FPGAtom: 512 KB RAM, Real Time Clock and 64 colours
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1880
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by Multiwizard » Sun Feb 01, 2015 5:52 pm

roland wrote:I noticed you didn't make the audio patch.
I indeed have the intention to use the internal speaker, and had read about this patch, I just didn't came to it yet to do so, but now I have... :D

Thanks anyway... :)
Attachments
P1080930.JPG

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 9970
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by 1024MAK » Mon Feb 02, 2015 6:56 pm

:arrow: Hey, all you Atom board cutting people...
I was only joking in my last post in this thread :D

Of course, if a board is beyond reasonable repair (and this will depend on a number of factors), then there is no problem in using the parts to help make a working Atom and if the keyboard part of the damaged PCB can be reused, why not :?:

Mark

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1880
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by Multiwizard » Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:32 pm

1024MAK wrote::arrow: Hey, all you Atom board cutting people...
I was only joking in my last post in this thread :D Mark
At least one person was really p..... o.. about it and did Dislike the clip one Youtube... :(

I can't blame him... :)

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 9228
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by hoglet » Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:39 pm

multiwizard wrote:At least one person was really p..... o.. about it and did Dislike the clip one Youtube... :(

I can't blame him... :)
Now it has one of each :D

This has enabled the creation of a new Atom, which in my view is a good thing.

It's a shame an alternative keyboard is so expensive. I still have a plan to convert an old BBC Model B keyboard into an Atom FPGA keyboard.....

Dave

poink
Posts: 963
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:27 am
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by poink » Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:18 pm

roland wrote:Might be a good idea, never thought about that :oops: With my next Farnell order I'll order one, something like 150-4085.
I'd suggest checking eBay - you can get a perfectly good one for about half of that!

Definitely get one though, the methods without (levering with a screwdriver) are, IME, likely to crack the socket - and if you crack the socket, it's a huge pain to fix.

edit:
hoglet wrote:It's a shame an alternative keyboard is so expensive. I still have a plan to convert an old BBC Model B keyboard into an Atom FPGA keyboard.....
If you're changing the form factor anyway, would a PS/2 keyboard in the style of Prime's BBC adaptor be a go-er?

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 9228
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by hoglet » Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:31 pm

poink wrote:If you're changing the form factor anyway, would a PS/2 keyboard in the style of Prime's BBC adaptor be a go-er?
I don't mind changing the overall size.

The issue is trying retain the relative layout of the keys, otherwise many games become unplayable.

If you count the number of keys in a row on the Atom, you will find it is 15. This is hard to replicate on any PS/2 keyboard I have seen.

Dave

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1880
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by Multiwizard » Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:49 pm

And now modifying the rest of my Atom keyboard... :-k

I can tell you it absolutely wasn't easy to do it this way but it worked out fine... :D
Attachments
P1080944.JPG
Putting the numbers on...
P1080950.JPG
Drilling 21 small holes...
P1080954.JPG
Pulling in 21 temporary wires...
P1080960.JPG
Done...
P1080967.JPG
Making a small gap for the ribbon cable...
P1080969.JPG
Sorting out the wires...
P1080971.JPG
Pulling back the temporary wires one by one when connected to the ribbon cable...
P1080973.JPG
Done...
P1080974.JPG
Pulling the ribbon cable trough the small gap...
P1080994.JPG
Finished... :-D
Last edited by Multiwizard on Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1880
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by Multiwizard » Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:52 pm

The rest of the pictures... :)
Attachments
P1080998.JPG
Top view...
P1090002.JPG
Close up top view...
P1090007.JPG
Overall view...
P1090008.JPG
Like nothing happened...

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 9228
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:21 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by hoglet » Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:56 pm

Beautiful! =D> =D> =D>

User avatar
roland
Posts: 3852
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by roland » Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:01 pm

Waaauw, you really did a wonderful job with that keyboard cable. At least a thousand times better then my spaghetti-way. Although I really like spaghetti for diner :lol:

Very nice work, you surely did this job with more patience and love than I did =D> =D> =D>


But the big question that remains.... does your new Atom work :?:
FPGAtom: 512 KB RAM, Real Time Clock and 64 colours
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 3273
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:57 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by oss003 » Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:14 pm

Looking good Wim, =D> =D> wish I had some time to start with mine ........ :(

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
roland
Posts: 3852
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by roland » Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:15 pm

I looked again to the final picture and I zoomed in .... it's is really great how you build this Atom. You paid attention to every little detail. Amazing =D> =D> =D>
FPGAtom: 512 KB RAM, Real Time Clock and 64 colours
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 3273
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:57 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by oss003 » Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:38 pm

"We can rebuild him. We have the technology. We can make him better than he was. Better, stronger, faster........"

Only a lot cheaper :lol: :lol: :lol:
Can't wait to see you power it on.

Greetings
Kees

PhilYoung
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by PhilYoung » Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:56 pm

multiwizard wrote:And now modifying the rest of my Atom keyboard... :-k

I can tell you it absolutely wasn't easy to do it this way but it worked out fine... :D
Hi,

What sort of connector have you used for the GODIL test/VGA and audio out, looks like it is out of the GODIL footprint on the penultimate photo,

Good effort, looks very neat,

Cheers,

Phil

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1880
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by Multiwizard » Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:02 pm

PhilYoung wrote: Hi,

What sort of connector have you used for the GODIL test/VGA and audio out, looks like it is out of the GODIL footprint on the penultimate photo.

Cheers,

Phil
Hi Phil, I took some close-up pictures... :)
Attachments
P1090005 modified.JPG
P1090027 modified.JPG


User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1880
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Building Rolands new Atom design...

Post by Multiwizard » Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:28 pm

roland wrote: But the big question that remains.... does your new Atom work :?:
I will power it up tomorrow... :)

Post Reply

Return to “8-bit acorn hardware”