! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

for bbc micro/electron hardware, peripherals & programming issues (NOT emulators!)
User avatar
sydney
Posts: 2259
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 9:09 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Contact:

Re: ! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

Post by sydney » Thu Mar 24, 2016 10:20 am

I think putting the cable in the wrong way round will cause the led to be constantly lit. Perhaps you have shorted one of the wires when you removed the pc twist.

rharper
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:19 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: ! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

Post by rharper » Thu Mar 24, 2016 5:34 pm

BeebMaster wrote:
retroclinic wrote:
textbook wrote:
Thx for posting that link.. might find a few uses for one of those.... gotta be worth a fiver with free delivery. :) even if only for bench testing purposes.
[-X They go bang with more frequency than Beebmaster's LV ROM Drives! Stay well clear of those china cheapie PSUs. They also run VERY hot, when they do run at all!
I only just saw this, and that item is still available. It's something I could really make use of, I've never seen a mains PSU ending in a hard drive connector like that before. I'd probably have bought a couple of dozen of them if it wasn't for this warning. Anybody know of a reliable substitute?
I have used a good number of these cheap psu's over the last few years, mostly for powering internal 3.5" floppy drives as external drives on beebs and electrons.
You can of course chop off the molex connector and solder on connectors for other equipment.
About 4 years ago they did indeed get very hot and if left on for a few hours might go bang! I tended to use them just for an hour or 2.
I have removed the top and drilled holes for ventilation to improve the dissipation of the heat.
However, the ones I have bought over the last 2 years look the same but are completely different.
The originals have a board completely packed with components, many large caps, that took up about 80% of the inner volume so only 20% air for taking up the heat!
The recent ones have a sparsely populated board with about 95% inner volume air. They get warm but no more so than any other psu. I have left them on 16h and they are no warmer after 16h than after 2h.
It is possible that I have just been lucky with my recent purchases.
I got the last lot here http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HDD-POWER-SUP ... OC:GB:3160
Ray :)
Raycomp

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 8110
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: ! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

Post by 1024MAK » Thu Mar 24, 2016 6:13 pm

There are a number of problems with the cheap PSUs:-
  • Safety issues - some do not meet UK or European standards for the clearance/creapage gap(s) between the mains side circuitry and the low voltage output circuitry on the circuit board, without opening and destroying the transformer, it is very hard to tell if there is a proper isolation barrier between the primary and secondary windings, any wires inside the PSU should be restrained to ensure if one becomes loose, it cannot move and touch another component or conductor (a mains wire touching the low voltage section or a low voltage output wire touching the mains circuitry) but often the wires are loose,
  • The bare minimum of components are used, this means NO interference suppression inductors or capacitors on the mains input side, NO mains surge protection and only one filter capacitor for each output voltage rail (a good PSU will have a capacitor/inductor/capacitor filter),
  • The "regulation" circuit is often a basic design and may not give good regulation. Note also, a lot of switch mode PSUs only regulate one output rail.
  • The components are not high quality, and the values used for the capacitors may be somewhat random. In some (different) inexpensive PSUs I got to see what they were like, the higher current ones (according to the label) had smaller value capacitors than the lower current rating units!
I know it is difficult to get decent combined 5V and 12V power supplies. But I strongly suggest you pay the extra and get a good quality PSU from a well know quality supplier in your country if you can.

Also, some of the more modern 3.5" drives often only use the +5V line (they don't need a +12V supply).

Mark

User avatar
MartinB
Posts: 5025
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:04 pm
Location: Obscurity
Contact:

Re: ! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

Post by MartinB » Thu Mar 24, 2016 8:01 pm

Genuine APD PSU's are good quality in my experience but are necessarily more expensive. There are lots of different permutations of voltage and current - have a scan on ebay for something like 'APD 5v 12v' to see the options and prices. I've actually run Beebs off the DA-45C01 (5v/4A & 12v/2A and I added a small -12v regulator) but they are harder to find and can command significant money. I got one from a car boot for 50p :D but I will shortly have another because earlier on this evening, I acquired one through an ebay Best Offer of £8.50 inclusive... =D> (I obviously didn't want to post this until I'd snaffled it... :wink: ) You obviously don't need the capacity of the 45C01 for disc drives, many of the lower spec APD devices would be fine.

beebdidi
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 11:29 am
Location: Near Paris - France
Contact:

Re: ! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

Post by beebdidi » Fri Sep 23, 2016 2:06 pm

Hi,
Found this 'old' article :
http://amigadrive.blogspot.fr/2013/11/h ... loppy.html
It might be possible to do the same with BBC B or Master ?

Cheers

MrEe
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:38 am
Contact:

Re: ! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

Post by MrEe » Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:36 pm

Hi All,

My first real post on the forums -

I'm probably resurrecting an old thread here but I had to share this with someone who would appreciate the achievement (for me at least). My pet cat has more interest in this than my wife..

Anyway, down to business: A bit of background: I've been tinkering around my old Cumana dual 80/40 track 5.25" floppy drives for a while and was really pleased with them until somehow - and don't ask me how - drive zero magically died. In another sad and annoying parallel my single Cumana 5.25" FDD died too (a few months earlier) - must be Canadian air. Anyway, I have one functioning 5.25" drive left. After reading all the excellent information about 3.5" drives on the forums I decided to rig up dual 3.5" FDD's with the intent of placing them in the Cumana housing as I had previously bought another step-up transformer to run the beastie and I'll be damned if I'm going to let it go to waste.

The two FDD drives that I had knocking around were Alps Electic Co. Ltd, DF354H022F's taken from two old IBM PC Thinkcentre's. These work a treat with the BBC Model B. Having taken out the twist from the drive cable and trying each drive individually, they both registered as drive 1 and work flawlessly (so far, touch's head). So that was one drive. THEN I decided that I needed a second drive - primarily for Beebug C. As others have quite rightly pointed out in the forum thread, that the PC drives are set for DS1. Next order of business was to set one of the two drives to DS0. The Alps drives - thankfully - are well designed in this respect and the DS1/DS0 extremely easy to access via a small window in the casing thereby exposing the board. One of the connectors (DS0) is an exposed copper link that looks like a penny with a black horizontal line going through it. This made me wonder as joining the two halves had to make the connection active (smart design). Conversely, exposing the DS1 connection would unlink the connection. So after desoldering (or should I say "desoddering" in N. America? :lol: ) DS1 and soldering DS0 I plugged in the FDD cable (with twist taken out) and fingers crossed fired-up the Beeb entered *Disk/*.0 then */1 - - [-o< bingo! - both drives recognised correctly =D> . Using some really expensive DSDD drives, did the formatting and verification and worked flawlessly. I'm so happy! Now this piqued my interest even more. Everything that I read about 1.44 HD floppies said that would work (maybe) or not reliably. I decided to take the pepsi challenge on this one too. So I dug out some old 1.44" floppies and covered one of the hold with black electrical tape which just happened to be pasted to my desk (as I had installed Datacentre a few days before and used electrical tape on some connectors - that's another story :) - so covering the second hole on the floppy, inserted the disk and ran a format/verify cycle and it worked(!) So now I'm pretty happy as I can use the 1.44" as temporary mediums (all risks acknowledged) and don't have to sell a kidney to buy another set of DSDD (which incidentally, I threw an entire black bin-liner full of into a skip about 10 years ago - still kicking myself over that one).

Next thing (and the original plan) was to put the drives in to the old Cumana housing using some 5.25"->3.5" drive cradles in place of the drives; but I decided instead to make a dual rig out of two old CD-Rom shells using the drive housing I purchased earlier - added some feet to the entire setup and it works a treat!

So to sum it up - yes, it's really easy to get the 3.5" drives up and running and yes 1.44" HD's can be used (with caution - YMMV). My total cost for the entire setup was $14.00 to get the 5.25"/3.5" FDD housing (Amazon sale). The "feet" were the lids of old mouthwash bottles hot-glued in place. Not the best looking but it works :)

Here's a piccy:-
bbc35drives.JPG

Apologies for the wall of text, but I JUST HAD to tell somebody. Hopefully, this will/can help somebody too!

Oh and just to say thanks to everyone who posted some great information which helped a lot - awesome community!

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 6693
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: ! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

Post by danielj » Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:23 am

Well done! :D it's really satisfying to get something to work :D

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 1323
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am
Contact:

Re: ! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

Post by Lardo Boffin » Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:48 am

At the risk of going off topic I see you are using Beebug C. I have recently got started using it and managed to get it running in ADFS on my CF card HDD connected to my datacentre - this way it compiles faster than from floppy.
I also want to use a co-processor to further speed it up but switching from a text editor to C run from the co-proc causes all sorts of issues. Have you tried this and got it working MrEe?
We don’t have a cat but it is still more interested in this stuff than my wife...
Last edited by Lardo Boffin on Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Acorn 6502 coproc
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc
USA Model B
BBC Master, Datacentre + HDD, pi co-proc, econet

User avatar
leenew
Posts: 3749
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:27 pm
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: ! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

Post by leenew » Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:47 am

Nice one :D

Lee.

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3328
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: ! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

Post by flaxcottage » Fri Sep 14, 2018 9:08 am

Love those orange feet! :lol:
- John
Image

MrEe
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:38 am
Contact:

Re: ! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

Post by MrEe » Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:00 pm

Lardo Boffin wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:48 am
At the risk of going off topic I see you are using Beebug C. I have recently got started using it and managed to get it running in ADFS on my CF card HDD connected to my datacentre - this way it compiles faster than from floppy.
I also want to use a co-processor to further speed it up but switching from a text editor to C run from the co-proc causes all sorts of issues. Have you tried this and got it working MrEe?
We don’t have a cat but it is still more interested in this stuff than my wife...
It's funny that you should mention Beebug-C setup; That's my next project (apart from setting up the GoTek drive). I'm just waiting on male pin-headers to arrive and then setup my co-processor. I'll let you know if I make any headway on this. However, I have Beebug-C working on FDD but it is slow (but the nostalgia is part of the fun). My only problem at the moment is, ironically, that I run out of disc space when linking my code - Acornsoft's ISO Pascal was way better at handling this. Using Wordwise-Plus to edit C code in mode 7 is awkward to say the least - curly braces - "{" translates to "1/4" and " } " translates to "3/4" lol. I'll give Acornsoft's View a try! Incidentally, are you using a Master or BBC B with Datacentre? I didn't have much luck with the CF card on the Beeb (although I must admit I didn't spend too much time with it - lack of ADFS etc.)

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 1323
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am
Contact:

Re: ! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

Post by Lardo Boffin » Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:06 pm

I tried the data centre in a model B to start with but eventually moved it to a Master. Being able to edit in mode 0 (mode 128 I think) with a full load of RAM is a major bonus. Plus ADFS and no wierd crashes or messages. Definitely recommended!
The problem I found was that if you write in an editor and then switch to co proc C (*CSP) it tramples on work spaces and C does’nt run. I had to switch off and on again each time. What is required is a text editor that actually runs in C. My misadventures can be found here - viewtopic.php?f=3&t=15201&hilit=Beebug
Last edited by Lardo Boffin on Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Acorn 6502 coproc
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc
USA Model B
BBC Master, Datacentre + HDD, pi co-proc, econet

MrEe
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:38 am
Contact:

Re: ! ! 3 1/2" PC Drive/s on a beeb ! !

Post by MrEe » Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:26 pm

Lardo Boffin wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:06 pm
I tried the data centre in a model B to start with but eventually moved it to a Master. Being able to edit in mode 0 (mode 128 I think) with a full load of RAM is a major bonus. Plus ADFS and no wierd crashes or messages. Definitely recommended!
The problem I found was that if you write in an editor and then switch to co proc C (*CSP) it tramples on work spaces and C does’nt run. I had to switch off and on again each time. What is required is a text editor that actually runs in C. My misadventures can be found here - viewtopic.php?f=3&t=15201&hilit=Beebug
Reading your linked thread about a month ago made me order the GoTek drive! (wonderful piece of kit BTW); I'm definitely going to have to check out a BBC Master. I empathise with the lack of in-built editor in C. Acornsoft Pascal is great in that respect, as it contains the in-built editor - really nice programming with it. Since my last reply, I got View running with Beebug-C and it seems quite good - you can *C into to compiler and *Word back to the editor with ease, plus I can code in Mode 3 at least.
Last edited by MrEe on Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply