BeebSID Enclosure

for bbc micro/electron hardware, peripherals & programming issues (NOT emulators!)
PitfallJones

BeebSID Enclosure

Post by PitfallJones » Fri May 24, 2013 11:49 am

Hi,

I'm thinking of putting my BeebSID in an enclosure.

I was wondering people who have already done this could post some pictures to give me some idea what to do. How many people out there are using BeebSIDs by the way?

I'm not that good at homemade stuff but I do have a drill so I'm good at circles - are they any techniques to cutting rectangular holes in plastic?
Come to think of it I guess a cardboard box might be easier than plastic.

I'll need three holes - a slot for the cable and holes for the power and phono which could be on extenders.
sid.jpg
sid.jpg (197.82 KiB) Viewed 428 times
- PJ

1024MAK

Re: BeebSID Enclosure

Post by 1024MAK » Fri May 24, 2013 4:58 pm

Ahh, making holes in plastic boxes... Remember practice makes perfect (and a pile of scrap rejects... :lol: )

Very much depends on how nice you want to make it vs. the amount of time, care and effort you want to put in to it.

For drilling use HSS metal drill bits. If you have a battery drill that can operate at a slow-ish speed (even better if it has a speed control), that is better than a full on mains powered drill. Plastic is soft and has a low melting point so you do not want to use a high speed.

At all times be careful. Only apply gentle pressure, you want the drill bit to do the work. If the drill bit is sharp, it may grab the plastic and get stuck forcing the plastic case to try to spin in your hand or trying to tear the plastic.

Also ensure that you do not slip and drill through your hand #-o [-X

Small Round Holes (up to 10mm - 25/64")