Faulty Acorn Electron

discuss both original and modern hardware for the bbc micro/electron
os72

Faulty Acorn Electron

Post by os72 » Sat Jul 25, 2020 7:03 pm

Hi there,

New member here - just purchased an Acorn Electron collection. The Acorn itself just shows a yellow screen with random red characters.

I have no experience with it, or the insides of it at all (see photo). This occurs with only the power supply and aerial lead connected.

Anyone seen anything like this or could point me in the right direction?

Thank you!
Attachments
IMG_3733.jpg

rmbrowngr

Re: Faulty Acorn Electron

Post by rmbrowngr » Sat Jul 25, 2020 8:28 pm

I would expect it’s a ULA issue. If it’s a pre-issue 6, pressing gently down on it might fix it. The alternative is removing the ULA and cleaning the pins with IPA. If you search a bit on this forum there are step-by-step instructions.

I had a similar issue with my issue 4 Elk and gently pressing the ULA cured it.
Richard B
Acorn Electrons issue 4 and 6, MRB, Plus 1, AP6, AP5, Pegasus 400, BeebSCSI, Gotek, Raspberry Pi, GoSDC MBE.
BBC B+ 64K (128K upgraded) with Duel OS, Raspberry Pi and Gotek.

roland

Post by roland » Sat Jul 25, 2020 8:54 pm

There was recently quite a large topic about screen problems and cleaning or reseating the ULA over here.
FPGAtom: 512 KB RAM, Real Time Clock and 64 colours
MAN WOMAN :shock:

os72

Post by os72 » Sun Jul 26, 2020 7:47 pm

Thanks for the tips!

I've tried pressing down, and also removing the ULA and cleaning it up, unfortunatley the screen doesn't change at all.

I was previously connecting it with an RF lead, found a RCA lead for the video output and tried that instead - exactly the same.

Time for the bin?

roland

Post by roland » Sun Jul 26, 2020 9:52 pm

os72 wrote:
Sun Jul 26, 2020 7:47 pm
Time for the bin?
NO

It can also be a faulty memory chip. The Electron is not so complicated that it cannot be repaired. Are you able to remove IC's from the board and replace them?