Electron Joysticks (and Creeping Madness...)

discuss both original and modern hardware for the bbc micro/electron
sourdust

Electron Joysticks (and Creeping Madness...)

Post by sourdust » Fri Mar 20, 2020 8:25 pm

Hello all,

I come seeking guidance on a frustrating "circular" hardware niggle. It's fairly obscure so I'm not expecting miracle solutions, but I'm an Acorn newbie so any and all pointers welcome. I promise I have already browsed this board, and Boobled extensively, without success.

I have two Electrons (after downsizing - I sold one!) both with Plus 1 interfaces. Deciding to learn more about them after keeping them in boxes for a decade or two, I invested in one of Ramtop's ElkSD+1s and a 9-pin digital joystick converter.

Here's the thing: I can't make any joystick work properly, nor can I make one fail consistently. Pretty much every game I load misbehaves in a different way. I'm going to focus on "Arcadians", because that's one I can load from SD or from an original cassette copy. Played with the keyboard, the game works as expected and all controls respond correctly. But with a stick... The game will start normally, and the joystick will respond correctly MOST of the time, except LEFT occasionally sticking... until I lose my first life. After that, neither LEFT nor RIGHT work at all (FIRE is okay), until the machine is hard reset. The player death sound effect no longer sounds on subsequent lives, although other sounds continue to work. Sometimes - not always - garbage text appears at the bottom of the screen at the same time as the partial joystick freeze.

So much, so annoying. But here's where the real head**ck starts. The behaviour described above is not altered by ANY of the following: