Wrecked Master Compact ADD04 base unit

discuss both original and modern hardware for the bbc micro/electron
jms2

Wrecked Master Compact ADD04 base unit

Post by jms2 »

I have a working Master Compact, but the base unit as I received it is in a heavily compromised condition (wrecked is overstating it, but there's not much left!) Specifically the following parts are missing:

- The front fascia
- The floppy drive and whatever support structure was present originally (there's just a void now)
- One of the feet

When I got it, my plan was to restore these missing bits as and when the opportunity arose. Needless to say, it never has! The key item is the fascia really, because obviously the drive(s) could be replaced quite easily.

So does anyone have a use for this fairly useless object (in which case I'd be happy to send it to you for the - substantial - cost of postage), or alternatively some suggestions as to how where I could source the missing bits.
tricky

Re: Wrecked Master Compact ADD04 base unit

Post by tricky »

I would be interested, but in all honesty, I would probably only get around to using the PSU unless a fascia came along, then I would take it to shows.
jms2

Post by jms2 »

I had better test it out - I am pretty sure it does work because I used it when I first got the machine, but whenever I use the Compact I just use an ordinary 5V power supply.
1024MAK

Post by 1024MAK »

John, is this an item for sale?

Or are you after the missing bits?

Mark
jms2

Post by jms2 »

I'm actually not sure Mark!

If someone has a fascia panel that they'd be prepared to sell, then I'd possibly buy it and restore the base unit to something close to its proper appearance.
Alternatively (and I think this is more plausible) , if someone else has a workable plan for it (such as using the psu, or maybe making the whole thing functional but without a fascia) then they can have it for nothing.