how to shift break to run !BOOT when in drive 1

discuss both original and modern hardware for the bbc micro/electron
Post Reply
rph
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 4:46 pm
Contact:

how to shift break to run !BOOT when in drive 1

Post by rph »

I have a dual drive set up with Drive 1 the 5 1/4 drive and the gotek set for drive 0.
Anyone know how to shift break to run !BOOT when in drive 1?
I *DRIVE 1, then want to run the !BOOT from the gotek which is drive 1, but no luck. I've gone through both floppy books that I have and a rummage online but no luck.
Any help appreciated.
Thanks
cmorley
Posts: 1404
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 8:11 pm
Location: Oxford
Contact:

Re: how to shift break to run !BOOT when in drive 1

Post by cmorley »

I don't think it is possible.
You need to *EXEC !BOOT, after changing to drive 1, instead.
User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 4404
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: how to shift break to run !BOOT when in drive 1

Post by flaxcottage »

The only way I know is to have a switch to swap the drive numbers. :?
- John

Check out the Educational Software Archive at www.flaxcottage.com
User avatar
gidandridge
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:50 pm
Location: Somewhere in Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: how to shift break to run !BOOT when in drive 1

Post by gidandridge »

I do this by just typing *DRIVE 1 and then pressing SHIFT-BREAK

"Works on my machine" :?
Gav. :D

BBC Model B Sidewise ROM Board, GoSDC, Datacentre, Hybrid Music 5000
Acorn Electron Plus 1, AP6, GoSDC, Slogger Pegasus 400
User avatar
BeebMaster
Posts: 3866
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Lost in the BeebVault!
Contact:

Re: how to shift break to run !BOOT when in drive 1

Post by BeebMaster »

The 8271 DFS defaults to drive 0 when using SHIFT-BREAK so you can't autoboot from drive 1 (or 2 or 3). You'd have to use *EXEC !BOOT if OPT is 3 or *RUN !BOOT if OPT is 2.

Master 1770 DFS (probably the same for Model B 1770) does remember the drive on SHIFT-BREAK so it will autoboot the currently selected drive.
Image
User avatar
BeebMaster
Posts: 3866
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Lost in the BeebVault!
Contact:

Re: how to shift break to run !BOOT when in drive 1

Post by BeebMaster »

Hmmm....correction...Master 1770 DFS doesn't allow SHIFT-BREAK from drive 1 after all, I thought it did!

2.24, 2.28 and 2.45 all look at drive 0 after *DRIVE 1 then SHIFT-BREAK.

I don't have a 1770 Model B, but the Acorn Disc System User Guide issue 2 says this on the subject:
Chapter 5 wrote:As far as the Disc Filing System is concerned, hard break is the same as switching the computer off and then on again. The directory and library are set to :0.$ and any open files are forgotten about. Data written to a file which is still open may be lost. (Cold start.)
When you do a soft break, the Disc Filing System preserves its status, ie the directory and library remain the same, and open files remain open, but again
— data may be lost. (Warm start.)
If you press SHIFT BREAK to make the Disc Filing System auto-start using the !BOOT file, the Disc Filing System does a cold start as per CTRL BREAK .
And it appears to be hard-coded to drive 0 anyway:
Chapter 4 wrote:Auto-start facilities
Sometimes it is useful to make a program or a file on one of your discs *LOAD, *RUN or *EXEC automatically when you insert the disc and press SHIFT and BREAK . This can be done using a file named !BOOT. !BOOT is a special file name recognised by the filing system when you start the computer by pressing SHIFT BREAK . If there is a file of specification
:0.$.!BOOT
the filing system will do one of four things according to the option set on the disc using *OPT 4,n
This behaviour is confirmed in the 1770 addendum:
Addendum 2 wrote:Normally, discs are booted-in by using SHIFT and BREAK ( or SHIFT D BREAK if DFS is not your default filing system). This procedure will automatically *EXEC a file called !BOOT from drive 0.
Image
rph
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 4:46 pm
Contact:

Re: how to shift break to run !BOOT when in drive 1

Post by rph »

The *EXEC seems to work a treat. Time to load up Snapper for the kids.!
User avatar
BeebMaster
Posts: 3866
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Lost in the BeebVault!
Contact:

Re: how to shift break to run !BOOT when in drive 1

Post by BeebMaster »

gidandridge wrote:
Sat Dec 28, 2019 2:43 pm
I do this by just typing *DRIVE 1 and then pressing SHIFT-BREAK

"Works on my machine" :?
What hardware & software are you using? I don't get that behaviour here.
Image
User avatar
gidandridge
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:50 pm
Location: Somewhere in Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: how to shift break to run !BOOT when in drive 1

Post by gidandridge »

BeebMaster wrote:
Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:24 pm
gidandridge wrote:
Sat Dec 28, 2019 2:43 pm
I do this by just typing *DRIVE 1 and then pressing SHIFT-BREAK

"Works on my machine" :?
What hardware & software are you using? I don't get that behaviour here.
Umm :oops: ... RetroClinic RamFS :roll:

Sorry! Seems I've been using DataCenter quite a lot over the last few weeks and have taken its behaviour for granted. Checked using my 1770 DFS with my PACE Drives and yes, embarrassingly ....

"Doesn't work on my machine" #-o

* slopes away *
Gav. :D

BBC Model B Sidewise ROM Board, GoSDC, Datacentre, Hybrid Music 5000
Acorn Electron Plus 1, AP6, GoSDC, Slogger Pegasus 400
Post Reply

Return to “8-bit acorn hardware”