Please run a little test on your Electron

discuss both original and modern hardware for the bbc micro/electron
Post Reply
User avatar
0xC0DE
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by 0xC0DE »

My latest demo effects on the Acorn Electron rely on 100% accurate timing (cycle counting). I've only got issue 6 Electrons (and German issue 1) to test on. I'm a bit worried that my timing may be off on earlier models of the Electron. Or with various peripherals attached.

So, anybody owning an Electron (even issue 6) with a minute to spare, please run the little test below.
After loading and running the test it should quite quickly produce the exact image as shown here:

grid.png

If it takes too long to appear that means the timing is off. If the image is moving or misaligned that also means the timing is off.
Edit: also, if some scanlines are flickering that may mean that the two fields of the interlaced display are misaligned.

Please report your results (even if OK) and the hardware configuration you tested it on.
Thank you very much!

Disk image:
grid.ssd
(200 KiB) Downloaded 30 times

Tape image:
grid.uef
(14.67 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
Last edited by 0xC0DE on Fri Oct 04, 2019 10:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
0xC0DE
"I program my home computer / Beam myself into the future"
:arrow: Follow me on Twitter
:arrow: Visit my YouTube channel featuring my games and demos for Acorn Electron and BBC Micro
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 10566
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by 1024MAK »

I have three Elks (can’t remember which boards they have).

I’ll see what I can do this weekend...

Mark
User avatar
0xC0DE
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by 0xC0DE »

1024MAK wrote:
Fri Oct 04, 2019 10:48 pm
I’ll see what I can do this weekend...
Great, thanks!
0xC0DE
"I program my home computer / Beam myself into the future"
:arrow: Follow me on Twitter
:arrow: Visit my YouTube channel featuring my games and demos for Acorn Electron and BBC Micro
Ramtop
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by Ramtop »

Works fine on my Issue 4 and Issue 6.
Gary
User avatar
0xC0DE
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by 0xC0DE »

Ramtop wrote:
Fri Oct 04, 2019 11:48 pm
Works fine on my Issue 4 and Issue 6.
Great! Thanks for testing. No peripherals attached while testing?
0xC0DE
"I program my home computer / Beam myself into the future"
:arrow: Follow me on Twitter
:arrow: Visit my YouTube channel featuring my games and demos for Acorn Electron and BBC Micro
Ramtop
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 1:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by Ramtop »

ElkSD64 for loading the disk image, but nothing else.
Gary
User avatar
rmbrowngr
Posts: 445
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Dionysos, Greece
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by rmbrowngr »

Tested it on my Issue 6 with MRB, plus1, AP6 and Pegasus 400+Gotek. In normal mode, momentarily data on the screen at the bottom and then red grid lines. Turbo mode, momentarily data on the screen at the bottom and then red grid lines with flickering and corruption. Shadow+Turbo mode blank screen only.

Issue 4 + GoSDC works just fine.
Richard B
Acorn Electrons issue 4 and 6, MRB, Plus 1, AP6, AP5, Pegasus 400, BeebSCSI, Gotek, Raspberry Pi, GoSDC MBE.
BBC B+ 64K (128K upgraded) with Duel OS, Raspberry Pi and Gotek.
User avatar
0xC0DE
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by 0xC0DE »

rmbrowngr wrote:
Sat Oct 05, 2019 7:33 pm
Tested it on my Issue 6 with MRB

Issue 4 + GoSDC works just fine.
Thanks for taking the time to test it on your 2 Electrons, very much appreciated!
0xC0DE
"I program my home computer / Beam myself into the future"
:arrow: Follow me on Twitter
:arrow: Visit my YouTube channel featuring my games and demos for Acorn Electron and BBC Micro
VectorEyes
Posts: 406
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by VectorEyes »

I'm afraid my one and only Electron is locked away at the moment otherwise I would run the test!

I just wanted to say that when I've been trying to get stable raster effects working I've found it very useful to have some lines on the screen that are actually part of the screen memory, not just created by stable raster palette swapping. For instance I often have an entirely red line across the top of the screen and an entirely green one on the bottom. That way it's possible to check that you haven't accidentally moved the vertical alignment (not really a problem on the Electron as I understand it) and also that your raster-based-effects are correctly aligned with the 'actual screen contents'.
User avatar
0xC0DE
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by 0xC0DE »

Thanks VectorEyes and, please, your Electron deserves to be out in the open not locked away [-X :mrgreen:
0xC0DE
"I program my home computer / Beam myself into the future"
:arrow: Follow me on Twitter
:arrow: Visit my YouTube channel featuring my games and demos for Acorn Electron and BBC Micro
User avatar
vanekp
Posts: 975
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2000 7:09 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by vanekp »

Runs fine on my issue 4 Electron running from ElkSD64.
Peter.
User avatar
0xC0DE
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by 0xC0DE »

Thanks Peter!
0xC0DE
"I program my home computer / Beam myself into the future"
:arrow: Follow me on Twitter
:arrow: Visit my YouTube channel featuring my games and demos for Acorn Electron and BBC Micro
User avatar
0xC0DE
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by 0xC0DE »

Any other testers with an Electron and a minute to spare?
Especially looking for test results on an issue 2 Electron, or any Electron with some hardware add-ons.
0xC0DE
"I program my home computer / Beam myself into the future"
:arrow: Follow me on Twitter
:arrow: Visit my YouTube channel featuring my games and demos for Acorn Electron and BBC Micro
User avatar
rmbrowngr
Posts: 445
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Dionysos, Greece
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by rmbrowngr »

0xC0DE wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:52 pm
Any other testers with an Electron and a minute to spare?
Especially looking for test results on an issue 2 Electron, or any Electron with some hardware add-ons.
Can additonally test with hardware extensions:

AP5, AP6, Plus 1, BeebSCSI, Pegasus 400 and Raspberry PI 2nd Processor all plugged in together

Or

Electron with MMFS MicroSD from Ramtop

Of interest?
Richard B
Acorn Electrons issue 4 and 6, MRB, Plus 1, AP6, AP5, Pegasus 400, BeebSCSI, Gotek, Raspberry Pi, GoSDC MBE.
BBC B+ 64K (128K upgraded) with Duel OS, Raspberry Pi and Gotek.
User avatar
0xC0DE
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by 0xC0DE »

Definitely! All plugged in together or separately please. Thanks so much!
0xC0DE
"I program my home computer / Beam myself into the future"
:arrow: Follow me on Twitter
:arrow: Visit my YouTube channel featuring my games and demos for Acorn Electron and BBC Micro
User avatar
rmbrowngr
Posts: 445
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:46 pm
Location: Dionysos, Greece
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by rmbrowngr »

With AP5, AP6, Plus 1, BeebSCSI, Pegasus 400 it works just fine. If I add the Raspberry PI 2nd Processor with the standard 6502 it doesn't work.

For MMFS MicroSD Mk1 from Ramtop, I'll need to find a Micro SD card small enough (no bigger than 8gb). I had one I was using, but I've put it somewhere safe; so safe I can't find it. #-o
Last edited by rmbrowngr on Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Richard B
Acorn Electrons issue 4 and 6, MRB, Plus 1, AP6, AP5, Pegasus 400, BeebSCSI, Gotek, Raspberry Pi, GoSDC MBE.
BBC B+ 64K (128K upgraded) with Duel OS, Raspberry Pi and Gotek.
User avatar
0xC0DE
Posts: 875
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:52 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Please run a little test on your Electron

Post by 0xC0DE »

Richard, you are the man! Thanks for taking the time to test all these configurations for me =D> =D> =D>
0xC0DE
"I program my home computer / Beam myself into the future"
:arrow: Follow me on Twitter
:arrow: Visit my YouTube channel featuring my games and demos for Acorn Electron and BBC Micro
Post Reply

Return to “8-bit acorn hardware”