Need help connecting BBC Master to Internet

for bbc micro/electron hardware, peripherals & programming issues (NOT emulators!)
arnuphis

Need help connecting BBC Master to Internet

Post by arnuphis » Thu Jun 21, 2018 7:05 pm

Hello everyone.
I have a BBC master with Datacenter. I recently got a USR-WIFI232-602 V2 Serial RS232 to Wireless device and I would lilke to connect my Beeb to this for the purpose of going to a BBS sites via the internet. There is scattered information all over the place but I would like a noob friendly guide to getting up and running.

Firstly I need a pin out guide for the RS port on the beeb to the standard 9 bin serial port on the wireless device.
Next what is the best way to configure the device to work with the beeb. Would love to see what settings other people used.
Finally what software should I use on the Beeb? I tried getting the Comstar rom but I get 'Bad Name' every time I tried to SRLOAD it. I have the terminal rom but I don't have a list of commands it uses.

I know from the various posts on this site and others that people have been successful but I need a guide in one place to help me (and others) get this going.

Thanks in advance.

MartinB

Re: Need help connecting BBC Master to Internet

Post by MartinB » Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:26 pm

Here’s a modem wiring diagram I posted for someone else doing something similar with a Wimodem232 and this assumes that the modem has a 25-way D-Type serial connector. If yours has a 9-way connector, you can simply read-across the signal names for the modem pin numbers. ( So 2:TXD 3:RXD 5:GND 7:CTS 8:RTS )

40BA24D4-EFA9-407D-B275-D6FA394A9D0D.jpeg

Edited at least 6 times because that’s how I’ve always tuned posts for the last 10+ years on here... :lol:
Last edited by MartinB on Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:00 pm, edited 6 times in total.

danielj

Post by danielj » Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:02 pm

MartinB wrote:
Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:26 pm