Matchbox co-processor new users

for bbc micro/electron hardware, peripherals & programming issues (NOT emulators!)
jonb

Matchbox co-processor new users

Post by jonb » Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:36 am

Hi there

I'm about to receive a matchbox co-processor. Can we have a discussion about it from the noobie perspective? Are there any documents, web pages or other how-to guides out there?

I have two use cases. One, a 6502 co processor for running Tube Elite. The other, a Z80 co processor for running CP/M. I'm looking for guidance on how to configure these setups, and let's assume I have no prior knowledge.

For CP/M I would like to have some sort of emulated hard drive. I have a MMC device and sideways RAM (both Sprow's).

Cheers
JonB
:D

jonb

Re: Matchbox co-processor new users

Post by jonb » Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:59 am

I guess we might start with this thread...

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9994

fordp

Post by fordp » Tue Dec 22, 2015 9:42 am

I suggest we crowd source a user guide here:

https://github.com/hoglet67/CoPro6502/wiki
FordP (Simon Ellwood)
Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so!

Lardo Boffin

Post by Lardo Boffin » Fri Dec 25, 2015 9:56 am

Merry Christmas! (Edit for extra info).

Not sure how noob you are but:

You need a DNFS ROM to run a co-proc.

If you have never connected a co-proc to your Beeb you may find it doesn't work due to a build up of dust etc. on the connectors. I had that - I had to plug and unplug my Acorn 6502 about 10 times to get it to work.

In order to run CP/M you will need discs set up. I have an environment running under BeebEm on my PC while waiting for my matchbox. You can download the Acorn discs from the Internet. I think i got mine from http://mdfs.net/Mirror/Image/AcornCPM/

You will need to download a PDF of the Acorn
Z80 user guide. Try this http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... dproc.html

More precise link to user manual. http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... procUG.pdf