Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

chat about arc/risc pc gaming & RISC OS software here (NOT the core OS!)Related forum: adventures


User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:53 pm

Error from Zip Filer:
The drive is no responding - is it plugged in?
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
helpful
Posts: 451
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:18 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by helpful » Mon Apr 02, 2018 5:25 pm

RobC wrote:There's a self-extracting version of SparkFS here.
To be pedantic :-D that's a read only version of SparkPlug. For a read only version of SparkFS go here.
RISC OS User Group Of London - http://www.rougol.jellybaby.net/
RISC OS London Show - http://www.riscoslondonshow.co.uk/

RobC
Posts: 2225
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by RobC » Mon Apr 02, 2018 6:05 pm

number-one wrote:Error from Zip Filer:
The drive is no responding - is it plugged in?
I've had this error from a machine with a damaged parallel port (admittedly it was an A3020 where the battery is nearer to the port). If the drive is known to be good, it's worth checking the connections to the parallel port with a meter.
helpful wrote:To be pedantic that's a read only version of SparkPlug. For a read only version of SparkFS go here.
True - I always get the two confused! :oops:

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Wed Apr 04, 2018 2:23 pm

flaxcottage wrote: 2. Load !SparkFS into your A3010 from another floppy disk (assuming that you have already loaded !System, !Scrap, !Fonts, etc from a system floppy)..
RobC wrote:There are some copies of the RO 3.1 Applications disks here.

There's a self-extracting version of SparkFS here. You can save it to a DOS format floppy and then set the type to BASIC and run it to generate a working (read-only) version of SparkFS.
below the contents of the files from here:
App1.adf
App1.adf.png
App1.zip
App1.zip.png
App2.zip
App2.zip.png
on my A3010 I have RiscOS version 3.10 roms only
I recreated only the floppy App1.adf
I launched by clicking on it !System, !Fonts, !SparkPlug! and !Zip
Zip_error.JPG
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3117
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by flaxcottage » Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:09 pm

That last image is worrying if the Zip drive is plugged into the parallel port and powered on.

Are both the parallel port and Zip drive known to be working?
- John

Why do I keep collecting Acorn gear? I'm going to need a considerably bigger man-cave. :?

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:28 pm

I am not sure about required files from system disk.

For example I am not launched !Scrap missing of App1.adf.
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3117
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by flaxcottage » Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:36 pm

The best way to test this is to make up a disc containing;

!System,
!Fonts
!Scrap
!Zip

This is shown below (actually a RAM disc on my A5000, I know. :) )
Disc image.jpg
Once you have this disk set up, reboot your machine and open the floppy so that it appears similar to above. This way the OS knows about !System, !Fonts, !Scrap and !Zip. There is no need to click on !System, !Fonts or !Scrap - leave them well alone. Now click on !Zip, having made sure your Zip drive is connected to the printer port and that it is powered on. The Zip drive icon should show blue on the icon bar and will say 'no disc' if the drive is empty or will show the name of the disc if one is inserted.

If the icon stays grey and !Zip reports it cannot find the drive you have a problem in your printer port, the cable to the zip drive or in the zip drive itself. Without known working examples of these three you will be unable to trouble shoot further. :?
- John

Why do I keep collecting Acorn gear? I'm going to need a considerably bigger man-cave. :?

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Fri Apr 06, 2018 4:15 pm

I tested successfully my Zip 250 drive // with a 100 MB floppy on a Windows XP PC.
I formated it FAT system and copied some files.

With the Partis Zip 250 driver lite my drive reacted (not the case with your driver here)
but I have this error:
IMG-0578.JPG
http://www.partis.org/support/main.php?cmd=Downloads

http://www.partis.org/support/downloads/ziplit.zip

http://www.partis.org/shop/main.php?sub ... bq0h7fq031
IMG-0579.JPG
A3010 4 MB Ram

steve3000
Posts: 1874
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by steve3000 » Fri Apr 06, 2018 5:22 pm

Interesting read. I've not managed to get a 250mb Zip parallel drive working with the original Iomega !Zip driver myself (on my A5000 and A4000), but I regularly use my 100mb Zip drive with this driver (although not a big problem for me as I only have a single 250mb disc in my collection!). Question for those in the know: Is there a later version of the Iomega !Zip application which works with 250mb, or should all versions work?

The driver by Gary Partis is interesting and certainly should work based on the information on his website, but the one time I tried this on my A5000, I got a similar internal error after one of the drive icons was clicked, so I didn't investigate further. I suspected at the time that it needed a full RISC OS !Boot structure and possibly the later window manager, neither of which I had installed on my computers. You could try contacting Gary on his website, as he may still support this?

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3117
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by flaxcottage » Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:00 pm

All my parallel port zip drives are 100Mb. I have an IDE 100Mb drive built into an XP machine and a 250Mb USB drive.

The 250Mb drive has not been tested on my A3010 - A5000 machines for obvious reasons. :?

The 100Mb drives work perfectly with the driver I uploaded. Some 100Mb discs, however, will not take RISCOS formatting only FAT. Some 100Mb discs, which worked under FAT, were destroyed when attempting to format under RISCOS. The medium is not very reliable when used intensively but for rarely used backups it is useful.
- John

Why do I keep collecting Acorn gear? I'm going to need a considerably bigger man-cave. :?

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Sun May 06, 2018 9:05 am

I bought a Zip 100 // drive, it works perfectly with the driver here (without motherboard modification).

Is there a way the archimedes boot on zip floppy ?
A3010 4 MB Ram

sirbod
Posts: 846
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:44 am
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by sirbod » Mon May 07, 2018 7:38 am

number-one wrote:Is there a way the archimedes boot on zip floppy ?
Not directly, you'd need to boot from floppy and have that load the drivers and switch to boot from the ZIP.

It's possible to put drivers into Podule ROM's, but you obviously need a suitable device with a flash ROM you could reprogram. I seem to recall the ZIP driver Module is quite large, so ignoring the fact your machine possibly doesn't support Podules, it may not fit anyway.

Some Archimedes support a 5th column ROM (A4? / A5000) which can be used for additional drivers.

Your final option is to create a bespoke RISC OS ROM with the drivers added to it, which although not difficult, does require some effort and the right equipment.

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Mon May 07, 2018 9:08 am

sirbod wrote: Not directly, you'd need to boot from floppy and have that load the drivers and switch to boot from the ZIP.
OK, what are the commands to reboot on ZIP ?

This lines works for a 1.6 MB floppy from viewtopic.php?f=16&t=13905&start=60#p201988

Code: Select all

*conf. filesystem ADFS
*conf. drive 0
*conf. boot
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: Moon Base Alpha
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by lcww1 » Mon May 07, 2018 9:47 am

number-one wrote:OK, what are the commands to reboot on ZIP ?
Once you’ve loaded the Zip driver from floppy, try the following:

Code: Select all

*conf. filesystem izipfs
*conf. boot
you’ll need to set the Zip disc to be bootable:

Code: Select all

*izipfs
*opt 4,2
then try a shift-break and see what happens! (of course, remember to have the !Boot app installed on your Zip disc :wink:

sirbod
Posts: 846
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:44 am
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by sirbod » Mon May 07, 2018 9:58 am

number-one wrote:what are the commands to reboot on ZIP ?
You'll need a bootable floppy (*OPT 4,3) with the ZIP drivers copied to it and a !BOOT file in the root of type Command. Within the !BOOT file load the ZIP drivers and then boot from the ZIP, something along the lines of:

Code: Select all

!Zip
*iZipFS
!Boot

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: Moon Base Alpha
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by lcww1 » Mon May 07, 2018 10:11 am

I just tried the method I suggested above, and though the machine went through the motions, it didn’t actually run the !Boot app from the Zip disc, though I didn’t get any error messages, and I can’t really see why it didn’t work. I ended up on the desktop, with a greyed out Zip drive icon.

The method sirbod suggests might work better. You can’t fit the Zip driver onto the !Internet !Boot floppy that I prepared for you though - there’s just not enough space on one 1.6Mb floppy for that! So, you’ll need to make a minimal !Boot app for the floppy, as sirbod suggests, and then load everything else from Zip, if you can get the machine to run a !Boot app from the Zip ......

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Mon May 07, 2018 1:31 pm

with the method Sirbod the archimedes doesn't boot on the Zip Floppy:
IMG-0705.JPG
If I clic on the Zip floppy icon:
IMG-0706.JPG
A3010 4 MB Ram

sirbod
Posts: 846
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:44 am
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by sirbod » Mon May 07, 2018 3:10 pm

The ZIP Filer is probably starting the Wimp, try just “*RMLoad !Zip.iZipFS” instead of running the Zip app.

I don’t have a ZIP, so you’ll need to do some trial and error to see what you need to load for the ZIP to be accessible.

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Mon May 07, 2018 3:42 pm

same error
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: Moon Base Alpha
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by lcww1 » Mon May 07, 2018 5:36 pm

Ok, I’ve got this to work! :D
I somehow couldn't resist :lol:

Anyhow, following sirbod’s instructions, and taking a peek in the !Run file within the !Zip app led me to writing the following !Boot command file for the ADFS floppy:
59C45BE9-E3EF-4BA5-9792-210FE5016AD5.jpeg
!Boot command file for the floppy disc
Obviously, you need to configure the A3010 filsystem default to be ADFS, configure it to boot from drive 0 and set the floppy to boot using *opt 4,2
You can use the !Edit app to create the !Boot command file, save it on the floppy and then set the type of the !Boot file to Command, as per sirbod’s instructions.

This !Boot file will trigger your machine to run the !Boot app on your Zip disc, which should be in the drive, ready and waiting! I suggest you put the uniboot !Boot system onto you Zip disc, if you can. That will then give you the full internet stack, after booting. You’ll need to use the !InetSetup app to configure the TCP/IP settings, and that app should show up in your Apps desktop folder after successfully booting the uniboot system.

Here’s my machine doing this floppy/zip boot thing:
11F65B2D-D22B-4B49-9A89-1763E931C130.jpeg
Floppy/Zip boot!
Lastly, in order to have the Zip drive icon show up on your desktop at the end of the boot sequence, add the following line to the Desktop file in the !Boot.Choices.Boot directory on the Zip drive (it’s the line at the bottom that you need to add):
C3691B0F-7DAD-48D6-8390-B13D086432A0.jpeg
Launch ZipFiler at boot
I hope that gets you up and running number-one!

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Mon May 07, 2018 6:24 pm

It is wonderful, many thanks !
I will try tomorrow.

Where can I download uniboot ? Does it contain FTPc ?
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: Moon Base Alpha
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by lcww1 » Mon May 07, 2018 7:02 pm

number-one wrote:Where can I download uniboot ? Does it contain FTPc ?
You can use DOS floppies to get uniboot onto your Zip disc using your A3010.

Just follow the step by step instructions here:http://www.snowstone.org.uk/riscos/docu ... ewold.html

FTPc isn’t part of uniboot, but uniboot contains everything you need to get FTPc running :D

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: Moon Base Alpha
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by lcww1 » Mon May 07, 2018 7:04 pm

Download the uniboot parts for transfer to DOS floppy from here:

http://www.snowstone.org.uk/riscos/docu ... istro.html

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Tue May 08, 2018 12:42 pm

My A3010 reboot fine on Floppy Zip 100 with files of network foppy.

It not show the lines inside !Boot after 4096K like your lcww1.
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Thu May 10, 2018 9:06 am

I installed Fancyboot 3 on the Zip floppy (because the link for uniboot is broken here)

The A3010 boot fine expect ZipFiler.

But with the Internet configured I have this error on reboot:
IMG-0726.JPG
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: Moon Base Alpha
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by lcww1 » Thu May 10, 2018 6:40 pm

number-one wrote:I installed Fancyboot 3 on the Zip floppy (because the link for uniboot is broken here)

The A3010 boot fine expect ZipFiler.

But with the Internet configured I have this error on reboot:
IMG-0726.JPG

Hmmm, I didn’t know about that link being broken - also not sure about your module memory error, as I’ve not tried fancyboot myself.

Try using uniboot from this source - https://www.retro-kit.co.uk/UniBoot - now that you’ve got a means of transferring large files, just download the Uniboot 2 single archive, and give that a go - that should just work!

sirbod
Posts: 846
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:44 am
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by sirbod » Fri May 11, 2018 12:23 pm

The memory Error possibly means what it says. During parts of the boot sequence the RMA can’t be dynamically resized. This is normally got around by oversizing the RMA early in the boot and then reducing it after.

I would guess Fancyboot doesn’t do that, so it probably just needs the RMA increased via *Configure

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Tue May 15, 2018 12:38 pm

You are receiving this notification because you are watching the topic
"Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers" at "stardot.org.uk". This topic has
received a reply by EtchedPixels since your last visit.
Where is the message of EtchedPixel ?
A3010 4 MB Ram

Post Reply