Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

chat about arc/risc pc gaming & RISC OS software here (NOT the core OS!)Related forum: adventures


User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3240
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by flaxcottage » Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:59 pm

Attached is a copy of the drivers for the Iomega ZIP100 parallel port external drive. I use these for backing up my A5000 and the Level 4 Econet storage on my A3020.

They will work on A3020, A4000, A5000 with certainty. I have not tested on other machines, though there is a folder with RISCOS 4 components :?: .

Once the !Zip application is loaded *help izipfs at the command prompt will list the low-level commands. *help <command name> will give info on that command.

Works very well on my A3020. The only problems I encountered are that some second-hand disks will not format to the Acorn ZIP format. Sometimes using *IzipErase at the command prompt will totally wipe the disc and then allow it to be formatted. Sometimes it trashes the disc. :(

The attached zip file should only be opened in RISCOS otherwise all the file types will be set to random values and the files renamed. !SparkFS was used to create the zip file. The read-only version can unzip it.
Attachments
zipdrive.zip
(76.92 KiB) Downloaded 284 times
- John
Image

User avatar
Estrayk
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by Estrayk » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:00 pm

(Sorry for up this old thread)
I have tested it and it works perfectly with a my parallel ZIP drive on my A3010, but it would be great if the disks I have formatted in ADFS could read them on my USB ZIP drive in Windows to transfer files. :cry:

Is there any way I can read ZIP disks in ADFS on Windows?
Or Is there any way to read FAT32 disks in RiscOS 3.10?

thanks

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3240
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by flaxcottage » Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:27 pm

Not that I have found. :(

I transfer files betwixt PC and Archimedes using PC-format floppy discs. They are old school but the A3010 can read 1.44Mb formatted PC discs. I use a USB floppy drive and that is just fine. File types can be a problem if transferring applications. The problem is alleviated by zipping on the Archimedes and transferring the zip file to PC for backing up. Data files transfer OK, eg. text files, wmf files, draw files, etc.
- John
Image

steve3000
Posts: 1886
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by steve3000 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:21 pm

Estrayk wrote: Or Is there any way to read FAT32 disks in RiscOS 3.10?
thanks
Did I miss something, surely this is what everyone does?

Just 5 minutes ago tonight I finished transferring some files from my Windows 7 laptop (connected to a 250mb usb zip drive) using a PC format 100mb Zip disc, to my A5000 fitted with a parallel port Zip drive, running Iomega zip drivers, !Zip.

Is that what you're asking?

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3240
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by flaxcottage » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:18 am

Interesting that you have done that, Steve.

My version of Windows 7 does not recognise any PC-Format zip discs on my USB 250 Mb zip drive. The drive is recognised but discs will not read/write. The drive is recognised on my Vista laptop and read/write work OK. WinXP works perfectly, of course. :D

On my A5000 PC-format zip discs are reported as unformatted. :( :?
- John
Image

User avatar
Estrayk
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by Estrayk » Thu Sep 21, 2017 12:43 pm

steve3000 wrote:
Estrayk wrote: Or Is there any way to read FAT32 disks in RiscOS 3.10?
thanks
Did I miss something, surely this is what everyone does?

Just 5 minutes ago tonight I finished transferring some files from my Windows 7 laptop (connected to a 250mb usb zip drive) using a PC format 100mb Zip disc, to my A5000 fitted with a parallel port Zip drive, running Iomega zip drivers, !Zip.

Is that what you're asking?
Hmmm....
If I format a 100mb ZIP-disk with my WIndows (FAT16) -Iomega ZIP100 USB-, RiscOS 3.10 in my Acorn A3010 dont recognize it. It says "unformatted"
I dont understand nothing. how is possible?

How do you format the zip disks in Windows 7? with RIGHT-BUTTON format option at icon or with "diskpart" command-line-prompt?

:-k :-k :-k
flaxcottage wrote:I
On my A5000 PC-format zip discs are reported as unformatted. :( :?
Same here. :(

User avatar
Estrayk
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by Estrayk » Thu Sep 21, 2017 1:45 pm

I made a video of the process:

https://youtu.be/nsDvl6rAlaY

steve3000
Posts: 1886
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by steve3000 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:13 pm

Estrayk wrote:Hmmm....
If I format a 100mb ZIP-disk with my WIndows (FAT16) -Iomega ZIP100 USB-, RiscOS 3.10 in my Acorn A3010 dont recognize it. It says "unformatted"
I dont understand nothing. how is possible?
Maybe my Iomega drivers are different (they came with the drive, not from here)? Do you have the option to format zip discs as PC format on your A3010? This is what I do (as I couldn't work out how to do this under win7...but the information above will be very useful :))

I'll download the drivers above and try tonight....

User avatar
Estrayk
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by Estrayk » Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:18 pm

steve3000 wrote: Do you have the option to format zip discs as PC format on your A3010?
Ermmm... nope. :(

I did not know that there were two kind of drivers for the zip drives. Can you share that driver? Or its is commercial?

Trapper
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:59 am
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by Trapper » Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:55 pm

I can format my Zip discs as FAT both on RISC OS (using !Zip and Partis drivers) and then read on my PC via a 250MB USB drive. I'm running the latest release of x64 Windows 10 so drivers aren't a problem.

I can also format the zip disc in Windows as FAT and it reads on my A3010 with a parallel zip drive.

Weird.

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3240
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by flaxcottage » Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:35 pm

Weird indeed. :?
- John
Image

User avatar
Estrayk
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by Estrayk » Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:38 pm

Fixed. If I format the disk with A3010, it works in Windows. Now, I can transfer files easy!!! thanks to all.

steve3000
Posts: 1886
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by steve3000 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:21 pm

Estrayk wrote:Fixed. If I format the disk with A3010, it works in Windows. Now, I can transfer files easy!!! thanks to all.
Glad you sorted it. :)

FYI I've just tried the zip drivers attached at the top of the thread and they are identical to the drivers I'm using, so everyone should be able to use them to read/write/format DOS zip discs... But sounds like best practice is to format zip discs as DOS under RISC OS, to avoid compatibility issues.

crj
Posts: 834
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by crj » Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:59 pm

My guess: Windows by default treats a Zip drive as a hard drive and installs a partition table. RISC OS is intended to handle floppies, so expects a disc where the FAT32 filesystem begins right at the start of the disk.

In my experience, regardless of how Windows formats a disc, in practice it will accept discs both with and without a partition table, which would explain why it mattered which computer you used to do the formatting.

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 7869
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by 1024MAK » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:33 pm

Slightly off topic, but may still give an insight...

MO discs (Wikipedia page here) can be formatted as either a "floppy" format or a "HDD" format on a Windows PC using the MO application software. But I think Windows own dialog only does the "HDD" format (it does not give a "floppy" format option). Not that a low format is actually done. Given how quick it is, it can only be writing a high level file system"format".

Mark
For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk NOW!
BeebWiki‬ - for answers to many questions...

steve3000
Posts: 1886
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by steve3000 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:38 pm

crj wrote:My guess: Windows by default treats a Zip drive as a hard drive and installs a partition table.
Quite possibly that's why the discs don't work with the Iomega driver, although it's not because RISC OS was only "intended to handle floppies" (since RISC OS was intended to handle hard discs from the outset :)) but more because the author of the Argo ZIP drivers (the ones in the first post) chose only to support floppy implementation.

It is entirely up to the author of the driver as to what disc and partition formats they write their drivers to accept. Other ZIP drivers exist under RISC OS and accept different implementations - check out the drivers from Gary Partis here: http://www.partis.org/acorn/main.php - I believe these work with partitioned discs :) (although they are still commercial, but a read only demo is available :) )

The Argo Zip drivers from the first post can also be downloaded from here: http://downloads.orpheusweb.co.uk/pub/RISCOS/Argo/Zip/

steve3000
Posts: 1886
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by steve3000 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:47 pm

During experimenting with the different drivers tonight, I noticed an incredibly useful *command with the Argo Zip drivers which completely erases password-protected Zip discs: *IZipErase

This is useful because you cannot reformat password protected Zip discs unless you know the password... I know that in the past, I was able to erase password protected discs using the Iomega Zip tool under Windows 95/98 and possibly XP, but this hasn't worked in several versions of Windows - and I realised a year or two ago that I've accumulated a hand full of forgotten-password protected Zip discs and had no way to reformat them.

If you're ever in this situation, just load the Argo Zip driver, insert the protected disc, press f12, type *IZipErase, wait for the disc to spin up, then return to the desktop, and you'll see the Zip icon counting up in % from 0 to 100%. It takes about 10 minutes per disc, but once complete, you can reformat and use the disc again :)

crj
Posts: 834
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by crj » Fri Sep 22, 2017 4:43 am

steve3000 wrote:although it's not because RISC OS was only "intended to handle floppies" (since RISC OS was intended to handle hard discs from the outset :))
Sorry - I should have been more precise.

The DOS filesystem support in RISC OS 3 was only intended to handle floppies.

steve3000
Posts: 1886
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by steve3000 » Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:09 am

crj wrote:The DOS filesystem support in RISC OS 3 was only intended to handle floppies.
It handles CD-ROMs and single hard disc partitions too.

The big limit with DOSFS under RISCOS 3.1, is that it only supports single partitions and only up to FAT16 with no long filename support. (probably because FAT32 and NTFS and LFN didn't exist in 1991...although Acorn could have added this support in later versions of RO3 for the RiscPC, but they didn't, which was frustrating)

So if windows is laying down a FAT32 table or a second partition, then that will fail to read under RO3.

crj
Posts: 834
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by crj » Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:55 am

steve3000 wrote:It handles CD-ROMs and single hard disc partitions too.
Huh?

CD-ROMs don't contain a DOS filesystem. They use ISO 9660.

And if RISC OS 3 could handle a DOS filesystem on a hard drive with a partition table, that's news to me. Not that I ever tried. DOSFS was an image filesystem so it could dig into an image file that existed within an ADFS filesystem for the benefit of the PC emulator, though.

User avatar
Estrayk
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by Estrayk » Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:48 pm

Hi, I made a video with the process of downloading, transfer via zip drive and running an ADFFS in my A3010.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QsWfd1i4TI0

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:58 pm

Hello I have an Archimedes A3010 4MB Ram without hard disk.

Can I use a floppy Zip drive as an hard disk drive ?
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3240
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by flaxcottage » Sun Apr 01, 2018 1:44 pm

Don't think so. The printer port on the A3xx series is not bi-directional. Zip drives can be used on the A3010, A3020, A4000, A5000 and above as these have bi-directional printer ports.
- John
Image

Trapper
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:59 am
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by Trapper » Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:42 pm

I believe OP (for 2018 posts!) said he has an A3010 not an A310. The A3010 does have a bidirectional printer port!

I have used my parallel Zip 100 drive as a makeshift HDD in the past, as I didn't have an IDE podule until about six months after I picked up my A3010. I used the original Iomega Zip drivers for RISC OS and it worked fine. Slow compared to a HDD of course and probably slower than using Level 4/NetFS/AppFS etc. or pulling the files via another network connection RISC OS machine (I used my RaspPi2 with RISC OS 5.23 as my "file server" with an external USB HDD formatted to FileCore via 5.23's !HForm - I don't think Level 4 would be close to working on RISC OS 5 sadly).

However it was still much faster than using standard floppy discs, you had the convenience of permanent storage (unlike using RAMFS) and no disc swapping.

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3240
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by flaxcottage » Sun Apr 01, 2018 6:28 pm

Would help if I could read! :lol: :oops:
- John
Image

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Sun Apr 01, 2018 6:36 pm

OK, how I can prepare the floppy zip parallel as fake hd with only my A3010 and his floppy 1,6M drive ?

I can recreate floppies from ADF image with omniflop on my PC.
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3240
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by flaxcottage » Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:36 am

1. Download the zip file at the start of this thread and write to a RISCOS formatted floppy

2. Load !SparkFS into your A3010 from another floppy disk (assuming that you have already loaded !System, !Scrap, !Fonts, etc from a system floppy).

3. Create a 800K RAM disk

4. Load the !Zip floppy and use !SparkFS to unzip the Iomega files to the RAM disc

5. Copy the RAM disc to a new blank floppy disk.

6. Reset your machine and load your system disc

7.Load the Iomega drivers. Make sure your Zip drive is connected and switched on with a disk in it. Click on the Zip disc Icon and the zip disc should open. If the disc is not formatted right click to format.

8. Your zip drive is now useable

Each time you wish to use the Zip drive you will need to repeat steps 6, 7 and 8.
- John
Image

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by number-one » Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:50 am

Thanks ! I have no floppy disc and no manual coming with my A3010.

Can you give me adf images of system floppy and SparkFS ?

How can I put a file to an adf image with my PC ?

I have only a Zip Drive 250 //, not 100.
A3010 4 MB Ram

RobC
Posts: 2300
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by RobC » Mon Apr 02, 2018 10:25 am

There are some copies of the RO 3.1 Applications disks here.

You can write ADFs to floppys on a PC by using Omniflop/Omnidisk:
http://www.shlock.co.uk/Utils/OmniFlop/OmniFlop.htm

There's a self-extracting version of SparkFS here. You can save it to a DOS format floppy and then set the type to BASIC and run it to generate a working (read-only) version of SparkFS.

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: Moon Base Alpha
Contact:

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Post by lcww1 » Mon Apr 02, 2018 12:01 pm

number-one wrote:I have only a Zip Drive 250 //, not 100.
A Zip 250 drive will work with the recipe Flaxcottage has given you just the same as with a Zip 100, so you should be ok!

Post Reply