R260 - missing CPU card?

discuss the archimedes & risc pc, peripherals and risc os/risc os on pi
User avatar
IanJeffray
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:50 pm
Contact:

R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanJeffray » Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:23 am

After being forced for financial reasons to sell my prized A540 (16MB, FPA11, 36Mhz, woe woe) back in the early 00's, I've been hankering to replace it.

An R260 has appeared on eBay : https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/164270005065

There's one problem that I see - it doesn't appear to have the CPU card. There's only one low-resolution photo of the innards, and the seller has told me the machine is all parcelled up already so he can't/won't now take any further photos or power up the machine to confirm whether the floppy LED flashes a POST pattern or the machine beeps (either would be a sign there's a CPU present at least!)

Are my eyes deceiving me - could there be a CPU nestled behind the backplane there?

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8227
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by danielj » Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:48 am

That looks like a memory card, and I'm not seeing a CPU card (which judging by the pictures on Chris's Acorns is the same height as a memory card)...

d.

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1311
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanS » Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:51 am

IanJeffray wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:23 am
Are my eyes deceiving me - could there be a CPU nestled behind the backplane there?
The CPU is normally quite well hidden behind the backplane, but I think you are right.
The fact the screw and plastic bracket that normally hold the CPU card in place are also missing is not a good sign.

Good spot. I noticed the 4MB card, just assumed the CPU card was there.

And without a picture of the battery area, it could be almost unsalvageable.

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1311
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanS » Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:07 pm

Also with no screws in the backplane or scsi card it would take seconds to get a good picture of the battery area. I suspect they know it's not good.

SteveBagley
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:44 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by SteveBagley » Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:07 pm

One of the images shows the floppy light on -- would the floppy light up with out a CPU?

Steve

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1311
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanS » Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:13 pm

SteveBagley wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:07 pm
One of the images shows the floppy light on -- would the floppy light up with out a CPU?
Yes (just tried it)

User avatar
IanJeffray
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:50 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanJeffray » Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:47 pm

IanS wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:13 pm
SteveBagley wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:07 pm
One of the images shows the floppy light on -- would the floppy light up with out a CPU?
Yes (just tried it)
Going above and beyond there, Ian. Thanks for confirming.

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1311
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanS » Thu Jul 02, 2020 2:06 pm

IMG_20200702_140043.jpg
Taken from a similar angle you can just see the edge of the CPU card. Without the bracket, it could be just out of view.

RobC
Posts: 2921
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:41 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by RobC » Thu Jul 02, 2020 3:53 pm

The FPA socket would be visible from that angle but, unfortunately, some CPU cards don't have them.

However, you can see the hole for the screw that holds the backplane on the left of the photo and I'm pretty sure that a CPU card (particularly the leftmost capacitor) would be visible if present.

So, I'm inclined to agree that it's missing its CPU card. Hope those who are bidding have realised/factored that in.

Marvin
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2020 11:27 am
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by Marvin » Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:33 pm

I've asked the seller about the CPU card and for a photo of the battery area, if I get a response I'll post here....

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1311
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanS » Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:53 pm

Marvin wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:33 pm
I've asked the seller about the CPU card and for a photo of the battery area, if I get a response I'll post here....
Wasn't that covered in the first post? -
IanJeffray wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:23 am
There's only one low-resolution photo of the innards, and the seller has told me the machine is all parcelled up already so he can't/won't now take any further photos or power up the machine to confirm whether the floppy LED flashes a POST pattern or the machine beeps (either would be a sign there's a CPU present at least!)

User avatar
flibble
Posts: 770
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by flibble » Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:20 pm

It's 150 quid for one that's either not known to work or known to not work. I'd just avoid it tbh

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1311
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanS » Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:32 pm

flibble wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:20 pm
It's 150 quid for one that's either not known to work or known to not work. I'd just avoid it tbh
£150 with 9 days to go. My guess it will hit over £500.

Marvin
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2020 11:27 am
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by Marvin » Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:50 am

IanS wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:53 pm
Marvin wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:33 pm
I've asked the seller about the CPU card and for a photo of the battery area, if I get a response I'll post here....
Wasn't that covered in the first post? -
Well the seller has just replied to me that they will take some more photos... let's wait and see....

User avatar
IanJeffray
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:50 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanJeffray » Fri Jul 03, 2020 1:19 pm

Marvin wrote:
Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:50 am
IanS wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:53 pm
Marvin wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:33 pm
I've asked the seller about the CPU card and for a photo of the battery area, if I get a response I'll post here....
Wasn't that covered in the first post? -
Well the seller has just replied to me that they will take some more photos... let's wait and see....
Snap - they just messaged me too. Are you gonig to bid against me? :lol:

Marvin
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2020 11:27 am
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by Marvin » Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:39 pm

IanJeffray wrote:
Fri Jul 03, 2020 1:19 pm
Snap - they just messaged me too. Are you gonig to bid against me? :lol:
Well I was going to but since you've asked I won't, why drive the price up more than necessary.

User avatar
IanJeffray
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:50 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanJeffray » Fri Jul 03, 2020 3:21 pm

Marvin wrote:
Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:39 pm
IanJeffray wrote:
Fri Jul 03, 2020 1:19 pm
Snap - they just messaged me too. Are you gonig to bid against me? :lol:
Well I was going to but since you've asked I won't, why drive the price up more than necessary.
It's a free market. I'm a last-minute bidder anyway.

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1311
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanS » Fri Jul 03, 2020 4:13 pm

Couple of extra pictures added.
Still not very clear, but CPU card is probably there. (capacitor showing near case edge, non-fpa arm the other end))
Battery damage looks managable.

Probably worth a punt.

philpem
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by philpem » Fri Jul 03, 2020 5:23 pm

I do hope whomever buys it makes an image of the hard drive...

More of this RISC iX sort of thing please! :D

Trisomie21
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by Trisomie21 » Fri Jul 03, 2020 7:51 pm

Who knows if the hard drive is still working? 🤔

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1311
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanS » Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:29 pm

More weirdness :
I have been reliably informed that this is the wrong keyboard for this machine.
It is NOT the original keyboard and is no longer included on the sale.
I will be listing another keyboard shortly.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8227
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by danielj » Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:33 pm

IanS wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:29 pm
More weirdness :
I have been reliably informed that this is the wrong keyboard for this machine.
It is NOT the original keyboard and is no longer included on the sale.
I will be listing another keyboard shortly.
That looks like the right keyboard to me?

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 1311
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanS » Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:36 pm

danielj wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:33 pm
That looks like the right keyboard to me?
Looks like the keyboard that came with my A540. I guess the RISCiX models could have been different, but seems unlikely.

Matches the picture in the brochure - http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... 0_R260.pdf

edit: actually it's not an exact match. It's the right case style, but the ebay item is "Archimedes" branded, the one in the brochure isn't.

User avatar
egel
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:10 pm
Location: Almere, Flevoland, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by egel » Sat Jul 04, 2020 11:30 pm

IanS wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:36 pm
danielj wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:33 pm
That looks like the right keyboard to me?
Looks like the keyboard that came with my A540. I guess the RISCiX models could have been different, but seems unlikely.

Matches the picture in the brochure - http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... 0_R260.pdf

edit: actually it's not an exact match. It's the right case style, but the ebay item is "Archimedes" branded, the one in the brochure isn't.
A R260 keyboard looks like this:
overzicht.jpg
detail.jpg
I sadly only have the keyboard

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 8227
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by danielj » Mon Jul 06, 2020 8:43 am

Well, different stickers is as good a reason as any to split the lots and make more ££s :)

Looks to be the same physical model as the A5000 keyboard too...

d.

Kazzie
Posts: 1705
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 8:10 pm
Location: North Wales
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by Kazzie » Mon Jul 06, 2020 10:01 am

Hm. my A420/1 has an A300 keyboard attached to it*, and a type 3 mouse. Does that make it more valuable?


*We had a choice of keyboards when we saved it from school fifteen years ago. We picked the one with red keys as it was prettier. :)
BBC Model B 32K issue 7, Sidewise ROM board with 16K RAM
Archimedes 420/1 upgraded to 4MB RAM, ZIDEFS with 512MB CF card
RiscPC 600 under repair
Acorn System 1 home-made replica

User avatar
IanJeffray
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:50 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by IanJeffray » Sat Jul 11, 2020 10:46 pm

£1,336.96. Holy shizz. Someone far richer than I. Wow.

philpem
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by philpem » Sun Jul 12, 2020 11:21 am

IanJeffray wrote:
Sat Jul 11, 2020 10:46 pm
£1,336.96. Holy shizz. Someone far richer than I. Wow.
Only four pence short of eliteness...

(I'll see myself out)

Trisomie21
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by Trisomie21 » Sun Jul 12, 2020 11:17 pm

egel wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 11:30 pm
IanS wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:36 pm
danielj wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:33 pm
That looks like the right keyboard to me?
Looks like the keyboard that came with my A540. I guess the RISCiX models could have been different, but seems unlikely.

Matches the picture in the brochure - http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... 0_R260.pdf

edit: actually it's not an exact match. It's the right case style, but the ebay item is "Archimedes" branded, the one in the brochure isn't.
A R260 keyboard looks like this:
overzicht.jpgdetail.jpg
I sadly only have the keyboard
Do you want to sell the keyboard? 🤔

User avatar
egel
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:10 pm
Location: Almere, Flevoland, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: R260 - missing CPU card?

Post by egel » Mon Jul 13, 2020 10:39 am

Trisomie21 wrote:
Sun Jul 12, 2020 11:17 pm
egel wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 11:30 pm
A R260 keyboard looks like this:
overzicht.jpgdetail.jpg
I sadly only have the keyboard
Do you want to sell the keyboard? 🤔
Only if you have an R260 with a missing keyboard and you have an A3xx or A4xx keyboard for me. Otherwise I wil have a machine without a keyboard. :D

Post Reply

Return to “32-bit acorn hardware”